Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unconditional Love
I put off viewing this film for a long time thinking it would only show a child being exploited for the film. To my great surprise and delight, I found an endearing film, showing exactly what a child needs, love.

Maude is a six year ok'd living in a lovely apartment in Manhattan. Her parents, Susanna played by Julianne Moore, is a rock star, not a very...
Published 15 months ago by prisrob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bad parenting
I just hope no one is as casual about who they ask to care for their kids in real life
Published 11 months ago by bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unconditional Love, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I put off viewing this film for a long time thinking it would only show a child being exploited for the film. To my great surprise and delight, I found an endearing film, showing exactly what a child needs, love.

Maude is a six year ok'd living in a lovely apartment in Manhattan. Her parents, Susanna played by Julianne Moore, is a rock star, not a very convincing one in this film, however. Maisie's father, Beale, payed by Steve Coogan, is a businessman, who has no concept of what a father should be. Maisie becomes the pawn in these people's fights. Susanna loves her daughter, but lives such a narcissistic existence, she is not a good one. Divorce us inevitable, and Maisie is split between both parents. Each parent forgets to pick her up. Little Maisie in the middle is only looking for lve with no strings attached. Odonata Aprile plays Maisie and an exquisite performance she gives.

Maisie's nanny Margo, played by Joanna Vanderham, is a young woman who truly loves Maisie. Maudie's mother remarries to a very young bartender, named Lincoln, played by Alexander Skarsgard. Lincoln becomes Maisie's caregiver when Susanna goes in the road and he and Maisie develop a tender, sweet relationship. Some of the film is unrealistic, and limits the film's true meanings.

Maisie knows what she needs and wants. An adult who loves her unconditionally, and is there for her. She finds it, but not with her parents.

Recommended. prisrob 11-23-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How not to be a parent, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Alan Jones (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Set in contemporary Manhattan this impressive quietly understated film shows us the world of 6-year-old Maisie from her perspective as she observes the changes occurring in her family life. Her manipulative neurotic mother and distant narcissistic father are too wrapped up in their own selfish and separate worlds to give their daughter any meaningful attention. Steve Coogan and Julianne Moore are excellent as the two self-obsessed adults wilfully neglecting their daughter who silently plays in her room hearing their vicious arguments through the floorboards. After the inevitable divorce Maisie is further neglected as her parents appear to regard her as an inconvenience to their busy lives despite both demanding legal custody. Throughout this disturbing silent tragedy it is Maisie’s innocent resilience which shines through and Onata Aprile’s performance as the vulnerable child is magnificent. Despite the callous behaviour displayed by her parents there is an underlying optimism to the film as we see Maisie gradually bonding with two adults who show her kindness and affection. Although the film lacks any overt sentimentality there is no doubt that it packs a hard emotional punch. A highly recommended watch to any parent or prospective parent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A childs view of divorce, 10 Mar. 2014
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Masie is the daughter of an ageing rockstar and partner. Right from the start of the film the relationship is in trouble and soon breaks down, with Maisie becoming a pawn in the game of revenge that the two play out. What's engaging about this is that we see this from Maisies point of view. She is in every scene and we only learn what she is told. This works remarkably well, leading you to a different perspective, taking Maises side and seeing her needs and her remarkable trust. On one level it's heartbreaking to see the worst selfishness of the adults, but you also see how much love people can show to a child - even on that is not their own.

Top notch performances all round make this work perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A richly emotionally disturbing yet ultimately uplifting tale of a disrupted childhood, 12 Jan. 2015
This little girl's life is a rollercoaster of joy and letdown by selfish and immature parents who are only peripherally aware of their daughter's existence. Six year old Maisie's life at the hands of her parents made me so angry. These truly are people who do not deserve children. This film is fantastically well acted, and portrays the subject matter so impressively that it should be used in parenting classes to show adults the effect their behaviour can have on their children. Steve Coogan is convincingly unsympathetic as a lazy slime of a father, and Julianne Moore is completely believable as the self-obsessed, treat-the-child-as-an-accessory mother. Contrastingly, Onata Aprile's Maisie is an absolute joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Crafted, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
I Heart Books "Bookworm" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Exquisitely crafted, this movie, based on the novel of the same name, tells the tale of Maisie, whose selfish parents put themselves first at every opportunity. Julianne Moore portrays the spoilt bitch rock star perfectly and Steve Coogan does detached father to a tee.

The shining star, of course, is Onata Aprile, whose portrayal of Maisie is brilliant. This movie is poignant and moving and well worth watching as it reminds us all that what a child needs is not gifts, or toys, or trips or lack of rules, but true, abiding, unconditional, selfless love.

I will be purchasing the DVD after watching this on the plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Required viewing, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
R. Griffiths (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I share most of the opinions expressed in the reviews about this film - indeed I feel it should be required viewing for all would-be parents. The performances are all good but most especially that of young Onata Aprile - what a prodigy! - the film is shot very much from her point of view in all senses, and I found myself reacting to the unfeeling and uncomprehending comments and behaviour of her parents very much as she did! Incidentally, although this is a rather dark film, it is much less so than the original by Henry James - if you read that you'll see what I mean, though it does have a kind of happy ending. Maybe to keep too close to the book would have produced too black a film.

My only slight criticism really is that the film's plot was much creakier than the book's - what likelihood was there that someone like Margo and, especially, Lincoln would get involved with Maisie's parents in the first place? Their appearance was just a convenient plot device.

However that said it's good to see a film that relies on fine acting and sensitive (conventional) camera work without any special effects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need is love, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
All six year old Maisie needs is love but her bickering parents played by Julianne Moore and Steve Coogan seem more concerned about their own welfare to realise it. Maisie played by Onata Aprile is brilliant in the role and is the pawn caught in the middle of their squabbles. All parents who divorce should take note of the powerful message in this excellent film , there are no special effects but the film doesn't need them - it's one of the best films I've seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best film of 2013, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. TC Kong (Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Six year old Maisie (Onate Aprile) is caught in the middle of a fierce and acrimonious split between her parents, Susanna (Julianne Moore) and Beale (Steve Coogan). The result of the parents' in-fighting is that poor, little Maisie is shoved from pillar to post between each dysfunctional parent, their nanny, Margo (Joanna Vanderham), and Susanna's surprise new husband, bartender Lincoln (Alexander Skarsgard).

What Maisie Knew [DVD] follows the endearing story of little Maisie's survival and search for a loving home and family life; it ends full of hope in the hands of two people one might not have expected at the beginning: the nanny and the bartender. Throughout the film, though, the viewer is kept on tenderhooks, and disbelief that despite each parent's professed love for their child, their own selfishness and narcissism is what shines through.

I was lucky enough to watch What Maisie Knew [DVD] at the Roslyn Cinema on Long Island while I was visiting my brother in June 2013, although I have yet to read the Henry James novel of the same name on which it is based. It was such a moving film, and with superb acting from all involved - especially from Onate in her debut role. I had hoped to watch it again upon its UK cinema release. Unfortunately, with a hectic work schedule, I missed it at the local cinema, but I was able to pre-order the DVD for when that was released last week.

The deleted scenes in the Bonus Features section are excellent, and the directors' commentary is both interesting and informative. All are certainly worth watching too.

Several excellent films were released last year. However, in my opinion, What Maisie Knew [DVD] is possibly the best film of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed it but not one of my tops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quite disturbing, 8 Jun. 2014
This review is from: What Maisie Knew (DVD)
a film about how not to bring your children up.
about a dysfunctional mother seeking stardom , and the effect her haphazard life has on her child.
If you're thinking of having a child on your own and you have other issues in your life, watch this before having a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Maisie Knew [Blu-ray]
What Maisie Knew [Blu-ray] by David Siegel (Blu-ray - 2014)
£8.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews