Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London calling revisted
London Calling was one of my first purchases as a young teenager many years ago...which was a long time ago:-).. It sounded great then, just as it does today, brilliant production, every song is just as good as the one before as you go through the playlist and in my eyes, the best Clash album of all time.
The demo cd is just that, so dont expect anything too fancy...
Published on 20 Sep 2004

versus
48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the 25th Anniversary Edition instead
This review is for: London Calling 30th Anniversary Edition, Vinyl Replica Packaging, CD/DVD (Audio CD)

I can't really see the point of another release for this iconic album, especially when it's a far inferior version. This edition is basically the excellent 25th anniversary release minus the Vanilla Tapes (demos) CD which, whilst not everyone's cup of tea,...
Published on 2 Dec 2009 by Euromancometh


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to remaster properly, 9 Sep 2013
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, it's a classic album. It deserves that status, no question. So there's little point in discussing the finer points of the art contained herein. What IS important is the remastering. Is it worth it? Well, the first couple of seconds into the album and the answer is blindingly obvious. A big fat yes. In stereo! Whereas the 1999 remasters were a marked improvement on the original issues, this new mastering is mammoth leap forward from the 1999 issues. And that's probably an understatement! Not only is the sound much deeper, it is also incredibly detailed with the each part of the mix so much more pronounced. The soundstage seems to be a lot wider and there's a real warmness to the sound. No sacrifice of dynamics to obtain loudness and no intrusive digital equalisation. The sound really breathes and it just begs you to turn it up. In doing so you are rewarded with the most amazing clarity and detail. I'm amazed that this much information could be extracted from the master tapes. This is vinyl sound but from a CD. Believe it.
Always been a fan of Tim Young's mastering since his days of vinyl cutting at CBS. I guess he may have even mastered a Clash LP or two back in the day. His respect for the music and for the listener is clear. The end result is a lesson in how music should be mastered and how much more rewarding it is to listen to when that objective is achieved. This man deserves an award. Remasters of the year, undoubtedly. Wake up, record labels - stop pointlessly and deliberately screwing up music and make it sound like this.
My recommendation - buy this. It makes the 1999 version sound like a worn out cassette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it ever was!, 26 Sep 2004
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent re-packaging of this classic album and amazing value for money. The first CD is the same as the original CD release from 10 years ago - all the original LP tracks on one CD. The second CD of unreleased material and the DVD are a great bonus and well worth it.
London Calling is regularly voted one the top ten albums of all time, and justifiably so. Most punk bands at the time had lots of energy but little talent. The Clash, who were never straight punk anyway, had lots of talent as well as great song writing ability. I bought this album the day it was released in 1979 and the range of material and styles on the album still impresses today, a quarter of a century later. If you want to build your CD collection or replace a worn out LP, buy this today - it's fantastic value. If you've never heard this album, then you're in for a real treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A RIP OFF!, 14 Dec 2009
Don't buy this one, cause it is a rip off! This is "turning rebellion into money!"
Buy the 25th Anniversary Edition and everything is fine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And I live near the river...., 31 Aug 2006
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
It's quite easy to be cynical in this day and age about the potency of an album of guitar music but this truly is a slab of gold.

From the swagger of the title track to the plaintive "Lost In The Supermarket" this is a peice of class from start to finish. "Rudy Can't Fail", "Hateful" and "Spanish Bombs" all deliver the goods.

For a band to pull of so many masterstrokes on one album is very impressive.

We haven't seen their like since so respect to be shown for Strummer and his men.

OK so not a punk album so much but eats alive anything Green Day have ever attempted.

A quintessential London band album. Buy it, cherish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best punk record ever, and so much more..., 12 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
...and that's what made the Clash the greatest of all the punk bands of the late seventies - their ability to transcend the limitations of the punk genre. Other bands (Sex Pistols, Ramones) may have defined the ethos of punk every bit as well, but few would deny that their influence and cultural importance far outweighed their actual artistic merit.
I myself first bought Combat Rock, because I'd heard the singles Should I Stay Or Should I Go and Rock The Casbah, and was disappointed by the rest of the album (apart from a couple of tracks), so I expected much the same from London Calling; I'd heard and loved the title track, Guns Of Brixton and Rudie Can't Fail, and was willing to forgive the rest of the album. As it turns out, every single song on London Calling is worth listening to, and some are real gems.
Having listened to the whole album time and time again over the years, Lost In The Supermarket has emerged as my favourite track on the album, while Clampdown, Spanish Bombs and Death Or Glory are also standouts (along with the famous ones I mentioned earlier). This album has such an eclectic mix of genres that it's more or less impossible to describe the overall feel, but I suppose the best way to put it is as great rock music, sometimes moving sometimes funny, bolstered by some excellent saxophone here and there.
Most importantly for a punk record, London Calling never gets overly pretentious or self-congratulatory (as you often got the impression the Sex Pistols were), and while some of the lyrics do have a socio-political side to them the music always comes first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Jun 2013
By 
N. E. Dunkley "Ned" (Amsterdam today) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (MP3 Download)
Just bring on the noise boys, I need to get a lot more of this era, at the time I was to much into whitesnake and motorhead to listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's nicely packaged, the DVD is interesting. It's a classic! and the songs and the music are just amazing! I really like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London Calling, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
if you have a TOP 100 albums that you must listen to and have in your CD collection this must be in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
Even in the current and ever changing pop world this album is right up there with them. Contemporary and exciting, edgy yet thoughtful and simply great pop music. One of my top albums ever and compared with others in the gendre stands out quiet magnificently. The beats are in your face but its good music too and unlike the American grunge is subtle too!!! Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying this album is a no-brainer, 17 May 2012
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
From the iconic cover to every track on the album... to put it simply, the best Clash album is one of the finest albums ever. For the ridiculous price of a fiver, do yourself a huge favour, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Calling
London Calling by The Clash
Buy MP3 Album£3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews