Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, as you would expect from Metallica
I would imagine that most people interested in buying this would already know most is not all of the songs on this live CD, so i am not going to review the songs themselves.

Having seen Metallica live several times, I can say this perfectly captures Metallicas live sound including crowd participation. The sound has been polished during the mixing process, and...
Published 14 months ago by Matt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Metallica T/Shirt
In my opinion, poor quality, very thin, about what you expect for the money. Similar quality to type HMV sell.
Published 7 months ago by richard


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, as you would expect from Metallica, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would imagine that most people interested in buying this would already know most is not all of the songs on this live CD, so i am not going to review the songs themselves.

Having seen Metallica live several times, I can say this perfectly captures Metallicas live sound including crowd participation. The sound has been polished during the mixing process, and unusually for a Metallica release you can clearly hear the bass guitar in the mix. The actual performance itself has very few mistakes that I can hear.

The only critisms I can find are mic issues during "Ride the Lightning" which will probably be explained in the film but sounds weird and silly on the audio CD; Two minutes of pyrotechnics at the beginning of the song "One" which is dull on audio only; And a minute and a half of rubbish at the end of "Enter Sandman" where is sounds like the stage breaks somehow. I assume that will be explained in the film.

Also some fans maybe annoyed at the exclusion of songs such as "Sad but True", "Seek and Destroy" ,"Fade to Black" or "Blackened", but they can't keep everyone happy. There are no songs from the albums "St. Anger" or "Load", which are Metallica least good studio albums, but James does say that they are playing songs from every album.

Overall this is a fanastic performance from a fanastic band. Well worth the money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica's Greatest hits (of sorts!) but captured live., 1 Oct 2013
By 
Michael Reilly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
I understand completely what the previous reviewer means about buying deluxe versions of releases as I do the same thing myself. But bare in mind that it isn't Metallica who have claimed that the version you bought was a "deluxe" version. The one you have described in your review is exactly the same as the standard version that I own. I have seen this same issue on various online retailers where they claim that a particular cd is an "import" or 'Special Edition" etc when they are anything but. They are in fact a lot of times standard issue that have marked up prices. This is a fault of the retailers... NOT the artists. I can't vouch for any other artists, but if you go to Metallica's official site, they always give you details of different versions or formats when a new album is released. As in the case with Through The Never, on the Metallica site there is NO deluxe CD versions available. Just the standard release. You have been ripped off... but not by Metallica. Whoever sold you your copy has lied to you about what they sold you.

The sound quality of Through The Never is brilliant. The circle of energy that Metallica generate with their live audience's is captured here perfectly. A great collection of songs spanning their career. If you want to hear what a band SHOULD sound like live, buy this. I'm sure both hard core and casual Metallica fans alike will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica. Thru the Never, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Gave this CD a 5 star rating because it has all the atmosphere of a Metallica concert. I have seen them many times and memories of their concerts come flooding back when listening to it.
Also, have seen the film which was brilliant and this CD is a perfect recording of the music in the film.

If you haven't got the CD, get it.
If you've not seen the film, go and see it.
If you've not seen them live, go and see them !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Live., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
I love Metallica, especially in the live situation and always look out for live products. This 2CD set comes from their new film with live sequences. I feel that they could have included a few more tracks to fill out CDs although what we have got I am grateful for. Having the intro 'Ecstasy of the Silver & Gold' sets the scene for the band to blast into the first song. Playing is tight and sound is excellent as would be expected from a band of Metallica's standing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice (Live) Album, 2 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Nice live album, the sound it a bit so so for me as it's a little low in its pitch (however) like any Met album it will be played LOUD right so this solves this issue. Nice selection of tracks that accompany the movie (also a must see) for any fan, so overall a nice album to have if you want to have a comprehensive blast of this great GREAT band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica are amazing live so this is great to have in your CD collection but see the film first as it will help., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Have the DVD and the film is great and it is good to have this in my CD collection. Metallica are amazing live and is this so good to have so I can listen to them. Saw them on Glastonbury on TV so wanted a recent live CD to play. Suggest that you buy this but would say you need to see the film first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very loud and very proud., 10 July 2014
By 
R. D. Mayles (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
I have always been aware of Metallica but never owned any of their music. Glastonbury 2014 showed the bands power and control of solid rock. The album almost replicates the set at Glastonbury and the album has been recorded live and compares well. Not everyday listening but great to have in the cd collection. Go on treat yourself.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good live Album, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Great live album, duplicating the film, so all the favourites are played from early tracks like ride the lightning to Cyanide from death magnetic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it!, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Amazing sound quality. Metallica are on fire in this. Orion at the end just makes this worth buying. 5 star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes.....Brillant album..., 13 May 2014
By 
Barbara Mueller "Doyle179" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album, the compilations the way it is all put together, is really terrific, I am a big Metallica fan, and was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metallica Through The Never
Metallica Through The Never by Metallica (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews