Customer Reviews


370 Reviews
5 star:
 (199)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good versus evil
This is the first book by Karen Rose that I have read and it won't be the last. It was perfect for me that this short novella was delivered to my kindle the day after I had finished reading Stephen King's fantastic new book 'Doctor Sleep'. I needed something to clear my mind but didn't want anything too weighty. Broken Silence didn't disappoint. It is about a...
Published 12 months ago by noteworthy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broken Silence
Not that impressed with this book. I do usually love anything by Karen Rose, but I think this book let her down. Not sure whether I would recommend it.
Published 5 months ago by sandra braund


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good versus evil, 10 Oct 2013
By 
noteworthy (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book by Karen Rose that I have read and it won't be the last. It was perfect for me that this short novella was delivered to my kindle the day after I had finished reading Stephen King's fantastic new book 'Doctor Sleep'. I needed something to clear my mind but didn't want anything too weighty. Broken Silence didn't disappoint. It is about a traumatised young child found in the snow beside the burnt out wreck of a car with the bodies of a man and woman inside, presumed to be her parents. The problem is the child has been so affected by what she has seen that she cannot speak. Daphne Montgomery is the Assistant State's Attorney who is herself on leave from a traumatic event concerning her own family and is brought in to try to communicate with the child, using experience from her own childhood. It is important that they are able to make this breakthrough because the little girl is the only witness and holds the answers which will help the police start their investigation. I cannot say too much more without giving away spoilers which I don't want to do. Suffice to say this is well worth reading. It contains gentle loving characters pitted against those capable of performing acts of unbelievable brutality, all in the name of greed. A clear example of good against evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just as good as the full books, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
I have all of her books and love that the characters overlap into different books. A must for anyone - brilliant !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book, keeps you reading and wondering whats going to happen next.
Also several different things going on throughout the book.
A must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
It was good to read as it completed the story of Daphne and Joseph without having to wait until the next full book, which they might have been mentioned in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karen Rose Delivers Again, 27 Oct 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
Karen Rose has demonstrated her writing skills in this format producing a compact, concise short story of quality. It stands alone although familiarity with characters from her last novel adds to the feel of this excellently crafted story. It is typical of the author to be able to deliver action, suspense, emotion and romance in such a short form. It is clearly intended and described as a novella with number of pages so I cannot understand the complaints of it being too short. Of course we all want more but will have to wait for 'Watch Your Back'. Excellent and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good resolution, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
This closes the story from the earlier book. Satisfying but still full of suspense right until the end. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!!!, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
If you have read Karen Rose books you will see what an amazing author she is. Her books are always hard to put down. This one is especially good as it finishes of 'Did you miss me'. and gives closure on Daphne's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice little ending, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
This book was a nice little read to bring Daphne's story to more of an end. Wasn't sure what to expect being only 67 pages but I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
Not enough story - rather shallow and 'all over the place'
Wouldn't really advise anyone to read it
Gave it 2 stars as it wasn't absolutely awful, just poor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broken Silence, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Silence (A Karen Rose Novella) (Kindle Edition)
Not that impressed with this book. I do usually love anything by Karen Rose, but I think this book let her down. Not sure whether I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews