Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comfort Food For Fatboy Fans
Norman Cook, aka Fatboy Slim, has been quoted as saying he is 'comfortable' with this album - he usually hates his records once he has finished creating them. As a single word description of an album, this is pretty apt.
More live instruments and celebrity collaboraters and vocalists give this album more rounded edges and feelgood factor than the previous Fatboy...
Published on 13 Oct 2004 by D. Jeffery

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A few gems on here!
Although this is probably Slim's weakest of his 4 solo albums, there are a few good tracks on here that are definitely worth listening to. Although a few you will listen to and nothing will spring to mind when you try to remember them, Don't Let the Man Get You Down, Wonderful Night and Slash Dot Dash Dot are more like some of his earlier works. The rest take on a more...
Published 7 months ago by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comfort Food For Fatboy Fans, 13 Oct 2004
By 
D. Jeffery "djfresh" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
Norman Cook, aka Fatboy Slim, has been quoted as saying he is 'comfortable' with this album - he usually hates his records once he has finished creating them. As a single word description of an album, this is pretty apt.
More live instruments and celebrity collaboraters and vocalists give this album more rounded edges and feelgood factor than the previous Fatboy albums and at the same time I think a little bit less raw excitement. There are no tracks which would make you jump on the dance floor at the first few bars, but (a few swear words apart) you wouldn't mind your kids listening to it - in fact mine are singing the sample from "Don't Let The Man Get You Down" right now!
I personally can't get Bootsie Collins's vocals from "The Joker" out of my head - several people have been surprised by me telling them I love their peaches and can I shake their tree! Altogether a 'slow burner' that I have been listening to every day and getting into more each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done Mr. Cook, 5 Oct 2004
By 
L. Barnes (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
Cool is the only word I can think of to describe this. The album manages to capture all the best bits of all the Fat Boy Slim albums to date while injecting a freshness that only FBS can.
The CD starts with a 'Between the Gutter and the Stars' style track and then shoots straight into 'Slash Dot Dash' (a la 'You've come a long way baby'). The tracks then manage to move from Big Beat to chill-out seamlessly making it the perfect CD for any occasion.
My highlight though is the album's finish.... a beautiful version of Steve Miller's 'The Joker' - VERY nicely done!
Buy this CD. You won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, but still very good, 2 Sep 2005
By 
B. Broadribb (Wimbledon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
A very good album, but not one that I regularly choose to listen to all the way through. There are some Fatboy Slim classics - Don't Let The Man Get You Down, North West Three and the marvellous cover of The Joker being three of the standout tracks. Then there are those which are just great music, such as Song For Chesh, Long Way From Home and Wonderful Night. The majority of the album falls into this category in fact. But there are some tracks that are good but you just won't want to listen to too often. Jin Go Lo Ba and Mi Bebe Masoquista fall into this category for me. Slash Dot Dash also suffered from having to be redone at the last minute, as the original voice sample Norman Cook used was a lot more appealing and generally less grating and annoying than the one he had to opt for. Overall there are no bad tracks, but some have a lot more lasting appeal than others. Definitely Fatboy Slim's weakest album but still very good nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works going against the grain, 9 Oct 2004
By 
Mr. C. J. Bunyan "jak_amneziak" (Luton england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
each track will be reveiwed
1) dont let the man get you down. - dont be fooled by its easy going outlook its professionally put together and will get you swaying but not dancing
2) slash dot dash - you will either love it or hate it. i like it but can see how it gets annoying.
3) wonderful night - a filler
4) long way from home - o2 advert tune weird start but failsd to live up to potential
5) put it back together - very solid and quite funky
6) mi bebe masquita - universally accepted as a great track but i dont thinmk its the best. close but no cigar
7) push and shove - another one with weird synth pads very solid
8) north west three - now the album hots up. this is a potent track bvut fairly chilled yet unlike a lot of chilled stuff fat boy has done this works
9) the journey - a swinging beat, great vocals and a bass tahtll have you reeled in like a sticklebaxck. 2nd best on the album
10) jin go lo ba - potential follow up to his slash dot dash and is better. upbeat and kicks in
11) the best track. worthy of repeat. similar to love island with brilliant pads at the start but not as kicking. still very well executed and smooth. phenomenal
12) the joker - you are having a giraffe? this is poor and should have been left out. just as he gets several good traxx under his belt he does this.
the album is not perfect but better than his last album and marginally better than his first one. noft perfect but there is signs taht he is back to somewhere near his best.
overall 73%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I got this 3 days before the official release, 1 Oct 2004
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
Walking into a major music retailer today at lunchtime to my surprise I see a copy of the Fat Boys New Album on sale for 19.99. What should I do? For the sakes of the rest of the world I should complain to the manger that this CD should not hit the shelves till Monday.
That's what I should do but being a hugh Fat Boy Fans that I am I immediately buy a copy.
I've just listened to it and I have to say that I'm really surprised at how mellow this is. Apart from the tracks Slash Dot Dash & Jin Go Lo Ba there is very few club tunes on this album. A more musical journey by Norman so. The song with Damon Alburn called put it back together is enjoyable & song 3 "Wonderful Night" had a catchy rap over it.
This Album reminds me of a mix of all Fat Boy Album from before.
I'm sorry he didn't release it before the summer cause it would have been good to listen to on my balcony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a one way ticket to palookaville........., 1 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
In the week that saw the burial of dance music on Tim Lovejoys' Allstars SkyOne tv show, a hand reaches up from the grave in true "Carrie" style and its clutching a copy of "Palookaville"!
Fatboy is one of those strange paradoxes: dj as artist..........but unfailingly pulls it off again with a weirdly unpredictable mix of vintage Fatboy (check Don't Let The Man and North West Three), urbane west coast hip hop ( Wonderful Night and The Journey), and 50% rock50%roll (Push and Shove).
This album defies intense analsis, because Fatboy Slim is about having fun and a laugh. Norman Cook has never been in danger of taking the Fatboy too seriously and he's not starting now.
Top Banana award is a split decision between The Journey and Push and Shove, and if The Joker isn't no.1 by xmas then this year must have really ended on a downer! Bootiliscious!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less chart cheese..., 9 Oct 2004
By 
L. Bown (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
We've all heard 'Slash Dot Slash', Fatboy's Slim's trademark production- a sampled vocal loop accompanied by rocking beats.
There are one or two tracks that fit this description on the album, for instance the opener Don't Let Man Get You Down points out how "long haired freaks need not apply", and Mi Bebe Maosquista features a guy lamenting the fact his "masochistic baby has gone and left him", shame for him. Both are interesting with rocking bassline's and beats in the true Fatboy style.
But some of the tracks on this album are distinctly different to what we've come to expect. North West Three is my favourite track on the album and is a beautiful dreamy song, much more downtempo than the rest of the album.
Put it Back Together and Push are Shove are other tracks that work, but don't follow his usual style of random sampled mayhem.
All in all a good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 27 Jan 2005
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
The king is back. 4 years after his previous album, 'Half way between the gutter and the stars,' Fat Boy Slim has returned with this musical odyssey of funk, bursting with melodic masterpieces. There is no doubt about it - this truly is a great album.
Albums where every song is great are few and far between. Well, you have an example here. From start to finish, Norman Cook gives you a selection of selectively bred dance and funk classics that stick in your mind. You don't bother reaching for the skip track button; the only button you'll need is the volume.
The key to Palookaville is variation; you have a super fast 'Slash dot dash' followed by the more lyrically advanced 'Wonderful Night' and then the slower, more bassy 'Long Way From Home,' (which you may have heard on the 02 adverts). One minute you have a heavy bass line complete with super scratching and techno beats, followed by a slow, feel good sound with a gentle acoustic guitar riff.
If you listen to this album with head phones on, you can fully appreciate the effort Norman has gone to in each of his songs. Mi Bebé Masoquista is a good example of how he uses both speakers to mix scratching, vocals, and a beat, and then blends them together to produce a great sound. His songs aren't linear; they don't simply have the basic verse-chorus-verse-chorus structure, he produces different songs with different structures to suit his style - for example 'Long Way From Home' has sporadic beats and effects, and then half-way through the song a completely different sounding chorus pops up.
The great thing about this album is you don't necessarily have to be a fan of this genre - my parents like Fat boy Slim yet they usually don't like anything that is even remotely to do with dance. This could be because the album is more 'user-friendly' than 'Half way between the gutter and the stars,' in the sense that there is greater selection of songs which are shorter lengths than their predecessors. Most of which were 6 minutes long and may have been a bit more extravagant to someone who was new to the genre.
Palookaville really sums up what Fat Boy Slim is good at - making an excellent selection of feel-good songs. Norman doesn't have to turn the bassline up really loud during the chorus, or have vocals which have to shout loud to make the song sound good. More often than not he has quieter, softer vocals which match and sometimes better that of the Chemical Brothers, another group which are experts in their field.
Norman himself said he knows his songs aren't particularly meaningful - but, who cares? He has produced a wide variation of complex, catchy songs ranging from the heavier - (Mi Bebé Masoquista) to the chilled (Song for Chesh). It doesn't matter if you are a fan of Fat Boy Slim or not - buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fatboy Slim New Album, 12 Oct 2004
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
After You've come a long way baby Fatboy Slim had set himself extreamly high targets to achieve the same kind of musical success. Halfway between ... was a bit of a let down for those expecting another high energy abum allthough Yammam was certainly "Pushing the Tempo" This album is back into the high Energy style we have come to expect of this DJ/Producer and is certainly well worth listening to if not buying although O2 wont be a long way from home with this album. Give yourself an hour to listen to this music and you wil enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the old style, 11 Nov 2004
By 
G. Redshaw (CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palookaville (Audio CD)
To be honest I wasn't entirely sure about buying this album when I heard Slash Dot Dash but really I haven't been dissapointed with the album so far (fourth time listening to it). It sounds like Norman has gone back to what made both his first two albums unique and breakthrough, listening to "dont let the man get you down" and "the journey" I was instantly reminded of the style that came through on the "you've come a long way baby" album, I'd give it a big thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Palookaville
Palookaville by Fatboy Slim
Buy MP3 Album£6.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews