Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The full package
To begin with, I would like to say that this box set is certainly worth buying for anybody who wants to have The Elder Scrolls Saga, or with its price, those who just want the most recent.

Before buying this I was looking at it for months and from the reviews I read, there isn't any issue with it. The box is beautifully presented and once I set my eyes on the...
Published 8 months ago by Pat Nev

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, but poorly packed DVDs
So, this is probably one of the greatest RPG compilations that money can buy, and it has a terrific value. You could literally spend thousands of hours playing the games that come in this pack without repeating a single mission. Sadly, the DVDs were poorly packed inside the nice box and some of them came with scratches. Not big scratches, not important, but scratches...
Published 8 months ago by A. R.


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The full package, 26 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
To begin with, I would like to say that this box set is certainly worth buying for anybody who wants to have The Elder Scrolls Saga, or with its price, those who just want the most recent.

Before buying this I was looking at it for months and from the reviews I read, there isn't any issue with it. The box is beautifully presented and once I set my eyes on the box, I felt a great sense of pride and I was only happier with the purchase. To ensure that when I wrote this review I was able to give a full review, I installed and played the tutorial of each game. I can confirm that they all did install and played as expected. I shall write a bit about each game, including any issues I had come across. Please take note below of a few things that may cause panic if not informed.

The Elder Scrolls I: Arena - This installed smoothly and there are no issues. If you have looked into this game before you can download it free but you also have to download 'Dosbox'. From this you then have to sort out the files, which is a bit of a pain to get sorted. The pack gives you a map of Tamriel for the game, installs everything needed to run and sets everything up for you. This means you can easily load the game without any issues. This game can play on its own and does not require the disc. (NOTE: The first dungeon does ask for a spell price, so make sure you take note on where the 'README' file is located in order to progress; this file can provide you with the number you need)

The Elder Scrolls II: Daggerfall - Installed smoothly and sets everything up as needed. Again you can download this for free online, but this will set everything up for you. You also get a map of the areas covered in Daggerfall (which includes part of Hammerfell and High Rock). Many improvements were made for this game; however the game was always known to be rigged with bugs. As I have not had a full play on this I cannot say if these bugs have been amended or not; however it is still easier to set up/install and load than the free download. This game does not require the disc to play.

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - This cannot be downloaded for free and is much more recent. You get given a map of Vvardenfell for this along with 4 discs (Morrowind, Construction Set, Tribunal and Bloodmoon). After installing these, Morrowind did come up with an error. This error was present in the original game and is not exclusive just to this box; it is easy to fix and a simple Google search can tell you how to fix it. For me I changed the 'Morrowind.exe' file compatibility to Windows XP Service Pack 2; this then ran smoothly. This game does require the original Morrowind disc to play; it is also added to your Steam library.

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - No issues with installation; however the game set itself to 'very low' graphical settings. This wouldn't have been an issue; however Skyrim set itself to 'high', so I looked into this. Oblivion automatically sets itself to 'very low', even if your computer is top of the line; therefore you will need to increase the graphical settings yourself. From looking at this, it also happens with all pc copies of Oblivion and is not just something that is an issue with this pack. Overall, it works wonderfully and it's only a minor issue. This comes with a map of Cyrodiil and has 2 discs; disc 1 with original Oblivion installation and disc 2 with additional content (Knights of the Nine and Shivering Isles). This game does require the original Oblivion disc to play; it is also added to your Steam library.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Works perfectly. This comes with a map of Skyrim and 1 discs to install everything; nice and easy. (NOTE: This installs through Steam and does ask for a product code; this is found on the back of an anthology slip placed along with the maps)

The package overall installed with ease (any issues were easily resolved). It also came with a small anthology slip to give warranty/technical details and an Elder Scrolls Online sticker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RPG Heaven, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It is TES, it is great, nothing more to say, great collectors pack, all DLC included, would have happily paid twice this amount for this much content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun and it all works on WIndows 8.1, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is a great bargin especially as it was only £1 more than the Skyrim Legenday set on its own.

All 5 games install perfectly on Windows 8.1, the early two (Arena and Daggerfall) use drop box, the final one (Skyrim) is a Steam only install while Morrowind and Oblivion and either be installed from the disks or from steam.

If you bandwidth and computer specification are up to it, I do recomend that you get the Free download "High Resolution Texture Pack" for Skyim, this gives you a stunning high quality image.

Regards

Gnome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars epic game sweet price, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
best set of games iv played in a long time i played skyrim on the xbox but wanted to mod so stick mods on in the first day and i had a new game. I highly recommend this package from that point of view as well as the fact you get the rest which are epic stand alone and even better together.
exceeded my expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE!!!, 30 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is a must have for all Elder Scrolls fans. ALL five games AND ALL of the dlc's for ALL the games. So why buy something that most ES fans will probably already have? Its a collectors item, its presentation is well thought out and you get actual physical maps from ALL five games. Why buy it if you dont own any elder scrolls game? Well Bethesda really did have everyone in mind with this anthology, so its a great introduction to the fantastic lore-rich world of the Elder Scrolls. Arena and Daggerfall really are dated but still very playable and are a nice taste of 'how things used to be'. Play these two titles THEN go straight onto Skyrim and you'll see just how far gaming has gone in just 20 years. Arena and Daggerfall come with Dosbox installed on the discs so they load in nice and easy even on the newest up-to-date rigs. Nice little collectors piece. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRM free, except for Skyrim I believe, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I got this because I wanted to play Arena and Daggerfall but I like to get legit copies (which don't work on regular computers) thankfully the ones with this Anthology are DRM free and work on my PC, extremely happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Elder Scrolls Anthology, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
What a fantastic box set , is a must for Elder Scrolls players would make a brilliant present as it comes in a beautifully illustrated box would highly recommend to anyone, you wont be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks fine but not perfect, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Since I haven't time to test it so far, I can only comment on the hardware-side.

Packaging and shipping were good as usual.

The Cardboard-DVD-Case looks great but at some points glue had been pressed out between the pieces and stuck to the DVDs!
Only 4 stars because of this sloppy and potentially damaging manufacture.

In my case the glue seemed to be removable carefully without obvious damage to the DVDs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great games and great value for money, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This contains all 5 main TES games (no spin offs) on disc, and also comes with a code to be used with your Steam account to give access to three of the games.

The code for Steam gives you access to the following:
Morrowind GOTY (which contains Tribunal and Bloodmoon)
Oblivion GOTY (which contains with Knights of the Nine and Shivering Isles and the smaller DLC's too)
Skyrim: Legendary Edition (which contains Dragonborn, Hearthfire and Dawnguard)

Contained physically within this package is:
Arena (runs through a DOS emulator, which is included)
Daggerfall (runs through a DOS emulator, which is included)
Morrowind with the Tribunal and Bloodmoon and the TES Construction Set
Oblivion (GOTY on disc) with Knights of the Nine and Shivering Isles (but none of the smaller DLC's)
Skyrim Legendary Edition, which contains Hearthfire, Dragonborn and Dawnguard

This package also contains five physical maps, one for each of the games.

All in all this is very value for money and will certainly occupy you for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I brought this for my fiancee who adores the elder scrolls series, I was not disappointed with what I received. A stunning box with all the maps the elder scrolls series had. And of course all the elder scrolls games and DLC. A wonderful gift and collectible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD)
The Elder Scrolls Anthology (PC DVD) by Bethesda (Windows 7)
£22.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews