Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Brilliant Berly Matthews, 10 Nov 2005
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Paperback)
I have already read the open door and wings of the morning and these are fantastic books, but this one really is brilliant.
I could not put this down, set in the post war years the story is about a german prisioner of war Dieter who finds out he has fathered a child.
The young boys mum has died and he is being cared for by his auntie. This is a fantastic story with every character totally believable.
You really feel for the adorable little boy Danny especially as Beryl often writes from his point of view and you also end up falling for Dieter who everyone in the small village were Danny lives remembers him and all love him.
This is a really sweet love story but also makes you realise about post war Germany.
I really hope Beryl writes another story based on these characters because the story ends with a lot more to tell.
Beryl Matthews at her best, if you have not read any of her books read this,I guarantee you'll want to read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put this book down, 13 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Paperback)
This book was one of those where it was impossible to put it down. One day I left the book at work and I lay at night wondering about the next part!
I have read all of these authors’ books and this is the best. I hope a follow up arrives in the shops soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 16 April 2014
By 
Janet Davies (Falmouth Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Kindle Edition)
Right from the start I couldn't put it down, it was so sad in the beginning, when Danny lost his mum, but he still had his Aunty, then the family came out of the wood work thinking there was money involved, they got sorted out quick, the next move was moving away to the country.
It's lovely story, with sadness and happiness, and some moments of Why did I do that!
I hope other's enjoy the book as much as I did,
Janet Davies
Falmouth
Cornwall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting with Shadows Beryl Matthews, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this book. Have only recently started reading this authors work. Would recomend to friends and family. good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Samashing read, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed Beryl Matthews knows how to tell a story, looking for more of her books and another triligy series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy the book ..but found that it was boring in some bits..although saying that it was a great ending !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book beryl Matthews is one of my favourite authors she never disappoints I look forward to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting with shadows, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Paperback)
Only have to know the author is Beryl Matthews and I know I will enjoy the book. Would highly recommend both this book and the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Paperback)
really a very good read. a great author. hooked onto her books.
have now got collection of her books.
would recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting the Shadows, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting with Shadows (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this when it got going. Anyone who enjoys this genre will probably enjoy this book. I look forward to the nextone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighting with Shadows
Fighting with Shadows by Beryl Matthews
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews