Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars127
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2013
Seen this show in both Broadway and London and although both very different the book, costume and sets were all spectacular. This was one of the most expensive Broadway productions ever to be made and this Blu-Ray/DVD is a 2010 recording of the Broadway show.

The premise follows the original movie incarnation with HILARIOUS performances from the entire cast featuring all your favourite characters from Shrek, Fiona, Donkey, Pinocchio, Lord Farquaad and even the Ginger bread man all coming to live in this hilarious and stunning production.

As this is the Broadway show it isa little different than the London version. It features different elaborate sets, slight alterations to songs and a few extra songs. The cast are a force to be reckoned with and there is not one weak link in the cast. The wonderful Brian D'Arcy and Sutton Foster lead this production.

This is a must see for Shrek and musical fans!
0Comment22 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
I couldn't say anything bad about this product. The acting,music, camera work is just beyond brilliant. The show is fun for all the family, I'm 22 and I loved it,as did my granny aged 87. I recommend it to any one for Christmas presents!!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
You could be forgiven for thinking that there would be little (if any) point to adapting such a well-known and loved film for the stage - but you'd be wrong. When this show opened, one review described it as an adaptation with 'real heart', and that's very true. This show gives back story to Shrek, Fiona, and Farquaad which enhances our understanding of those characters and their actions. The performances of Brian D'arcy James as Shrek, Christopher Sieber as Lord Farquaad, and Sutton Foster as Princess Fiona are outstanding - wonderful singing voices, but all three are excellent comedy actors. The show keeps a few choice lines and gags from the film, but really is its own entity. Certain things you can't imagine being recreated on stage are done cleverly - Fiona's transformations, the shortness of Farquaad - and in Farquaad's case tongue-in-cheek hilariously! Catchy songs, and a show the whole family can enjoy. The weak links for me are Donkey (the character who gets the least development from the film, and who's character here is just a bit TOO camp- more so than Daniel Sieber makes him sound on the CD) and Dragon (the puppet looks a bit ropey to me, and it didn't work for me actually SEEING the (3?!) vocalists on the stage). I understand they invested in a better Dragon puppet after the show ended it's initial Broadway run and went to having one off-stage vocalist, both of which I imagine worked better. But a belter of a show for me overall, and I'd highly recommend it!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Films of musicals are often poor in comparison to the live shows - eg Chicago and Les Mis. This is a film of the Broadway show. Great show - music, staging and costumes. The whole cast is superb. Watched it twice and look forward to seeing it again.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A fun-filled souvenir of the lavish 2008 Broadway production. The plot is as in the first film. Ogre Shrek seeks the deeds of his swamp so fairytale refugees cannot squat. Diminutive Lord Farquaad insists he first brings to him Princess Fiona so they may marry. Ahead lies a quest full of danger. Will Shrek succeed?

SPOILER ALERT! Of course he will.

Too extravagant for its own good? (This production never recouped the money it spent.) Versions since have been less ambitious and some would claim better. Perhaps certain aspects here worked better on the stage than disc. Scenes involving the fairystory characters often became cluttered, it not clear who some of them were meant to be. That dragon particularly needed a rethink.

Nevertheless there is much to enjoy - the show inventively presented, with four hilarious central performances. Occasionally gross? You bet! Children are likely to shriek with glee everytime Shrek's chatty donkey companion indicates yet again the giant has broken wind.

Arguably the best sections involve characters rather than spectacle. Working perfectly is that overheard misunderstanding (very moving too). Favourite sequence? For me it was the opening to Act 2, spirited Princess Fiona trillingly greeting the new morn, a nearby nesting bird reacting most unexpectedly.

Perhaps best regarded as a glorious antidote to traditional pantomimes - characters all splendidly over the top, the humour robust.

An important message too: do not judge by appearances.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
I've seen a lot of musicals, both on stage in several countries and on video, and can say with all honestly that this is without doubt the best of any of them.

The camera work, the sound, the production, the editing, and not forgetting the performances themselves are all outstanding. There's none of those often awkward random shots of the audience, until the very end, allowing you to become completely lost in the show for the entire two hour run.

If you've seen the Broadway version of this show then you know what to expect as that is what was filmed over several live performances with an audience, and a special one without to allow cameras to more more freely about the theatre. Not a single moment of the lavish production is missed, with a delightful mixture of wide shots, and close ups.

However if you saw the badly miss-cast, cut down - they removed "Build a Wall": Why? - UK version of the show then you are in for an even bigger treat as Brian D'Arcy James, Sutton Foster, Christopher Sieber and the rest of the cast not only bring their roles to live, as fully form characters without having to resort to cheep laughs, with voices that have the incredible power and yet can still be touching.

The only possible down side I could find to this disc would be the slightly rough (too loud vocals) sound during the encore "I'm a Believer" which whilst not that bad, did come as something of a surprise after the wonderful full pounding stereo of the rest of the show were you can actually tell where the actors are on stage just from where their voice is coming from.

So, in case you haven't guessed already, I just couldn't recommend this any higher.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Took our two kids (9&6 at the time) to see this show in London & they loved it. Downloaded broadway cast recording & they learned all the songs. So when this was released it was a must for Christmas. Although being slightly different from production we saw it didn't disappoint they put the uv copy on their iPods so they could watch again & again. Fabulous :)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
Great to see a Broadway production on dvd . Overall good but the jerky camera work takes the edge off it, and some scenes a little dark due to the stage lighting
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
It was almost as good as seeing it for real on the stage. Would have preferred it to have been the British stage version though as The Lord Farquhar I saw in London was better (funnier) .
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Fairly funny. The actor who plays Shrek doesn't have a particularly good Scottish accent. Princess Fiona is fab and full of character. The tap dancing mice scene is great. It loses it's charm being on the TV as you lose the stage presence of the characters and the production. Some of the songs aren't that memorable. Just words put to music. Still entertains but think I wish I had gone to see it at the Theatre first.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.