Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars13
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£7.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2013
Elvis unplugged. Well not exactly. The disc consists of 10 tracks where the musical accompaniment has been turned down low and another 10 tracks where Elvis' vocal has been virtually (but not quite) redacted. What you get is a chance to hear Elvis' vocals 1960-62 recordings in a rather pure form. In fact they do sound very fresh and of course he was indeed in superb vocal control in the early 60's. The instrumental 10 tracks are far less interesting and although they may well be suitable for Karioke buffs really it would have been a better cd had we had 20 tracks of pure Elvis vocals. Also without a lyric sheet (and there's no sleeve notes to speak of) who in truth could sing the entire Night Rider (for example) without a crib sheet! What is also interesting is that the inside sleeve note which is the tape details from the Flaming Star sessions in 1960 seems to indicate an attempt to record "All in the Game". Of course Cliff went on to do a nice version of this number. So overall not bad but hardly essential.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
we get a chance to sing like Elvis or to drum like D. J. Fontana: the "instrumentals". are the original tracks with as much lead vocal removed , as possible; the " vocals" have as little support as possible.

in all this exotica, some real fun surprises emerge: the vocal to GIRLS GIRLS GIRLS is pushed right in your face..or in your left ear, as if Elvis is singing out in the passenger seat of your sedan ..and the track goes to 2:40! so we get some dazzling nuances and a longer and it's a gas! also, we get the weird opportunity to imagine what the GIRLS GIRLS GIRLS soundtrack would have sounded like if it was badly mixed, like the GIRL HAPPY or DOUBLE TROUBLE so9undtarck albums. something really cool about that. I'm not sure what it is, but...

note: BLUE SUEDE SHOES is from 1960 and SHOPPIN' AROUND is the earlier, more "Buddy Holly" version.

I loved singing along to the "unplugged" KISS ME QUICK, not a classic but still Dean Martin-based rock. Which means Elvis must have loved cutting it.

"unplugged" is really not the new term > should have been "Elvis stripped". well, maybe RCA would not go along with that one.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Just read that a reviewer is taking a copy of this brilliant CD to a charity shop. Please can I be told which charity shop and where it is I would like to get there before the rush!!!!!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Versions we've never heard? For instance, Blue Suede Shoes was the recording he did (or an out-take of it) for the film 'G.I. Blues', and has nowhere near the greatness of his 1956 recording. The other tracks consist of removing Elvis' vocal and labelling the result as an 'instrumental'. The vocal-only tracks have merely brought Elvis vocals to the fore, whilst muting the background music. If you're an Elvis fan then you'll know that this is a total rip off. For those of you who are only an occasional listener to Elvis, avoid this rubbish. Just go out and buy the songs as they were originally released, and not these manipulated versions of those very same songs. This is just another poor attempt to fleece people who think they're getting something new. Take it from an Elvis fan of over thirty years, you're not.
11 comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
The King at his best. Having a vast Elvis collection already I try to get all new versions of his songs when released not just standards rereleased. If anyone thinks that this is just a novelty to be dismissed, think again. Listening to this just reinforces how great his voice really was. With very little background voices and booming instrumentals you are treated to the pure sound of his voice.
This is best listened to on just a plain stereo without any surround sound or booming bass - if you can adjust the settings that way you will not be disappointed. It is a great buy, and I for one hope that many more will follow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Sure,you can hear low instrumental and vocal bleeds at times but the sound is so clear despite that that you hear every detail,things you've never heard before.For an example,check out the "Flaming Star" instrumental track. It was always wonderful and different to begin with but here the premier muscianship is right in your face.Nothing here is anything less than a wonderful and different listening experience,one that gives you a new appreciation of not only Elvis as a singer but fort he musicians that were so a part of the legendary sound of his music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Been a fan of Elvis since 1956{I was 16yrs old} was very taken up with him when he came on the scene.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Unusual Elvis record but I do like it he has a very pleasant voice sings, does not shout like many of today's stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
these versions of elvis song are quite good never heard them before in this style.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
what a great release hope there will be a follow up to this cd with more vocal and instrumental tracks.when you listen to the instrumental tracks you can hear elvis voice slighty bleeding through
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.