Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the 1 star review
criminal that his/her review has dragged the score down on this - as stated a slow burner but full of hooks and melody - probably worth 4 stars to be honest but seeing as the 1 star review (from somebody who has awarded scissor sisters 5 stars in another review!!) has dragged the average down i'm giving it 5. If you liked the A1 ep from a couple of years ago you'll like...
Published 16 months ago by D. Roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but product picture needs updating
Music is awesome. But the product didn't come as it looked like in the picture. Rather it comes in a standard CD case, the track list is white text on black background and the album cover is a bit more grainy and colours are dulled down a bit. Also when I opened it the CD was put in backwards, reflective side up, so I thought it was one of those writable CDs, which then...
Published 1 month ago by hreric


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the 1 star review, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
D. Roberts "davey74" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychic (Audio CD)
criminal that his/her review has dragged the score down on this - as stated a slow burner but full of hooks and melody - probably worth 4 stars to be honest but seeing as the 1 star review (from somebody who has awarded scissor sisters 5 stars in another review!!) has dragged the average down i'm giving it 5. If you liked the A1 ep from a couple of years ago you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing yet slightly unsettling. It definitely grows on you!, 14 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Psychic (Audio CD)
Upon my first listen I was not that impressed. Lots of 'clever' technological noodling with random sounds coming in & out for no particular reason.

I decided to stick with it and listen to it a few more times because I wasn't familiar with these musicians' work or the genres in which they work. It started to click together much more as a whole! The atmosphere of the album is spacious yet claustrophobic at the same time (not quite sure how that works, but it does!) and demands a full listen rather than picking out individual tracks. The first track however, Golden Arrow, is over 11 minutes long but doesn't outstay its welcome. I could happily have another 5 minutes of it, as it does take a bit too long to get going - but when it kicks in it's fantastic. In fact I think a few of the other tracks could have been extended/developed further so that the album is around an hour in length than 45mins.

The build up of sounds throughout the album help create the stage for the music itself, which makes for a fascinating listen. There is some low-end, chest-punching rhythmic bass (which I always love!) and some minimal but really effective blues-y guitar chords. The vocals are echoed and breathy and although fit with the context of the music, never really satisfy. but maybe that's the point!

So, an arty chin-stroking album that's far too clever for its own good, or an intriguing yet slightly unsettling body of work that reveals more & more upon each listen? For me, definitely the latter. I'm glad I stuck with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychic (MP3 Download)
Like a dance-inflected Pink Floyd for the 21st century. Beautiful hypnotic music for either background listening or focusing on. Strongly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but product picture needs updating, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychic (Audio CD)
Music is awesome. But the product didn't come as it looked like in the picture. Rather it comes in a standard CD case, the track list is white text on black background and the album cover is a bit more grainy and colours are dulled down a bit. Also when I opened it the CD was put in backwards, reflective side up, so I thought it was one of those writable CDs, which then lead me to believe the product was counter fit. However, I'm pretty sure it's not.

If you're buying this for the music, get in son! If you're buying it (like I did) for the physical piece of a pretty cool project and to support the artist/label, then it may not be whats pictured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 April 2015
This review is from: Psychic [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Definitely one of the best ambient/techno/genre defying albums I've ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music !, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychic (Audio CD)
Hi,

This music is a modern mixture of Jarre/Dire Straits/Groove/Downtempo. Just great for the nice evening with friends at the table, before the party or just to listen alone.

The album could be longer, but in general it's great !

I can't wait the next cd from these guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychic (Audio CD)
good yechno
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychic (Audio CD)
great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Psychic [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Vinyl in perfect condition, mint, and great music. Darkside = Geniuses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Someone's having a laugh..., 18 Nov. 2013
By 
R. Smith (islington, london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychic (Audio CD)
Someone's having a laugh somewhere if you call this drivel music. It's only there for those who are so stoned they don't care what they're listening to. If you wanna get stoned to music there are plenty of other artists out there that will take you to that nice place. This is just boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychic
Psychic by Darkside (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews