Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2013
I came to this album only knowing 'Who knows where the time goes' but it was a real eye opener for me and I will definitely invest in other Sandy Denny CDs after hearing this.
There are a lot of real winners on this, in contrast to the usual rule of thumb on compilations, many of them towards the end of the album. In fact, one of the few disappointments was 'who knows where the time goes', here sung in a 'free' live version which is certainly not an improvement on the fairport era studio version that I - and no doubt many others - already knew and loved before I bought this. The other is All our days, which comes in at over 7 minutes long and has more orchestral interlude than Sandy singing. Just about everything else is highly recommended though - personal favourites, 'John the Gun' and, best of all, the neo-psychedelic 'I wish I was a fool for you (again)'.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Many great tracks here. If you're a fan or been recommended by a friend, then this is a great place to start. A great version of "Who knows". Worth it just for that!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This is a good compilation of some of The Lady's best known songs at an excellent price. The sound quality is fine.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Sandy's content and interpretation never falls below brilliant. Already got most of these tracks but a couple of new ones to e. I'll play t the car. If you're familiar with Sandy's work you won't need to read this, if you're not then you've really missed out
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
I'd never heard Sandy Denny before. I know she was with Fairport Convention and Steeleye Span, but died young. Not bad music for the era. RIP Sandy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
In his highly acclaimed book Electric Eden: Unearthing Britain's Visionary Music, the music writer Rob Young identifies the late, self-destructive female singer-songwriter, as one of the key figures in 20th century British folk rock, alongside the likes of Pentangle, Nick Drake, and the Incredible String Band. He makes this judgement because of her work in the late 1960s and 1970s as firstly, lead singer for the folk rock band Fairport Convention, then as part of her own short-lived band, Fotheringay, before embarking on a solo career that produced 4 studio albums between 1971 and 1977 (The North Star Grassman and the Ravens, Sandy, Like an Old Fashioned Waltz, and Rendezvous). This budget-priced CD focusses solely on that latter phase of her career.

It begins that task well, with a 1973 take on her best-known song, the wistful 'Who Knows Where The Time Goes?'. That much-covered effort is followed by a reasonable proportion of the best songs in her back-catalogue, including: 'Late November', 'Next Time Around', 'Solo', 'No End', 'I'm A Dreamer', and 'The Lady'. Also included amongst the 15 song track-listing are the traditional 'Blackwaterside', and her version of former colleague Richard Thompson's 'I Wish I Was A Fool For You (Again)', which both convincingly show off her talents as a skilful interpreter of other people's material. Hearing all this generally understated folk-rock - with it poignant lyrics, sympathetic musical arrangements, and Denny's haunting vocal performances - provides a reminder of why esteemed artists such as Robert Plant, Kate Bush and Pete Townshend have doffed their caps to her in the past, and hip contemporary acts like Laura Marling, Joanna Newsom, and Joan As Policeman, have cited her as an influence on their own work.

But this budget-priced collection has almost the same faults as another Spectrum/Universal release - John Martyn's Sweet Little Mystery: The Essential. There is no place in the running order for a not insignificant number of first-rate songs, like the foreboding 'Listen, Listen', anxiety-ridden 'Stranger To Himself', the pagan folk song 'The North Star Grassman And The Ravens', and the dreamy 'One-Way Donkey Ride' (all of which regularly feature in other compilations of her work). Whilst two key tracks are presented in marginally inferior live versions. These drawbacks wouldn't be as much of a problem if The Lady didn't have the contentious, and slightly misleading, subtitle of "The Essential". The fact that Patrick Humphries rushed sleevenote features contradictory information about her output doesn't help things much either.
33 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Wonderful voice, wonderful lyrics, wonderful songs. I'd buy this simply for the one track that I don't think is available anywhere else - the 1973 John Peel session version of 'Solo', which is heart-wrenchingly good.

Sandy was unique, and I am sad that she is gone from the world - she leaves us poorer for leaving, but so much richer for the legacy of her songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
I just love her voice unique, sadly all these years on since her death at such a young age 32, I think no female vocalist has come any where near.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Oh a nostalgic trip to my youth, super tribute album for a highly talented and much missed and loved artiste
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
a good starter for anyone new to sandy. i only bought it for two tracks i didnt already have, but still an excellent album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)