Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabriella is back on top form!
Gabriella Cilmi may unfortunately be known by many people simply for one single, her 2008 smash hit single 'Sweet About Me', however if one were to take a look into her back catalogue as well as this new record you'd realise just how criminally underrated this shining Australian songbird is and that she has the ability to pull off any musical style which is a rarity in...
Published 20 months ago by Ms. S. J. Hobson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moody and Mysterious
This is an interesting CD full of moody ethereal music. Much of the music here is slow but Gabriella still belts out the vocals on some tracks to provide a little variety.

It's good that different instruments take the lead on different tracks. On I Am Just A Girl, I was very pleased with the use of percussion.

This is certainly different from Lessons...
Published 14 months ago by Mark Syder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabriella is back on top form!, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Sting (Audio CD)
Gabriella Cilmi may unfortunately be known by many people simply for one single, her 2008 smash hit single 'Sweet About Me', however if one were to take a look into her back catalogue as well as this new record you'd realise just how criminally underrated this shining Australian songbird is and that she has the ability to pull off any musical style which is a rarity in artists nowadays.

Ms Cilmi first burst onto the scene in 2008 with her critically acclaimed debut album, 'Lessons To Be Learned' which contained elements of pop, soul, rock, funk and jazz and showcased her rich, raspy vocals perfectly. This record was soon followed up in 2010 with the release of her sophomore album, 'Ten', which moved away from her original soulful sound in favour of an exciting eighties-esque, new wave, electronica flavour. Despite being praised by critics, Gabriella was unhappy with the change in direction and felt like nothing more than a mere puppet in the music industry. After low sales of 'Ten', she broke away from her management and label to do it all alone. Three years later, a much more wiser and maturer Gabriella Cilmi returns with her long awaited third studio album, 'The Sting', which sees her yet again shift musical style. This time around, Ms Cilmi takes on a much darker almost ethereal sound, taking inspiration from old soul music and the connotations of the Italian neo-realism photography.

So, without a major record label to back her and with no 'smash' lead single in the vein of both 'Sweet About Me' and 'On A Mission', does this album hold up as well as the others? In short, the answer is simply yes. I can't help but feel like this is Gabriella's most personal album to date. Listening to the record, it's very clear just how much time and effort has been put into achieving this truly unique sound and one only has to listen to the passion in Cilmi's voice to realise that she has a strong connection with the album. The songwriting on 'The Sting' is also rather stunning. With each one of Gabriella's albums, I have noticed her songwriting skills develop and go from strength to strength and I must highlight that a lot of the lyrics throughout this record are very clever and stay far away from the typical cliches heard in the majority of music today.

Another highlight of the album is the beautiful production. Gabriella may no longer have the talents of Xenomania or The Invisible Men by her side anymore but the truth of the matter is that she does not need them to make this such a great album. Instead, the talents of the wonderful Eliot James [who has worked with the likes of Two Door Cinema Club and Noah & The Whale] were roped in to produce the entire project. I can't think of anyone better for the job as James manages to create the perfect sound for the album. His dark trip-hop influenced sounds compliments the lush and emotional songs perfectly, giving 'The Sting' that extra edge.

Unlike a lot of albums that are in the charts today, 'The Sting' contains no 'filler' tracks and flows well as one great body of work. Each track tells a different story and to reiterate what I said earlier, Cilmi strays away from the usual cliches which make the song 10x more interesting. Standout tracks for me are; 'The Sting', 'Sweeter In History', 'Don't Look Back', 'Left With Someone Else' and 'Not Sorry'.

Will she be able to recreate the success of her debut record? Well without the backing of a major label it may not fair well in the charts. Is it better than her debut album? It is 100%, without a doubt far better than her 2008 debut and just like her second album 'Ten', it is filled with a lot of character which can only work well in its favour. I can't say that this is her best work to date as comparing her 2nd album to this one is like comparing two completely different artists but it is far superior than 'Lessons To Be Learned' which is a fantastic album in itself. I strongly recommend this album to any fan of Ms Cilmi as it shows off her artistic skills, development and her personality all in one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moody and Mysterious, 27 May 2014
By 
Mark Syder (Prescot, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sting (Audio CD)
This is an interesting CD full of moody ethereal music. Much of the music here is slow but Gabriella still belts out the vocals on some tracks to provide a little variety.

It's good that different instruments take the lead on different tracks. On I Am Just A Girl, I was very pleased with the use of percussion.

This is certainly different from Lessons To Be Learned (at the time of writing I haven't yet heard Ten). I prefer LTBL but hope that this will grow on me with repeated listening. I like every song on it, but have given it three stars rather than four or five because there wasn't even one song that stood out from the crowd. I hope this will change as I become more familiar with the CD, but a four-star review requires at least one stand-out track from the first listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mature new sound., 3 Dec. 2013
By 
T. Dar (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sting (MP3 Download)
'The Sting' is a much more mature, mellow and moving album than Gabriella's previous album, 'Ten'. Although I enjoyed 'Ten', in particular the stunning 'Defender', 'The Sting' definitely provides more substance. I've only listened to it a couple of times so far, but I would definitely recommend it. It contains a lot of soul and thought. Gabriella Cilmi is definitely an underrated and often overlooked artist (like many talented Australians, unfortunately).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sting (Audio CD)
Great mix of music been away and come back stronger she is a great talent will feature on music scene for long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the year!, 28 May 2014
This review is from: The Sting (Audio CD)
Let me be upfront! I didn't expect too much as I found Gabriella's previous albums really good fun pop but a bit lightweight and disposable. However,you can see a real progress and maturity in this album! A lot of the songs are not as immediate as on previous album"Ten" but they are real growers. Listen to them a few times in the car and they will soon be lodged in your head. This is a person moving from a pop puppet found on an X Factor type show to becoming a credible artist. Her voice is part Macy Gray,part Amy Winehouse and part Lana Del Rey. Her songs also echo Del Rey's but have even more poignancy and depth. I caught her performing at a small Glasgow venue this week.Her voice is even better live and her band is super tight. Ignore all the superficial detractors commenting about "her hair" and the lack of immediacy. Give this album a few spins and you'll be stung!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great album, unfortunately the case arrived scratched, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sting (Audio CD)
Great album, unfortunately the case arrived scratched, cracked and broken. This was a gift. Due to the extrem length of time that this item took to arrive, I didn't have time to send the item back and replace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sting (MP3 Download)
I liked this album. It's a departure from her previous works which is nice, and the album is suited to played all the way through. However, I find that some of the songs can get a bit same-y. But I would recommend this if you like her music, but it's not necessarily for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sting (Audio CD)
I am a little disappointed, the music levels drown Gabriella`s vocals,such a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars sure ain't for us, 13 April 2014
By 
Luke Rock (Rio de Janeiro) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sting (Audio CD)
TEN, being a TEN, was a high key upbeat favorite CD on every driving trip of ours.
THE STING goes down an opposite avenue. It's just way too mellow, way too weird, not for us.

We understood that Cilmi felt that TEN was simply not her way to go, and that's all fair,
but the down beat of THE STING sure ain't for us.
Next time young and talented Gabriella puts a new CD out we'll just make sure we listen to
the whole thing in the store before we part with our cash on a leap of faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, why is it so difficult to find ..., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sting (Audio CD)
Amazing album,

why is it so difficult to find in France ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sting
The Sting by Gabriella Cilmi (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews