Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars219
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.02
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2013
Absolutely brilliant from start to finish I could not put it down I really felt I was there with orla there was none of that trashy stuff just to fill the pages would definitely recommend and I shall now download her next book well done Ruby you should be very proud of yourself keep writing pleeeaaase
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Enjoyable from start to , couldnt put it down im going to read it again cant wait for another book from this author
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
great read could not put it down, so true of the times I was a teenager in those days and remember well.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
i did enjoy this book, wasn't sure i would, but Ruth Lord has done a great job great read didn't whant to put it down...
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Good book. An easy read with a likeable and honest description of the main character and her many traits. Try it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
This book was beautifully written it definitely kept me interested from start to finish about the prejudice in the 1960's. Entertaining to say the least.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
I come from an Irish mother and was born in the sixties. This story really touched me I really got the character Orla and admired her strength and determination.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Well written and a good holiday read. Will be buying "-the seed farm" next. Hope there will be more to follow.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
It was not what I was expecting,I thought it was going to be a story of the struggle of these people in the 50's. I have seen many notices like that, when living on the edge of London in the 50's. People forget that the Irish were treated exactly the same way the 'Blacks' were. But I am half way through and I am going to give up, so far its all about a stupid girl who will sleep with any man, and. . fornicating Catholic Priests
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I'm Irish descent myself, my grandparents were from Waterford but Gran died before I was born and Granddad was quite old when I was young and in those days kids didn't ask questions, so I really know nothing about Irish history, except for what I saw on TV as a child with all the fighting going on in the 50/60s. But this book whilst telling the story of the family, also brought a bit of Irish history into it, and enlightened me, especially about the loss of the Irish language and the effect on Irish people. I'd recommend it as an excellent read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.