Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Haunted House
Funny in places, but has nowhere near the amount of laughs there are in other Wayans films. A Haunted House kinda has the feel of a comedy sketch being stretched out over 90 minutes. Worth seeing if you get the Wayans humour. If you're Mark Kermode though, prob best avoid.

3.5 rounded up to a 4.
Published 9 months ago by Gerry O'D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rugby on a wet day
Indulge me a metaphor. If cinema is sport then most genres, be they action, adventure, thriller, horror or romance, are some variety of the beautiful game: a careful build up from the back, fluid off-the ball movement, the odd languorous long ball into space, snappy interchanges in the middle of the park and clinical execution in the final third.

Comedy spoofs...
Published 22 months ago by Olly Buxton


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Haunted House, 19 July 2014
By 
This review is from: A Haunted House [DVD] (DVD)
Funny in places, but has nowhere near the amount of laughs there are in other Wayans films. A Haunted House kinda has the feel of a comedy sketch being stretched out over 90 minutes. Worth seeing if you get the Wayans humour. If you're Mark Kermode though, prob best avoid.

3.5 rounded up to a 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rugby on a wet day, 28 Jun. 2013
Indulge me a metaphor. If cinema is sport then most genres, be they action, adventure, thriller, horror or romance, are some variety of the beautiful game: a careful build up from the back, fluid off-the ball movement, the odd languorous long ball into space, snappy interchanges in the middle of the park and clinical execution in the final third.

Comedy spoofs are different. They are more like rugby on a wet day. It's about having a game plan, following it, and after that, tackling. Lots and lots of tackling.

Tackling requires full commitment and perfect timing. Go in half-heartedly and you'll get hurt; make the hit early or late and someone else will, and you'll be heading for an early shower.

In a comedy there's no half-hour grace period in which the back four can elegantly stroke the ball around while scene is set and characters introduced: every man needs to be making good hard tackles from the first whistle. Those first critical collisions must all be on the money, or you'll find yourself 15-0 down with a man in the sin-bin before the first quarter's out.

That said, even as you take your seat and flip through the matchday programme, you fear for A Haunted House. Even in its game plan it has the look of a pup about it: it features one, which meets a grisly end, in its opening sequences. Nor are early reports from the American broadsheets encouraging, though I hardly think they figured heavily when Marlon Wayans contemplated his target demographic. (Nor, should I think, did people like me, for that matter.) But it does seem to go over well-raked ground. A Haunted House is a horror-spoof - superficially like the Scary Movie franchise, thus begging the question why Marlon Wayans, with four of those exact movies in the tank and a fifth due to open imminently, isn't leaving the genre well alone.

But look on the bright side: entering this sort of movie with low expectations is the best way to enjoy it. And so it proves.

Early doors the tackle count is certainly high and with Malcolm (Wayans) and Kisha (Essence Atkins) charging around the park like the undead possessed, you brace yourself for each one. Wayans hits each ruck with vigour, and with each contact we feel a flash of relief that the tackle has passed without injury. Before long you've passed the ten minute mark, and with the odd mis-hit, the game plan seems to be working out pretty well.

And so goes on. A ripple of laughter from one corner of the (hardly overstuffed) theatre grows into a general chuckle throughout. One chap on the left starts braying like a donkey. It is infectious. Soon enough we are all at it.

There is nothing original in the screenplay - it is scatologocal, features fart jokes and lots of innuendo - so put most of this down to the actors' commitment and timing in the tackle. Wayans is a likeable, high octane presence and what his script lacks on lofty cerebral planes he makes up for in sheer effort: there are no half hearted shoulder charges here. Everyone commits full bloodedly, and you fancy one or two jokes which might have led to a turnover or even a yellow card in less enthusiastic hands (an extended one-man orgy with cuddly toys, for example) carry through on sheer bravura and timing alone.

The screenplay is uneven, but the script is lively throughout, and there are droll comedy turns from David Koechner as a security expert, Nick Swardson as a gay psychic, Alanna Ubach and Andrew Daly as a couple of would-be swingers and Cedric the Entertainer as an ex-con turned exorcist. The whole thing looks like it was (and apparently was) shot on steadycams on a shoe string.

I dare say the box office takings, already at something like fifteen times production costs before its UK release, will help Marlon Wayans come to terms with a sniffy review in the New York Times.

Olly Buxton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Haunted House [DVD] (DVD)
not as good as i thought it would be. not very funny either, sorry but have given dvd away to a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Movie With No Laughs, 5 Jan. 2014
This review is from: A Haunted House [DVD] (DVD)
"Funniest film ever" another reviewer wrote. I could not disagree more, this is probably the least funniest film I've seen in a long time if ever. I didn't like Paranormal Activity but I don't think that's the reason I hated this as I can enjoy a comedy movie if it's funny.

I had few smirks here and there like when Marlon is humping his stuffed toys but there's nothing at all clever in this comedy and I found myself most of the time with my jaw dropped thinking how bad the movie is. For the record I really loved Scary Movie but this movie is just terrible and I struggled to actually get to the end credits. I notice A Haunted House 2 is coming out so I definitely will be giving that one a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny!!!, 14 July 2013
By 
S. Gibbs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched this for the first time this morning and laughed from the get go to the very last scene!!!

Its very much 'Scary movie" humour but a little more. . . . Rude!!

Loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FOR A GOOD TIME CALL 666, 5 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a very funny African-American spoof of the found footage films. The humor borders on low brow for much of the film. Kisha (Essence Atkins) moves in with Malcolm (Marlon Wayans) and almost immediately claims the house is possessed as she finds her keys on the floor. Malcolm sets up cameras and uses techniques he learned from watching "Scooby-Doo."

If you have seen the Paranormal series, you can't help but laugh at this film which includes a gay psychic (Nick Swardson) who is more interested in Malcolm than the ghost; the camera installer (David Koechner) who also is part of "The Ghost guys"; a priest in training (Cedric the Entertainer) and a couple who want a "Mandingo Party."

The humor while crude, I enjoyed, as it wasn't simply crude for crude's sake.

Parental Guidance: F-bomb, N-word, comical sex, nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars So not funny, it's not good, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Reader (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Haunted House [DVD] (DVD)
Watched the whole film waiting for something good to happen, but nothing did. A string of incidents with no story other than that there are supernatural forces - who or why is unclear. I get that it's a spoof, but surely there should be a storyline? A couple of laughs, but very few and very far in between. I have lost 83 minutes of my life and will be giving my DVD to the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good comedy film!!!, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good comedy Film but the seller was cheeky within his email when i received the outer sleeve damage on the bluray and the seller didn't care about sorting the problem so i am given the film 3/5 as the film was good but would give the seller 1/5 star for this cheek...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY FUNNY watched repeatedly, 17 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Haunted House [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
if you Like 'Scary Movie 1&2' u'll love this ..

(Heard Haunted House2 tho is rubbish compared to 1) so heads up :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars a haunted house, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Haunted House [DVD] (DVD)
This is a serious let down by a wayans brothers movie big style. I love a good wayans brothers movie but this. Omg just don't entertain it. Its deffo a waste of money and so not funny at all! I bought it thinking it would b crying funny like white chicks and little man but its not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Haunted House [Blu-ray]
A Haunted House [Blu-ray] by Michael Tiddes (Blu-ray - 2013)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews