Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shrek-tastic piece of theatre!
Seen this show in both Broadway and London and although both very different the book, costume and sets were all spectacular. This was one of the most expensive Broadway productions ever to be made and this Blu-Ray/DVD is a 2010 recording of the Broadway show.

The premise follows the original movie incarnation with HILARIOUS performances from the entire cast...
Published 10 months ago by MrTRobz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Ok
The film is better. but it is quite good to have more music and song to sing along with the kids.
Published 4 months ago by Lorna Gillan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shrek-tastic piece of theatre!, 21 Aug 2013
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Seen this show in both Broadway and London and although both very different the book, costume and sets were all spectacular. This was one of the most expensive Broadway productions ever to be made and this Blu-Ray/DVD is a 2010 recording of the Broadway show.

The premise follows the original movie incarnation with HILARIOUS performances from the entire cast featuring all your favourite characters from Shrek, Fiona, Donkey, Pinocchio, Lord Farquaad and even the Ginger bread man all coming to live in this hilarious and stunning production.

As this is the Broadway show it isa little different than the London version. It features different elaborate sets, slight alterations to songs and a few extra songs. The cast are a force to be reckoned with and there is not one weak link in the cast. The wonderful Brian D'Arcy and Sutton Foster lead this production.

This is a must see for Shrek and musical fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good filming, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [DVD] (DVD)
It was almost as good as seeing it for real on the stage. Would have preferred it to have been the British stage version though as The Lord Farquhar I saw in London was better (funnier) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Production!, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't say anything bad about this product. The acting,music, camera work is just beyond brilliant. The show is fun for all the family, I'm 22 and I loved it,as did my granny aged 87. I recommend it to any one for Christmas presents!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [DVD] (DVD)
Films of musicals are often poor in comparison to the live shows - eg Chicago and Les Mis. This is a film of the Broadway show. Great show - music, staging and costumes. The whole cast is superb. Watched it twice and look forward to seeing it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stage adaptation with its own purpose, 20 April 2014
By 
Mr. SM Humphrey (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
You could be forgiven for thinking that there would be little (if any) point to adapting such a well-known and loved film for the stage - but you'd be wrong. When this show opened, one review described it as an adaptation with 'real heart', and that's very true. This show gives back story to Shrek, Fiona, and Farquaad which enhances our understanding of those characters and their actions. The performances of Brian D'arcy James as Shrek, Christopher Sieber as Lord Farquaad, and Sutton Foster as Princess Fiona are outstanding - wonderful singing voices, but all three are excellent comedy actors. The show keeps a few choice lines and gags from the film, but really is its own entity. Certain things you can't imagine being recreated on stage are done cleverly - Fiona's transformations, the shortness of Farquaad - and in Farquaad's case tongue-in-cheek hilariously! Catchy songs, and a show the whole family can enjoy. The weak links for me are Donkey (the character who gets the least development from the film, and who's character here is just a bit TOO camp- more so than Daniel Sieber makes him sound on the CD) and Dragon (the puppet looks a bit ropey to me, and it didn't work for me actually SEEING the (3?!) vocalists on the stage). I understand they invested in a better Dragon puppet after the show ended it's initial Broadway run and went to having one off-stage vocalist, both of which I imagine worked better. But a belter of a show for me overall, and I'd highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Broadway Show!, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Robin Hinton (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [DVD] (DVD)
Great to see a Broadway production on dvd . Overall good but the jerky camera work takes the edge off it, and some scenes a little dark due to the stage lighting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased this as I was fortunate enough to perform in the west end version and wanting to eye up the competition . It's a brilliant production and DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [DVD] (DVD)
There is not enough recordings of live performances so this is great. Shame there aren't more special features but highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's Ok, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Lorna Gillan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film is better. but it is quite good to have more music and song to sing along with the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent show, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrek the Musical [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
An excellent show enjoyed by all the family including Grandchildren.
I had not seen the Theatre version of this show and would recommend it to all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shrek the Musical [Blu-ray]
Shrek the Musical [Blu-ray] by Jason Moore (Blu-ray - 2013)
9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews