Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars28
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2013
Annie Mac Presents 2013 is now the fifth annual compilation curated by the Radio 1 DJ, bringing together the most exciting, innovative electronic beats of the year.

Launching with a surprisingly effective disco mix of Duke Dumont's 'Need U (100%)', much of the first disc is based around deep house, with trailblazing tracks from Breach, Disclosure, Gorgon City and Jessie Ware featured, among a few deeper cuts from GotSome and Mike Mago. There's also a brief foray into drum and bass in the second half, with floorfillers from Chase & Status and Rudimental.

More fascinating is the second disc. Swapping the endorphin rush for a blissed-out comedown mix, it incorporates sleek R&B (Miguel, Sampha), chilled house (Cyril Hahn, Le Youth) and spectral soul (London Grammar, James Blake). Particularly compelling is the impassioned, skittering 'Can't Stop' by Lulu James, a track exclusive to this compilation.

It's a solid collection of commercial dance, with a few flourishes of intriguing underground material. It probably won't appease the dance purists, but for the more casual listener it's a perfect encapsulation of electronic music in 2013.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
I would have given this more stars as I like the tracks on this release but why is the production of this so bad? Take a listen to track 21 "Falling (Duke Dumont Remix) from the track preview then listen to the same intro on YouTube or anywhere else you can compare it and you will hear the sampling is awful!
I noticed the same issue on the 2012 edition on some tracks but this problem affects nearly every track on here.
C'mon guys, it's not like I can return the MP3 downloads!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
love Annie Mac's albums, have been waiting for this one to be relased and then when amazon said it was released I had to wait a few more days to be able to actually download it.
Its good, just not as good as last years album unfortunately!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Excellent, really enjoying this album. For me it's good to hear different tunes and the regular stuff we hear. This is a great album for the summer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
CD 1: crackin tunes mainly house, turn it up loud in ur car. CD 2: more chilled but still great tunes. Highly recommended to all dance music fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
If your familiar with Annie Mac or new to her selection of music then you won't be disappointed! A great mix of smooth house, a splash of reggae and some funky tunes to get you moving!
She's one of my top female DJ's of all time. If you haven't already I suggest you go to one of her Annie Mac Presents sets, it will be a crime to miss it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I really enjoyed this compilation there are some really good songs on it and only a couple of bad ones. The stand out tracks are the first tracks of both discs which gets you into both discs right away. I'd recommend this to anyone who was a fan of Annies show on a Friday night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Bought this as was getting fed up listening to the same old music at the gym. Glad to say it was a good investment! Some good tracks to keep the stamina up and push through the burn barrier lol! Good for those who like listening to decent tunes whilst working out etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Love this album. Buy AMP every year it comes out and the different types of tunes on there are excellent plus a mixed version which I love. Definitely right up my street this one. If you like dance music... buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
I normally love Annie macs albums but found this one bland. Track choices were very samey, not a patch on last year. I prefer big beats but this felt more like 4am in a chill out room in off strip Ibiza.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.