Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hellequin strikes again
This is the third installment (fourth if you include novella Infamous Reign) and i've been waiting for this book apprehensively.
I loved the first 2 although the first crimes against magic is my favorite, in this installment we find a little bit more about Hellequins past, but what i like about McHugh's writing is that he grabs you from the start and With Silent...
Published 14 months ago by D Lewis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not my kind of book,but I had to try a new author
Published 2 days ago by Robert Hall


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hellequin strikes again, 19 Feb. 2014
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This is the third installment (fourth if you include novella Infamous Reign) and i've been waiting for this book apprehensively.
I loved the first 2 although the first crimes against magic is my favorite, in this installment we find a little bit more about Hellequins past, but what i like about McHugh's writing is that he grabs you from the start and With Silent Screams does that from the start.
Well paced, with great development of not only our central characters but peripheral ones as well, with the hints of something larger brewer, I would heartily recommend this one with comes close to Crimes against magic in being my favorite so far.
I finished it in a night and now have the painful wait for the next one.
The only disappointment you'll have in buying With Silent Screams in finishing it and having to wait for the fourth one (fifth if you include the novella).
Nathan Garrett, also known as Hellequin is equal parts enforcer, investigator, mediator, assassin and a man who'll do whats necessary. In with silent screams more layers of him are revealled as the action never ceases from farm to hotels to the mean streets his story held with rapted.
Can't recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and Better., 3 Mar. 2014
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
With thanks to the author and publisher for the review copy.

His name is Nathan Garrett, but he’s also known as Hellequin. And murdering one of his friends and trying to blow him up is a good way to get this centuries-old sorcerer’s full attention…

A long time ago (It feels like now) I impulsively purchased “Crimes Against Magic” the first in the Hellequin series from Steve McHugh featuring sorcerer Nate Garrett and immediately and irrevocably fell in love.

I had only just started my foray into Urban Fantasy and was looking for another fix and here it was right here. Now we are onto Book 3 (with a short story bridge as well) and these just get better and better. For sheer reading fun, it rarely gets better than this- a glorious mix of known mythology, a brand new world to explore, some tremendous characters and always a heartstopping and well constructed story.

In this instalment someone makes the rather extreme error of killing a person Nate is fond of. Then attempting to blow him up. Follow all that with a good deal of smug goading and your fate is probably sealed. And so it begins.

Once again we have a past/present twist to the tale, some magnificently evil bad guys and some beautifully imagined settings where magic and reality collide. WereLions, Cave Trolls and Guardians, other realms, wizardry and mayhem all tied up together in a fantastic package of adrenalin rushing goodness. Like a Rollercoaster ride in novel form, you are in for one hell of a ride.

These are adult in nature – the violence is as violent as real violence is.. the fights are down and dirty with no holds barred and Nate himself is the very definition of anti hero. He kind of follows his own moral code but when the chips are down if you are in his way he really is not going to give much thought before wiping you off the face of the planet. I love that about him. Flawed yes, not indestructible by any means but if you are going to annoy him you had better be sure you can either beat him at his own game or that you can run REALLY fast.

The supporting cast of characters are all superb. I am absolutely in love with Nate although he does now have a rival for my affection after this story in the form of Galahad. Caitlin is my favourite kind of kick ass female – one who stands no nonsense but is very aware of both her limitations and her surroundings. As for Hades well, who DOESNT love Hades? I am definitely an unapologetic fangirl all round for this series. All the way.

This is definitely a set of books that has grown in stature since its humble beginnings as Nate and the mythology surrounding him has grown, developed and taken on a life of its own. So, all in all a terrific 3rd book in a series that is now absolutely one of my favourites in the Urban Fantasy stakes alongside Felix Castor and Alex Verus. Possibly not for the faint hearted but if you like your Urban fantasy absolutely Urban and fantastical these will probably bring great satisfaction.

Note: With Silent Screams can easily be read as a standalone book with no problem whatsoever, so if you fancy starting with this one, go right ahead!

Happy Reading Folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wowza, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I have to say Steve McHugh is getting better with every book. I've enjoyed the stories and more importantly i find the characters extremely likable. The stories are well written and as such the i find i devour the pages too quickly, Hopefully Steve will learn shorthand so he can produce his next book quicker. Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
S. Shepherd (hampshire, uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Gritty, but addictive reading, once i started i couldn't put it down, read them in just a few days, really liked the way magic etc was depicted, would probably make a good basis for a Film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality as ever!, 20 Feb. 2014
By 
willis1976 (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Just finished the book after a couple of days (an achievement with a 18 month old daughter!). Have to say I loved it as always. The wait for the next could be a killer. Storyline goes along at a fair old pelt and the second story of the past was very recent which made a pleasant change. Nate continues to grow in strength but no new powers this time, just an evolution of one. This again means he has further to go in the future. A big bad is now definitely coming from somewhere and there looks like there is a defined path for the future. I'm sure some people won't be happy with it for all the politically correct reasons, but if you want to escape for a few hours with a story of different realms, vampires, werelions, Galahad among others you really could do worse. I never write reviews but these stories are seriously enjoyable and the three people I made try them all love them as well! Hope you give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the Dresden Files, this is for you, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Once again, another excellent book from Steve McHugh! The third instalment of the Hellequin Chronicles was unputdownable. The characters, old and new, are fully realised and are as endearing/loathesome as intended. The plot is fast-paced, violent (but not gratuitously so) and compelling. As an author, Steve is easily on par with Jim Butcher, and fans of the Dresden Files will love this series. Bring on Book 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Stop, 11 Mar. 2015
By 
simon211175 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Sometimes you find yourself hooked on a new series of books, you know - where you can't wait to read the next one. Then all of a sudden, with the storyline left completely open, the author just stops (see Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels: A Matthew Swift Novel series as a case in point).

Now I find myself hooked on this series, and I'm hoping it won't stop any time soon. With this book we see more of the power associated with Hellequin, as we see him fight alongside Leonardo da Vinci and King Galahad against some large Werelions and a cave troll. I mean, what else can I add to that to make you read this?

Having read the first two books in this series (Crimes Against Magic (The Hellequin Chronicles) and Born of Hatred (The Hellequin Chronicles)) I see no reason why you'd need to read a review to entice you in to reading this book, but if you do then this is it. Go. Read. This. Book.

Now, where's book 4?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With Silent Screams, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Wow.....#3 was even better than #2 which was better than #1.....bring on #4.....and be quick about it....My new favourite author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Hellequin is just brilliant. The character of Nate Garrett (Hellequin) just gets more interesting and frightening for his enemies in each book. This series has the potential to be as good if not better than Jim Butcher's Dresden Files !!
I'm not going to write anything about the storyline just get the first book and read it and if your not hooked well your reading the wrong genre for yourself ;-).
Please Steve don't keep us waiting to long for the next book in this BRILLIANTLY WRITTEN SERIES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Jim Butcher, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Bagsy (Northamptonshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Silent Screams (The Hellequin Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This series keeps getting better and with this novel we begin to get hints of a larger story arc which makes things more interesting. Nate battles werelions, trolls and psychopaths and we find out about other realms. If you like series like The Dresden Files and Benedict Jacka's Alex Verus novels then you will love this series. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews