Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magenta - 27 Club
I'll come out and say it - I'm a BIG fan of this band and have watched them grow, change and mature over a number of years. Unusually for a modest band, there's been a bit of hype around their latest release Some are saying its their best yest. Well, thats a always a matter of opnion and they havent topped Home Homefor me - but this does run a close 2nd.

This...
Published 12 months ago by Mike Progfan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but...
Why oh why does Rob Reed need to make all these obvious references to all his influences (if not even citing them)?! Same as with most of Magenta's records; the music suggests great potential, but all the borrowed bits and sounds pretty much ruin it.
Published 6 months ago by George


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magenta - 27 Club, 20 Sep 2013
This review is from: Twenty Seven Club-Cd+dvd- (Audio CD)
I'll come out and say it - I'm a BIG fan of this band and have watched them grow, change and mature over a number of years. Unusually for a modest band, there's been a bit of hype around their latest release Some are saying its their best yest. Well, thats a always a matter of opnion and they havent topped Home Homefor me - but this does run a close 2nd.

This band is packed with musical talent built around the core of mastermind Rob Reed, Chris Fry (guitar viruoso) and the wonderful voice of Tina Booth. (They are supplemented live by the Godsticks rhythm section, but bass and drum duties fall to Mr Reed and Andy Edwards respectively on this outing.) Cutting to the chase, this is a triumph for Tina Booth who's vocals have rarely sounded so pure and strong. Her finest moment, for me, comes with Pearl, a tribute to Janis Joplin, but she is consistently excellent throughout all 6 songs. Chris Fry's solo on this track really is spine-tingling - I can never get enough of his playing. Rob Reed's keys are there adding a lush organ sound or more obviously a solo run from the synthesiser - well this is prog! its good to hear Andy Ewards back pounding the skins again and an excellent pick by RR.

Go on - treat yourself to a little piece of prog heaven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., 11 Mar 2014
By 
George (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Seven Club-Cd+dvd- (Audio CD)
Why oh why does Rob Reed need to make all these obvious references to all his influences (if not even citing them)?! Same as with most of Magenta's records; the music suggests great potential, but all the borrowed bits and sounds pretty much ruin it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prog Album of the Year?, 10 Nov 2013
By 
J. Clark (Croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twenty Seven Club-Cd+dvd- (Audio CD)
If there's a better pure Prog album this year, I've yet to hear it.
There are elements here that are very YES influenced. In fact if YES themselves recorded this album it would be regarded as a 'return to form' and something of a classic.

This has that feel of 70's 80's prog but sounds fresh and up to date at the same time. You can tell that a lot of time & love has gone into crafting this CD. Musically & lyrically it hardly puts a foot wrong. I've only got into this band in recent years and it seems to me that the only thing that has stopped them moving to the next level, is a label to promote them 'big-time'. Let's hope this does it for them.
Highly recommended. 4.5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A taste of prog., 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Seven Club-Cd+dvd- (Audio CD)
Some good strong songs here. Sounds similar to previous material though less 'gothic' than Metamorphosis was. The material is not quite as good as previous early albums though. Never-the-less a splendid return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Prog Rock, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Seven Club-Cd+dvd- (Audio CD)
only found my way into Magenta recently post the Kompendium album produced by Rob Reid This is much more prog edged with guitar to the fore which I like and a good female singer.Would recommend to fans of the newer breed of prog bands but still which have a nod tho the more traditional bands of the past
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cannot get into this album, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty Seven Club-Cd+dvd- (Audio CD)
What a disappointment. This is an album that I just cannot relate to in the way that I expected to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twenty Seven Club-Cd+dvd-
Twenty Seven Club-Cd+dvd- by Magenta (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews