Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 2-cd selection - do not miss it (and new pressings are corrected!)
Whilst there is nothing unreleased here, it does seem justified to have a 2-cd compilation. This is quite a good companion release to Noise & Girls (which included some unreleased versions) despite a few overlaps, and also brings together versions of all tracks on Secret Wish and most of Wishful Thinking! These are from the remastered ZTT/Salvo releases so the sound is...
Published 14 months ago by M. B. Wilson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New Here.
Firstly the fold out booklet contains a potted history of mid-80s Propaganda and also an explanation of the different versions of 'A Secret Wish' released at the time.This folds out into a poster which isn't of great quality. Also included in the booklet and in the digi-pack are adverts for other releases,including an album by Celine Dion!!I don't want to find adverts for...
Published 13 months ago by Mr Synthpop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 2-cd selection - do not miss it (and new pressings are corrected!), 26 Oct 2013
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
Whilst there is nothing unreleased here, it does seem justified to have a 2-cd compilation. This is quite a good companion release to Noise & Girls (which included some unreleased versions) despite a few overlaps, and also brings together versions of all tracks on Secret Wish and most of Wishful Thinking! These are from the remastered ZTT/Salvo releases so the sound is great throughout, and the alternative track-listing makes this a worthwhile addition to any fan's collection. Initial pressings were mispressed so CD2 played the same 14 tracks as CD1, although the label and matrix were different - but the copy I have recently purchased on Amazon is fine, as the Record Company did a re-press early October.

The dubs/instrumentals and extended versions are often quite challenging, so CD1 is closer to a traditional best of, but CD2 is just as worthwhile. You get some new liner notes (Thein unfortunately passed away earlier this year) and a small foldout poster of the cover too! I would recommend this rather low-key budget release to anyone who had a passing interest in the band, purely based on the radio-played singles of the time, as well as ardent fans. Unusually for a compilation that itself compiles from recently released compilations/expanded versions, this 'Best Of' is arguably better than its recent predecessors - a rare quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New Here., 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
Firstly the fold out booklet contains a potted history of mid-80s Propaganda and also an explanation of the different versions of 'A Secret Wish' released at the time.This folds out into a poster which isn't of great quality. Also included in the booklet and in the digi-pack are adverts for other releases,including an album by Celine Dion!!I don't want to find adverts for other artists included in any booklet. But maybe that's just me.
As for the music. Basically there are are versions of tracks that pretty much cover everything on 'A Secret Wish' and 'Wishful Thinking'.There are also a handful of remixes. If you already own 'A Secret Wish' (2010 2 cd reissue),'Wishful Thinking' (2012 reissue) and the compilation 'Noise And Girls Come Out To Play'then you will already have all the tracks on this release. However if you're looking for a general introduction to mid-80s Propaganda then this does the job. Sound quality of the discs is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Introduction to a Great Band! BUY IT :), 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Propaganda since 84 and Dr Mabuse, buying all the singles, lp, cd, re-issues etc etc and I have to say that for the price, this is a must!
Yes, we've heard it all before but there are some great tracks and mixes on here and I urge you all to give it a go, even over the recent Noise and Girls Come Out to Play compilation
I stumbled across this from just searching around on Amazon and thought it may be a bootleg as there's been nothing on the ZTT website not on Salvo (well, at least when I ordered) - but it's all above board, great cover, linear notes and poster to boot - BUY THIS CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime and Sexy Synth Pop - The So-Called "Abba From Hell", 29 Aug 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
I bought this double CD at my local Rapture music store today. I've enjoyed Propaganda since their heyday in the 80's. If you don't know their music, and are getting into classic 80's synth-pop, this collection of songs is a fine place to start. If you were to put Kraftwerk and Goldfrapp into a blender, Propaganda would be the end product. All of their best known songs are here, including the majestic Duel, the thunderous Dr Mabuse, the pounding Murder of Love, and the anthemic Sorry For Laughing. Also included are some very good tracks which are new to me, including the beautiful Femme Fatale. Thought is a somewhat bonkers and vaguely insidious instrumental, which sounds like a Yello track. This is a German band, and although the female vocalist sings with a strong German accent, her voice is very distinctive and clear (I think of her as the female equivalent of a David Bowie). Given that the singer is German, her pronunciation of words is actually far clearer than a lot of English and American singers I can think of. Disc 2 is 10 extended remixes of some of their best tracks, with Murder of Love and Jewelled probably the stand outs. The double CD comes with a poster of the CD cover image, and some interesting sleeve notes about the history of the band. If you want to dip your toes in the water first, get Duel, Femme Fatal and the extended Murder of Love (murderous instrumental) on MP3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent compilation, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
Propaganda did not produce many albums. A Secret Wish is the one to get obviously. But if you want a nice cheap introduction then this covers just about all bases. Why does it hurt when my heart misses a beat? Find out here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome cd, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
having been re-introduced to Propaganda via a compilation cd containing both Duel and Dr Mabuse i just really needed one of their CD's,this one fit the requirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars prpoganda cd, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
double cds and a poster . great stuff .. great listening . well done on a great album ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
Classic album - even if you've never heard of it - buy it and be dazzled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING... MISPRESSED!, 22 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Best Of Propaganda (Audio CD)
I just acquired this 2CD set, and was really happy listening to CD1... and very disappointed listening to CD2.
Both discs, although carrying their individual proper artwork and individual matrix number, contain the tracks originally planned for CD1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Propaganda
The Best Of Propaganda by Propaganda (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews