Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A excellent balance of creepiness, mystery and horror
Another is a decent horror/mystery anime which at times can be eerily creepy, suspenseful and has each episode leaving you wanting more just so you can find out what is going on.

In 1972 a popular student of Yomiyama North middle school's class 3-3 dies suddenly partway through the school year, and the students and teachers are so devastated by the loss they...
Published 9 months ago by Xodus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Final Destination
Another
A 12 episode anime from 2012, based on a novel of the same name, is a mystery horror set in a sleepy town of Yomiyama, where a troubled 15 year old (tries to) settle into a slower pace of life outside the city. Only things are problematic from the beginning, suffering from ill health the first few months of the school year, then finding school life a slowly...
Published 2 months ago by J. Clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A excellent balance of creepiness, mystery and horror, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: Another Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Another is a decent horror/mystery anime which at times can be eerily creepy, suspenseful and has each episode leaving you wanting more just so you can find out what is going on.

In 1972 a popular student of Yomiyama North middle school's class 3-3 dies suddenly partway through the school year, and the students and teachers are so devastated by the loss they act as though she is still alive, which leads to a strange presence in on the graduation photo. From then on there is a mysterious phenomenon that somehow leads the students of class 3-3 and their relatives to die, more often than not in weird and gruesome ways.
In spring 1998 Koichi transfers from Tokyo into class 3-3, and meets a girl called Mei who is a student that everyone else seemingly ignores, and thus Koichi becomes ensnared into the gruesome mystery.

The style of the show is excellent with odd images flashing up momentarily, so that you are not even certain if you saw what flashed up, and an excellent music score that helps to emphasise the oddness and creepiness of the show, all of which helps to keep the viewer slightly off balanced as the series progresses.
At times I had chills and goosebumps down my arms as a particularly odd scene would occur and my mind was trying to work things out.

This is not a jump out and scare you horror series, it is a psychological horror, and a very good one as your mind builds up the anticipation of possible death. The series put me in mind of Twin Peeks, in the way that all the characters were slightly odd, and in its ability to build up good levels of creepiness and mystery. At other times I was reminded of Final Destination.
Some of the deaths are very gruesome and a couple are "flinch worthy", as well as bloody, but it does not go over the top, and your focus is more on the students reactions as they become more and more traumatised and trapped within their circumstances, and that is where the real horror lies. Not in the deaths but the students fearing that they might be next.

This show is definitely worth watching, I watched this by myself and mostly in the dark which helped with the creepy factor, but even episodes that I watched in broad daylight still left me feeling a little spooked. I found for maximum effect if you watched this series one episode at a time and then refuse to talk to others about it, not only did it make this great series last longer, but also helped me better emphasise with the students situation, one student in particular.

It is an excellent series, and I would love another season (rumour mill is suggesting there will be). It was close to being 5/5 for me, and if I could I would give it a strong 4.5/5 and I might re-watch it soon and see if I upgrade it to 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites of the year., 28 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Collection [DVD] (DVD)
WARNING : 13th OVA episode is NOT amongst the DVD's extras as it was originally reported to be.

An excellent Anime series that has a terrific look and great music score.

On the story front, it's actually better to go into it knowing as little as possible. It starts as an apparent ghost story but winds up going off in an altogether unexpected direction, winding up a strange hybrid of an Agatha Christie novel and a Final Destination Movie.

This is my second favourite horror anime of recent years (after Shiki) and it's definitely worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Collection [DVD] (DVD)
As confusing as the show is its really good and it is such an indepth story. Definitely recommend it to any animie lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short series but well worth a watch, 21 July 2014
By 
Adam Clarkson (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent if short-lived anime series. It is a little dark with students dying in pretty much every episode, but the twists and revelations to the mystery behind it all are well executed, it will keep you guessing for some time! The animation is generally very good, and despite only having 12 episodes the plot manages to cover a fair bit without feeling like it's rushed through. Definitely recommend if you're looking for a shorter series you can binge in a weekend, or just watch an episode or 2 a night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another Final Destination, 23 Jun 2014
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Another
A 12 episode anime from 2012, based on a novel of the same name, is a mystery horror set in a sleepy town of Yomiyama, where a troubled 15 year old (tries to) settle into a slower pace of life outside the city. Only things are problematic from the beginning, suffering from ill health the first few months of the school year, then finding school life a slowly deteriorating grind. When classmates act increasingly shady, the true nature of harrowing rumors become reality.

First Impressions
Finding my way back into the anime scene and it's vast depths of entertainment, 'Another' seemed a fairly basic and safe choice (I hadn't properly watched anime for years - even then it was largely well known films from Studio Ghibli). It sets up a little plot via a tape recording, but little is understood other than its about a school where the most beautiful and popular student died - yet the people in her class pretended she still existed. Straight away it was similar to all anime series - a terrible introduction theme song bangs on for a couple of minutes with scenes not really found in the series - then you get to stare at some 'artwork' for a couple of seconds while the song repeats itself - largely unnecessary. However, when the anime actually gets going, it gives of a very lonely and cold vibe, thanks to its location, ominous score and lead character traits. The subtitles didn't get off to a good start though, with the main character clearly indicating he is in pain"Hi" with subs saying "No" - which kind of throws the credibility of the translation, up in the air..

Plot
I should mention that it's incredibly difficult to summarize the plot without giving too much away as each of the 12 episodes hold a puzzling 'spoiler' moment where a secret is revealed or rumor confirmed where the viewer (similar to Sakikabara's situation) are finally in the know. It's this aspect that makes the series rather addictive, the feeling of unknowing and intrigue. That and the fact the episodes are just under 25 minutes each - so you could easily plow through several a day (usually still clueless about various goings on). Here are some potential spoilers (that are integral to describing this anime) - Class 3-3 (or 3-C as it was renamed) holds a terrible burden. That of a deadly phenomenon that occurs every year to the same class. People start dying. Students, teachers and relatives of those involved are all at risk of impending death, from accident or ill health (this is where the whole thing gets a 'Final Destination' vibe - only without the cheesy 'reaper's coming for you next' idea).

Already this series has gained some mentions about it's increasing violent scenes, the further the story progresses. Although they aren't particularly vivid or brutally gruesome, some are tragic and even a little bit shocking - despite a lack of visual stimuli (with the exception of a kitchen knife catastrophe).

Characters
Koichi Sakakibara - is the main character - a 15 year old student attending Yomiyama school, class 3-3. Recently transferred from Tokyo, he starts his new school with the misfortune of suffering a collapsed lung, missing the beginning of the school year. His father working in India and his mother deceased, he stays with grandparents and Auntie.. and annoying bird. A quiet guy, but inquisitive.

Mei Misaki - A highly mysterious girl in class 3-3. She lives with her mother in a mannequin shop and has a distinctive eye patch. She is hesitant when speaking to Koichi at first, but eventually the 2 become friends. It is unknown whether she is being completely ignored by her classmates and teachers, or if she really is a ghost. Hates being questioned.

Izumi Akazawa - Another fellow student, she is in charge of 'countermeasures' against the rumor. Bossy and loud, she takes her responsibilities very seriously and is suspicious of Sakakibara from the start - believing they have met before.

Naoya Teshigawara - is the macho guy who loves sports and is generally poor at school. He has been tasked to show Sakakibara around school and explain its various rules and situations.

Tatsuji Chibiki - some creepy looking librarian...

Verdict
It passed the time for me, and wasn't a chore either. The visuals are kind of generic for anime, the movements are limited and the environment mostly darkened (although some scenes are well made). It's main holding points are that of the mystery of the rumors and the methods in which the characters die. At times, the way the story progresses can get cloying as you are constantly left in the dark about how things are happening and why as the students very slowly reveal information. My Favourite moment happens to be the only time humor is used (seaside antics aside) and could have easily been a plot twist... however it turned out to be a daydream :( I;d recommend this animation for teenagers around the 15 mark (mostly because that's the rating) but also for the relating school link and taste for shock and awe (blood).

I wouldn't mind watching it again (I'm currently watching bits here and there to refresh my memory as I only watched it when I was off ill from work a few months back) but I'd probably only do so if someone else wanted to see it and I could act like a know-it-all smartarse :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant first half but underwhelming ending, 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: Another Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Another was a series that frustrated and delighted me in equal measures. The show has an overriding tone of creepiness and has a great sense of atmosphere. Watching the mystery of Class 3-3 slowly reveal itself was an experience that kept me on the edge of the seat and had me second-guessing how the "evil" manifested itself right to the conclusion. Unfortunately for Another, it seemed to pull all of its best tricks in the first half of the series, the opening six episodes are all stellar in terms of pacing and twists that the second half just can't compete with. That doesn't detract too greatly from the series, since the second half is still enjoyable albeit disappointing given the incredible opening. The show's strengths are the way that it delivers scares, preferring to frighten the viewer with a pervading sense of impending doom instead of just resorting to continuous cheap jump scares. There's a fair amount of gore in the show in the form of the Final Destination-esque death scenes that serve to remind you just how dire the situation is that Class 3-3 finds itself in.

Overall, Another is thoroughly entertaining show that just falls short of a five-star rating because of a few problems with writing and pacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: Another Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I just finished watching this anime and all I can say is WOW. It has got to be one of my favourites (close with deathnote). It wasn't exactly scary but it did at times made you wonder what was going to happen next, I finished it within a day since I couldn't stop at once or two episodes. The end was such a twist I was gobsmacked for a good 10-15 minutes. A definite MUST watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Japanese final destination, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. S. Walker ":)" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It's ok a bit too slow for my liking though feel could use a it more,pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: Another Collection [DVD] (DVD)
this anime starts off slow but when it kicks in it blows your mind 10/10 perfect for any anime horror/gore lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought Angel Beats so i had to get this and well its...excellent. Good characters,atmosphere,animation,story it has everything. Just wish there were more episodes and the intro tune i the worst ever. Just get it then get Boogiepop Phantom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Collection [DVD]
Another Collection [DVD] by Tsutomu Mizushima (DVD - 2013)
22.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews