Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great watch
Ever since I heard about radio-controlled watches, I've wanted one. When my old watch packed up, it gave me a reason to start looking for something that wouldn't cost the earth. I think this Casio watch is the best value for the features available. It's a good looking watch that comes in at 95 grams and doesn't weigh a ton on your wrist. There's something great about...
Published 9 months ago by A. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good watch let down by clasp design
The watch functions Ok, my problem is with the strap. The catch design leaves the end of the clasp proud and I find it constantly catching on my clothes, its a Casio solvable problem as the hinge end of the clasp has a different profile and does not catch.
Published 23 days ago by M. Plows


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great watch, 1 Dec 2013
By 
A. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
Ever since I heard about radio-controlled watches, I've wanted one. When my old watch packed up, it gave me a reason to start looking for something that wouldn't cost the earth. I think this Casio watch is the best value for the features available. It's a good looking watch that comes in at 95 grams and doesn't weigh a ton on your wrist. There's something great about hearing the BBC time signal on the radio and as the final beep sounds, the second hand hits the 12 o'clock position on the watch. Magic - it really works.
Things to know about this watch:
The dial is grey in most lights - it only looks blue in bright light. Personally, I'm OK with this - it still looks good.
The watch comes with a tool for taking links out of the watch strap - you do not need to buy a separate kit of tools for this.
The body of the watch is grey plastic but you will hardly notice it - the watch dial surround and backing plate are stainless steel. I assume Casio have done this to keep the weight down, so the plastic should be seen as a plus.
The watch has the calendar feature - this means that you do not need to adjust the watch for summer time, ends of month date change, leap years etc. The only occasions when it will need adjustment - ever - is when moving time zone. It has 29 time zones built in and I have not yet travelled overseas to see how easy it is to make adjustments.
When I received the watch and took it out of its tin (yes, it comes in a tin) the hands whizzed round and stopped an hour ahead of the actual time (it was set to summer time). Rather than make manual adjustments, I left it overnight to see if it would pick up the radio signal in the early hours and correct itself. In the morning it was showing the correct time and proved that it could pick up the signal quite happily on the window sill.
If you leave the watch in the dark for several hours the LCD display and secondhand stop working (presumably to save power). If you then switch the light on, you will see the secondhand whizz round to the correct time, and the date/day display comes on.
There is a titanium version of this watch which costs £30 more. Unless you want the grey metal look, don't bother with it - it isn't worth the extra.

May 10 2014
Since writing the above review, I have travelled to Australia and back crossing (I think) 13 time zones. Here's what I learned about adjusting the watch for time zones:
- download the Casio manual pdf file for this watch and put it on your iphone, ipad or whatever. Much easier to consult than the small type, small brick like manual that comes with the watch;
- when you are in a new time zone that does not receive a radio signal, follow the instructions for changing your 'home city code'. (The manual does not really say this loud and clear). So if you are starting in the UK, it will say LON. If you arrive in Sydney, Australia, for example, change the home city code to SYD. However, New South Wales uses daytime saving for their winter months, so you need to do one more adjustment for DST. And so on for any other time zone, but I think I am correct in saying, DST is not used by countries in the tropics.
- it's still a brilliant watch and even more of a bargain from when I bought it last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Watch, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
Received this watch yesterday. Good old Amazon delivered it 4 days earlier than promised, great service as usual !!

It is very good looking and not too heavy. Undid the packaging, took it out of the tin, and Whoosh, the hands immediately went to the correct time. The manual is a little long-winded, but very informative and one should have no problems in setting the watch up how one wants it. When received, the battery was showing "mid", so left it under a fluorescent light in the kitchen for a couple of hours, and it was fully charged after.

The strap is the easiest I've ever had to adjust. Instead of the usual pin arrangement, there are small holes in each of the links on the back of the strap. Simply use a small screwdriver and and turn the little screw in the link and Voilà, the adjoining link comes away, as this is spring-loaded, it returns to it's former position without doing anything else.

All in all, a great watch for a very good price, can thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps time!, 21 May 2014
By 
Gordon Old "Headcammer" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
Like, you'd hope.
The user interface is not the easiest, but with 100s of functions and only 3 buttons, that's no real surprise. Keep the manual, because you're likely to need it if you cross time zones! It's only because the user interface is hard work this gets less than 5 stars. In terms of build quality, timekeeping, functions, feel, look and value, it's all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Watch, 24 Dec 2013
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
I have just received this watch and it look's fabulous, this is my second radio controlled watch. My other one is a Casio G shock, looked long and at many other makes, some three or four times the price of this one and have come back to Casio for the best value for money.

The strap is so simple to adjust with the tool provided and adjusted it to fit me in a few minutes.

This watch is definitely value for money and looks really good so don't hesitate to buy because you won't be disappointed.

Great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent capability for receiving time signal, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
I live in Malaga, south of Spain, near to Africa and surrounded by mountains (this is why we have so good climate) and far away from the German and UK transmitter. I did not expect to receive the signal to synchronize the watch; however, it takes it with no problem (by night). The watch satisfies all my requirements. Even more, the package included a little tool made of plastic to disassemble the links of the bracelet to fit your wrist. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good watch from Casio., 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
Very prompt delivery,opened the box the watch came in, the watch was displaying correct time & date.Bracelet much to large,no problem as it comes with a tool to adjust it (very easy to use) adjusted it in under 5 minutes.Highly delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely watch, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
A lovely watch this will keep good time without having to have batteries. My husband already has one but decided to get another, typical...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
Very good watch keeps good time. Very easy to adjust stainless steel band. Covers all time keeping areas thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth more for its functions than for its aspect (overall), 2 Sep 2014
By 
Ples Alin (Oradea, Romania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
You can manage to synchronize in Romania (West side of country, more exactly at Oradea) but as I read these days, you can manage to sync it very easily at the East side of country - Tulcea; at Oradea I only managed at night. During the day, even from the center of the town I always get the error but at night, I manage to sync near my window.

I had to chose ATH for home city and with the DST ON (not enough DST Auto) because otherwise it will not show proper time; so it's a kind of manual setting - compared to the way I thought it will automatically fix. So then, the auto receiving signal option is only for correcting seconds, once you found out the proper city and the proper option for DST.

Keeping in mind that the watch is reduced from £150 to £83 and that the same watch is ~£170 in my country, and with all the options it has, I'd say that it definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch with perfect time keeping!, 2 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Quartz Watch with Blue Dial Analogue - Digital Display and Silver Stainless Steel Bracelet WVA-M640D-2AER (Watch)
Could not ask for more as a watch with perfect time keeping and zero maintenance. However the 'extras' do not lend themselves to a traveler I.e. alarms are not loud enough and activate for only a short period and there is no snooze!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews