Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect miracles from the solar aspect and you're good to go!
The Poweradd Apollo is a 7200mAh solar powerbank which can be charged in the normal way or via the sun which means it is free power!

In the box you get -

- The 7200mAh powerbank which is 5.7 x 3.3 inches
- A coiled 12 inch power cable which takes all the below adapters
- A selection of adapters for all your digital devices. 30 pin Apple...
Published 2 months ago by KM

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's a great idea but it does not work.
If you're hoping to leave this device in the sun during the day and then charge your phone over night then forget it. Takes ages to be charge via sun light
Published 4 months ago by Diyana


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect miracles from the solar aspect and you're good to go!, 29 May 2014
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Poweradd™ Apollo 7200mAh Solar Panel Portable Charger Backup External Battery Pack for iPhone (Apple adapter not included) Samsung Galaxy, iPad, Android Phone, Smartphone Tablets, Bluetooth Speaker,PS Vita,PSP's,mp3 players,Gopro Camera and More Other Devices - Black (Electronics)
The Poweradd Apollo is a 7200mAh solar powerbank which can be charged in the normal way or via the sun which means it is free power!

In the box you get -

- The 7200mAh powerbank which is 5.7 x 3.3 inches
- A coiled 12 inch power cable which takes all the below adapters
- A selection of adapters for all your digital devices. 30 pin Apple plug, Micro USB plug, Mini USB plug, Old style single pin plug
- A carabiner to attach the powerbank to your rucksack or such
- Instruction manual

Poweradd provide a one year warranty as standard.

The powerbank itself is well built and has an orange rubber coated bumper most of the way around it for protection as this is an outdoor item. The front is all solar panel and it has four blue LED power indicators lus an on/off power button. There's also a lanyard hole for the carabiner to fit through. On the top edge you have a USB and Micro USB port. The output of this charger is 1amp.

This item is not water resistant or waterproofed!

The powerbank takes around 8 hours to fully charge up from the mains electricity so all four indication LEDs are lit.

You can now take this out to charge up your digital devices on the go! It works spot on in doing this, no problem.

How does the solar aspect of it stand up?

Starting from flat I left it in my garden facing south for one day. It was a nice bright sunny day in Liverpool at the beginning of this week. After around ten hours of charging via it's solar panel one LED light was showing. So after ten hours or one days worth of sun it had taken on around 20% (1440mAh) power. So you're talking approx 5 days to fully charge this powerbank up by solar power. Remember the 'input' of this is only 180mAh so it will takes days to fully charge.

So yes it does work albeit slowly.

If I was taking this out I would ensure my devices and this powerbank were already fully charged. You would have to continuously leave this in sunlight to ensure there is charge on it. In the back window of your car or on a window ledge at home would be best.

This wouldn't be your primary charging source but definitely an emergency backup source of power.

This powerbank was kindly sent to me for review by the manufacturers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good power bank with a solar option, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poweradd™ Apollo 7200mAh Solar Panel Portable Charger Backup External Battery Pack for iPhone (Apple adapter not included) Samsung Galaxy, iPad, Android Phone, Smartphone Tablets, Bluetooth Speaker,PS Vita,PSP's,mp3 players,Gopro Camera and More Other Devices - Black (Electronics)
This Poweradd Apollo 7200mAh Solar Panel Charger was sent for me to review. In the box you get the solar power bank, a karabiner, USB charging lead with interchangeable power tips to fit the most common devices - Apple (pre Lightning); Micro USB for most smartphones, Mini USB and Micro USB plus instructions.

The immediate impression is of a tough well made device although no weatherproof properties are claimed - it has a capacity of 7200mAh, measures 5.70 x3.3 x .59 inches and weighs about 8 oz.. In practical terms it's about the same size as a larger smartphone. The unit has a full size USB output port and Micro USB port if you want to charge it from an electric rather than solar source and it also features a recessed on/off switch.

If you were planning on using this to charge your device from on a daily basis this power bank would not be my choice as it needs a fair amount of sunlight to fully charge it - something you can't rely on in the UK! However, where it comes into its own is as a trickle charger while you are on the hoof. Today I took it out after having flattened both the battery of the power bank and my phone deliberately - I then attached it to my backpack using the karabiner supplied and connected it to my phone. It was a sunny day with bouts of grey sky and it kept my flat mobile phone going all day. To me, this is a more obvious use of a device like this rather than to use the solar facility to keep charging the power bank from scratch. What is also interesting is that the device still charges, albeit it at a lesser rate, in daylight rather than direct sunlight.

What should also be remembered is that this unit can be used in exactly the same way as a normal power bank and you can charge it from a conventional source. I used my iPad charger and the four segment LED charger showed a full charge after around 4 hours. Once full it will charge most smartphones several times over and an average tablet to about 60% from flat. The unit features electronic charging protection against short circuits etc. and has CE approval marking.

If you look at this as a well made, punchy power bank that can be used normally, but with the option of a solar trickle charge facility when you are away from an electricity supply, it's well worth considering and I'll be using mine a lot over coming weeks. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good power bank, consider the solar aspect a "bonus", 3 July 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Poweradd™ Apollo 7200mAh Solar Panel Portable Charger Backup External Battery Pack for iPhone (Apple adapter not included) Samsung Galaxy, iPad, Android Phone, Smartphone Tablets, Bluetooth Speaker,PS Vita,PSP's,mp3 players,Gopro Camera and More Other Devices - Black (Electronics)
Note the maker sent me a review sample, no attempt was made to influence my review

The Apollo solar power bank is nicely made with good quality plastics on the casing. You get quite a good bundle with it including a small coiled USB cable, to which you can attach a number of supplied "tips" to, these are a mini USB port, a micro USB (for charging the power bank and devices that use micro USB), a Nokia (smaller thin style) adapter, as well as the older 30 pin apple connector. A Carabiner and ring are also in the pack.

On the main unit you have the solar panel with the 4 LED lights at the top with the power button. These show the capacity left of the unit, and light up in sequence when you are charging it be it via the micro USB or solar power.
The single USB port has an output of 5volts (as per USB spec) and 1 amp, so no quick charging port here. However I test charged a few tablets and it did seem to be faster than other 1 amp power banks I have used, so I'd not be overly concerned on that side of things.

Onto the main part, the solar charging. Rated at 7200mAh this is quite a good capacity for a power bank, you'll get lots of charges for a phone off this and a enough to fully charge a tablet and a bit left over.

* Solar charging is rated at a max of 180mAh, best performance. That means you'll need approx 40 hours of solar charging to bring the power bank from empty to full. In real world testing I found a couple of solid days (ie about 9-10 hours in good sunlight) brought the power bank up to about half capacity, you'd need another 2 good sun days to fill it completely. Do bear in mind whilst cloudy days will charge the bank, it probably will require more time to do so, and winter time will also slow charging down.

It's useful that the LED's indicate that it's charging as you can tell if you've enough light or not to activate the solar panel charge.
Whilst the Solar charging does seem to take quite long, there will be times you won't have an empty unit and you can "top it up" via sunlight. With a built in micro USB port you can charge it via that too. It took about 7 hours to charge from flat via a wall 2.4 amp USB charger.

Overall I like the power bank, but you need to put the solar charging part into context it might not be ideal to rely entirely on that On the other hand if you're out camping or hiking or outdoors a lot then it could prove a useful way to get "free" and not easily available power, likely enough to keep phones and other devices going on the fly, but don't expect to charge the bank quickly via sunlight. I will update the review should any issues come to light and with more information on the real world use of the power bank.

I'd like to see a small bag included to hold the accessories you get, even a simple one would be useful. In conclusion a nicely made solar power bank, that's worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 10 July 2014
By 
SM (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Poweradd™ Apollo 7200mAh Solar Panel Portable Charger Backup External Battery Pack for iPhone (Apple adapter not included) Samsung Galaxy, iPad, Android Phone, Smartphone Tablets, Bluetooth Speaker,PS Vita,PSP's,mp3 players,Gopro Camera and More Other Devices - Black (Electronics)
The Apollo 7200mAh solar panel power bank is great for people like me who often go out without remembering to charge important gadgets such as tablet and/or mobile phone. Having had a few embarrassing moments in meetings whereby my iPad ran out of battery and I couldn't make a phone call, I always carry a power bank in my bag or pocket these days.for this purpose, this power bank is ideal.

In the pack you get:

* the power pack
* cable
* carabiner
* adapters to use depending on what device you want to charge
* instructions

The power bank can be easily charged up easily through the mains electricity, and it took me about 7 1/2 hours. Of course, it also has the solar panel. I think it's important to remember that the solar panel is not a miracle worker! We don't get that much uninterrupted sunshine and it does take quite some time for the power bank to charge through this route. I like the idea that when I'm out hiking I can clip it onto my backpack and it gathers some charge whilst I'm walking.

There are 4 LED lights which indicate how much charge is in the power bank. This is handy to know not only when you are using it, but also when charging it.

Overall, it is a really handy item. So long as you are not expecting the solar panel to work as quickly as the mains charging, it works really well and does a good job. I'm quite happy charging it using the mains and using the solar panel as an extra, fun method to top it up.

I was given this item to test and to honestly review.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puts you in charge., 31 July 2014
This review is from: Poweradd™ Apollo 7200mAh Solar Panel Portable Charger Backup External Battery Pack for iPhone (Apple adapter not included) Samsung Galaxy, iPad, Android Phone, Smartphone Tablets, Bluetooth Speaker,PS Vita,PSP's,mp3 players,Gopro Camera and More Other Devices - Black (Electronics)
Like this a lot, it is far better than previous power banks I have owned. It charges quickly from a mains adapter, holds it's charge well and will fully charge my power-hungry Experia in super quick time, with enough power to charge it from a fairly low point at least twice.

As for the solar panel, don't expect miracles - I have yet to work out how long it would take to charge the power pack purely from the sun, leaving it the dash of my car in full sun for days at a time makes little impression, but it is a useful feature nonetheless.

The Poweradd is pretty well made and comes with just about every conceivable adaptor. I was, however, a little disappointed to find it made from a fairly brittle plastic - I had expected something a little more 'rubberised' and I am not sure how well this would survive a fall onto concrete. I guess I should have looked more carefully at the description. One intended use was to hang the pack from a cycle pannier to keep my phone topped up while using 'My Tracks' - I am not sure if I would completely trust the hook for this.

That said, this is a good product that is great for charging devices on the go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power, Quality and Style, 10 Sep 2013
My review on YouTube:[...]

The good:
This battery has a lot of power, 16000mAh is enough to charge a Samsung Galaxy S4 at least 6 times! this is far more power than any other battery at the same price. The battery comes with 2 USB ports and 4 adapters to be used with different devices. It also has an inbuilt LED light which comes in very handy. The battery has a very strong build quality and very sturdy, the white and grey colour is also very stylish and pleasing to the eye.

The not so good:
There is not much to say other than the battery is quite bulky so is not the easiest product to fit in a pocket. It can easily be carried in a small bag or purse however. The battery also comes with 1 USB connector so if you want to charge the battery as well as charge another device this cannot be done unless you use an external USB connector.

The bottom line:
This battery is extremely powerful so you will not run of charge if you were on a camping holiday or away from mains supply for a few days. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - already saved the day!, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Susan Hills "Sue With A View" (HOCKLEY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great pice of kit which already saved the day when we broke down in the car and the phones were almost dead! Charged both phones and allowed us to watch tv while waiting for the rescue vehicle!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great design, tough as hell., 14 Jun 2014
By 
K HUDSON-LEE (Rotherham, S.Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poweradd™ Apollo 7200mAh Solar Panel Portable Charger Backup External Battery Pack for iPhone (Apple adapter not included) Samsung Galaxy, iPad, Android Phone, Smartphone Tablets, Bluetooth Speaker,PS Vita,PSP's,mp3 players,Gopro Camera and More Other Devices - Black (Electronics)
It's a great idea and although the solar panel takes forever to charge it - I would imagine it would be good for a long weekend though.

3 charges from a Nexus 5 so I am happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the back packers., 21 Dec 2013
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Poweradd™ Apollo 7200mAh Solar Panel Portable Charger Backup External Battery Pack for iPhone (Apple adapter not included) Samsung Galaxy, iPad, Android Phone, Smartphone Tablets, Bluetooth Speaker,PS Vita,PSP's,mp3 players,Gopro Camera and More Other Devices - Black (Electronics)
I received this free to test and review.
As Amazon have the habit of cross posting reviews please note review this is for the 7200mAh Solar Panel version.
This may seem a strange thing to get in the middle of a UK winter but it is a nice high capacity storage battery (7200mAh) that can be charged from a standard usb charger. It comes with 4 adaptors and a standard usb size lead to connect the adaptors. The included adaptors are, mini and micro usb, iPad (tested with an iPad2) and a small Nokia size connector (tested on a Nokia 5230).
The fact that this is a good quality storage battery would be enough but the solar panel is a bonus.
Although it comes with a dire warning about damage and treating it carefully (everything seems to have these warnings) it does seem well made and rugged with an orange "bump" strip which I think will absorb a fair bit of rough and tumble.
As the battery came somewhere between 50% and 75% charged (3 blue leds lit) and it was a bright day I thought I would try and see if it would charge from the solar charger, considering the Solar panel only gives a maximum of 180mA in full sunlight I did not expect much however after a day the 4th led came on. All this proved was that the solar panel worked as it had put in little additional charge once I started to discharge the battery the 4th led went out immediately so it must have been on the 75% end of charged when I received it. This is not a negative comment as high capacity batteries take an age to charge even using a usb charger. It is better to think of the panel as a trickle charger if you are out and about in the sun. I am going to Australia in May and will take this, clipped to a rucksack using the supplied clip. I will update this review when I return in June and see how it performs in bright sunlight.
Specifications:-
Capacity: 7200mAh/26.6wh
Battery: Li-polymer
Input: Micro usb 5V 1A
Output: standard usb 5v 1A
Solar output: 180mA (max)
Dimensions: 5.70 x 3.31 x 0.59 inches (stated measurements) or 152 mm x 85mm x 15mm (approx.)
Weight: 8oz (approx.)

In summary an innovative device, the first I have seen of this type, so long as you have realistic expectations of the time it will take to charge and an excellent back up battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like it at first but..., 13 Jun 2014
This review is from: Poweradd™ Apollo 7200mAh Solar Panel Portable Charger Backup External Battery Pack for iPhone (Apple adapter not included) Samsung Galaxy, iPad, Android Phone, Smartphone Tablets, Bluetooth Speaker,PS Vita,PSP's,mp3 players,Gopro Camera and More Other Devices - Black (Electronics)
My first experience wasn't good because i didn't know how to operate it. the power button was misleading. when you click it it you will see the light on and you'd think that its working. But instead you should press for a while until the light power stops blinking and that wasn't clear for me. Sorry for giving you a bad review at the beginning. I just hope that you make the button function a big clearer in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews