Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good B-Movie
Three of my favourite genres in one film! There's the science fiction element with a virus which has turned most of the population of an asian city into crazed zombie killers, my second favourite genre. The sf element is upped with the inclusion of robots. And finally, its an action film with one of the main stars of that genre in recent decades, Dolph Lundgren...
Published 10 months ago by Terry

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dolph Vs Zombies In B' Movie Adventure
Positive.
1)Dolph Lungdren kicking Zombies ass & Robots what's not to enjoy.
2)It's a B movie, We all secretly love B movies don't we?

Negative.
1)The Robots are well executed but don't appear that much in the film.
2)This adds nothing new to the Zombie movie genre that we've already seen.

Dvd Info.
Running time 88 minutes.,...
Published 15 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dolph Vs Zombies In B' Movie Adventure, 3 Jan. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Of The Damned [DVD] (DVD)
Positive.
1)Dolph Lungdren kicking Zombies ass & Robots what's not to enjoy.
2)It's a B movie, We all secretly love B movies don't we?

Negative.
1)The Robots are well executed but don't appear that much in the film.
2)This adds nothing new to the Zombie movie genre that we've already seen.

Dvd Info.
Running time 88 minutes., Region 2 dvd.

Trivia.
1)Dolph Lungdren has just completed filming Expendables 3 again starring Sylvester Stallone & Jason Statham.
2)Dolph Lungdren has a Phd in chemical engineering.
3)Matt Doran appeared in Home & Away as Irene Robert's son Damien Roberts & also starred in The Matrix alongside Keanu Reeves & cameoed in Starwars Episode 2 Attack Of The Clones.

Review.
Ok this is a switch you brain off relax & have a few munchies type of B movie.

Dolph Lungdren play's Max Gatling who is hired by a wealthy businessman to rescue his daughter Jude from a recent outbreak that is transforming people into ravaging bloodthirsty Zombies.

Max is a Mercenary whom leads a gang of survivor's including Jude the businessman daughter to safety from the ravaging undead while releasing the Robotropolis, Robots that are weapons equipped to wipe out the infected population.

Can Max lead the survivors to safety & is it just the undead that Max has to worry about on his rescue?

This isn't going to win any awards it's a popcorn B movie, But what it does have is plenty of action & while Dolph Lungdren is no Sly or Arnie he is good in the action scenes & delivers the one liners ok.

There nothing here that you haven't seen in other Zombie genres except the Robotropolis Robots which are a neat idea, It's a shame a little more budget couldn't have been spent on the Robots as sometimes the effects on them are a bit hit & miss.

So switch your brain off, Relax & unwind with this above average action Zombie movie that has Dolph Lungdren kicking zombie ass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Escape From New York meets 28 Weeks Later, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Dolph Lundgren plays Max, a badass, hard as nails, Special Forces soldier. A lethal contagion has broken out in an unspecified, South-East Asian city. The infected turn into crazed, flesh-eating zombies. The city is quarantined with an impregnable wall manned by soldiers.
Max is employed by a wealthy businessman to go into the enclosed city and to save his daughter, Jude, who is one of a small group of human survivors (ring any bells - Escape From New York? - Escape From New York [Blu-ray] ). Max then goes into action with a small group of other Special Forces guys, who don't last very long into the film.
These zombies don't lurch and stumble around, they're a maelstrom of violent energy, moving with speed and precision. They are worthy adversaries, reminiscent of the diseased killers in 28 Weeks Later (28 Weeks Later [Blu-ray] [2007] ).
As always in an action role, Dolph certainly looks the part, he has the requisite muscularity and dead-eye expression to convince as a guy who's lethal with his hands and weapons. Admittedly, he comes from the Roger Moore School of Acting - he can muster a raised eyebrow to convey all manner of emotions - but frankly who cares, this is a switch the brain off and enjoy B-movie sci-fi yarn.
Max soon crosses paths with Jude, and she leads him to the remote building where the rest of the survivors are hiding out. However, they are in no hurry to be persuaded to leave their safe haven. Some of the survivors plot to leave Max in the hands and mouths of the zombies, which leads to a very exciting and impressive action sequence, involving Max chained to a lamp-post.
Max subsequently stumbles across some ten feet tall, armed robots, who look like they've just walked off the set of a Robocop movie. As Dolph quips, "Zombies. Killer robots. Nice town you got here".
The robots are programmed to kill the zombies, and to assist humans. They join forces with Dolph. What follows then is an enjoyable battle for survival between the zombies and Dolph assisted by the robots. What's not to like?! The robots certainly look good, it's just a pity that they don't join the film until the final half hour.
This is a reasonably effective, action sci-fi. Dolph is a believable tough guy. The support cast is good. It's an enjoyable story, even if the script and plot are a bit derivative. It's well paced. The synth soundtrack is quite good, with faint echoes of Blade Runner - Blade Runner: The Final Cut [Blu-ray] [1982] [Region Free]. The CGI won't win any awards but it's not bad, not by any means. Yes, the movie overall is a fairly dumb actioner, but it's still good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ESCAPE FROM JOHOR BARU, 7 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Battle Of The Damned [DVD] (DVD)
After a viral outbreak in unnamed SE Asian city that looks like Johor Baru, Malaysia, Max (Dolph Lundgren with reading glasses) is hired to find and rescue Jude (Melanie Zanetti) the somewhat rebellious daughter of a rich man. The city is in quarantine, no one in or out which proved to be an awkward plot point.

Max, quickly becomes the lone survivor of the rescue squad as he finds Jude living comfortably in a palace compound (one where a helicopter can't apparently land) run by Duke (David Field), a man who looks like and quotes Charles Dickens. Add some killer robots, bad acting and a formulaic ending...

The zombies are not true foot dragging zombies, but rather fast moving frenzied cannibals attracted by noise and killed by normal means. There is plenty of zombie killing, but no Troma zombie effects of eaten and dismembered body parts. The story reminded me a bit of "Escape From New York City" with zombies minus memorable characters. Indeed, the lack of witty dialogue, memorable characters, and a good zombie feeding frenzy was the downfall of this film.

Okay for a Redbox Rental, but nothing more. 2 1/2 stars

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the Road Direct to DVD., 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say, the direct to DVD market caught my eye recently. Lower budget means less to lose, and some risk taking. Stars of yesteryear getting their chance to shine again. Sometimes shining brighter.

One of the biggest appeals toeme is the lack of CGI, I'm not against them, but pratical effects tickle my fancy. Unfortunately thats where this film falls down, the CGI robots were painful to watch. I could have made better effects with string and duct tape. As they were a big selling point, I'd have thought more use would be made of them, but ut seems like Robots vs Zombies is where the idea machine ran out.

I wont start on the explosion CGI effects towards the end, needles to say, not good.

The acting and action has tge hamming it up factor turned right up to 11, which probably salvaged this for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars He didn't come here to be a hero, but things change., 6 Oct. 2014
Following a deadly viral outbreak, private military soldier Max Gatling leads a handful of survivors and a ragtag band of robots against an army of the infected.

I enjoyed as i'm a fan of Lundgren films.

Decently directed throughout the film apart from the odd shaky cams at times only with the robot scenes.
Decent acting from Dolph Lundgren and a decent supporting cast with beliveable characters that keep you watching,
with a simple storyline, decent action scenes and CGI to keep you entertained throughout the movie.

Overall a decent zombie/robot action flick. Enjoy!

Would recommend this to zombie and Lundgren fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dolph Lundgren & Zombies what fun!, 23 May 2014
By 
Mrs. S. E. Mardle (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Of The Damned [DVD] (DVD)
I bought it because Dolph Lundgren was in it & I'm a bit of a fan of the man & he acted much better than some others in the film,if you like the whole story of trying to stay alive & human running around a lot & killing zombies then this is for you but don't take it to seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars robots n zombies!, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Of The Damned [DVD] (DVD)
Dont expect anything amazing, but it does have robots n zombies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good B-Movie, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Three of my favourite genres in one film! There's the science fiction element with a virus which has turned most of the population of an asian city into crazed zombie killers, my second favourite genre. The sf element is upped with the inclusion of robots. And finally, its an action film with one of the main stars of that genre in recent decades, Dolph Lundgren.

I enjoyed it. The film is a competently made direct to DVD adventure, and if you are tempted to rent as I did, you will probably enjoy it too. The CGI robots look realistic, but I don't think they were essential to the plot. At least one review criticizes the 'zombie' make-up, but what does a real zombie look like? Not all films featuring hordes of the undead have to follow the same rules. Also, it is stated a couple of times in the film that the biters aren't really zombies but infected individuals.

There are a couple of silly mistakes which didn't detract too much. Firstly, Dolph chases a girl, much younger and fleeter of foot, and still catches her with the assistance of a bad piece of editing. Sloppy and easily avoided with a simple change in the script. It reminded me of an old episode of Cannon, the fat detective, where despite running slowly he still manages to keep up with the much faster criminal. Secondly, in the scene where Dolph is chained to a lamp post, I spotted traffic passing on a road in the distance. Not the first example of a post-apocalyptic drama to make that mistake.

Not one to buy, but worth a rent if, like me, your pain threshhold for B-movies is set fairly high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dolph, Zombies and Robots but still not enough, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. N. Edwards "NiallEd" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Battle Of The Damned [DVD] (DVD)
I like Zombie films and generally set the bar quite low with my expectations. When I saw Battle of the Dammed advertised, I thought this is one I have got to see. A brilliant concept - Robots vs Zombies; for once we have something that can stand up to the Zombies without turning into one of them if it gets bitten but can still be overwhelmed by a horde.

The general plot of the movie is that to avoid the stringent safeguards put in place by 'the West', biochemical companies have set up development, production & testing in Asia. I think this film is set in Malaysia but I wasn't really paying much attention to that.

One of the 'products' escapes into the population turning them into Zombies and, as a result, the entire city has been quarantined with no attempt being made to rescue anyone who is not infected.

However, Dolph has been recruited by a rich businessman to go into the city and get his daughter out safely. The rest of the film is about his mission. About half way through, the robots turn up and join forces with our heroes against the zombies. I won't say any more about the story as it may spoil it.

Strictly speaking the infected are not Zombies in that they are infected people who are still alive but rabid. The good news about this is that they die without the need for head-shots and so opening up the possibility for more martial arts action.

I really wanted to like this film; it is technically well made, plenty of action and the special effects are generally very good. Unfortunately, in spite of all this, it still didn't 'push my buttons'.

The biggest disappointment was that the robots hardly featured at all. They had a few moments but really were more like sidekicks that appeared during the last half of the film.

If it had been down to me, I would have had the robots right from the start with Dolph as their commanding officer.

I really hope someone picks up the Robot vs Zombie concept because I think it is a good one but this film doesn't do it justice. The supporting cast and dialogue is also very predictable.

If you ignore the robot element, it is really just another average rescue/action movie. The trouble is that, by the end, I found I didn't really care whether they survived or not. If you haven't already seen it, 'World War Z' is a much better film and about the same price on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Of The Damned [DVD] (DVD)
the wife is made up with this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battle Of The Damned [DVD]
Battle Of The Damned [DVD] by Christopher Hatton (DVD - 2013)
£3.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews