Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No blacks no dogs no irish
Absolutely brilliant from start to finish I could not put it down I really felt I was there with orla there was none of that trashy stuff just to fill the pages would definitely recommend and I shall now download her next book well done Ruby you should be very proud of yourself keep writing pleeeaaase
Published 9 months ago by sandra atkin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read
I enjoyed this book and read it in one sitting. It reflects the time period and it's attitudes very well. I felt sorry for the main character most of the time. Some parts are a little uncomfortable to read, but add something to the story. I have read the sample of Ruby's other book and have purchased that too. I quite liked the writing style. It was not " padded...
Published 3 months ago by margo b


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book very much ,I did not want to put it down I hope other readers will enjoy it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. Flm Newberry "Fran" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down
Best book I've read for a long time, really good story.
Recommend it to everyone Thank you Ruby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No blacks no dogs no irish, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
Great read could not put down the title does not give this book the great story it contains you could picture yourself there living the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT AND INFORMATIVE READ, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
I'm Irish descent myself, my grandparents were from Waterford but Gran died before I was born and Granddad was quite old when I was young and in those days kids didn't ask questions, so I really know nothing about Irish history, except for what I saw on TV as a child with all the fighting going on in the 50/60s. But this book whilst telling the story of the family, also brought a bit of Irish history into it, and enlightened me, especially about the loss of the Irish language and the effect on Irish people. I'd recommend it as an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Blacks No Dogs No Irish, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant read, a real subject dealt with with intelligence and a close working knowledge of the Catholic Church and it's influence within Irish communities. Recommended reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
this book had my attention from start to Finnish and yes I would recommend it.it was a true and funny book of her life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
This book was a good read, I did not want to put it down. It is a real eye opener into what I am sure can and does on occasions happen. I loved the strength of the main character. However I was dissapointed with the ending, I felt it was rushed and was fitting with the rest of the story.However well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting well worth a read
Once I started reading it could not put it down would read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
I found this book interesting, wasn't at all what I expected from reading the title. It gives some strong views but one has to make their own judgment call. You can argue whether it puts a certain black character in a good or bad light; for me it's the later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Blacks No Dogs No Irish (Kindle Edition)
Loved this story. Felt I know Orla & walked with her on her journey. Got angry with her when she let Jack use her. Was so happy for her when she found her voice & took the decisions that would change her life. Thank you Ruby for a great story can't wait to read your next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Blacks No Dogs No Irish
1.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews