Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica's Greatest hits (of sorts!) but captured live.
I understand completely what the previous reviewer means about buying deluxe versions of releases as I do the same thing myself. But bare in mind that it isn't Metallica who have claimed that the version you bought was a "deluxe" version. The one you have described in your review is exactly the same as the standard version that I own. I have seen this same issue on...
Published 9 months ago by Michael Reilly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Metallica T/Shirt
In my opinion, poor quality, very thin, about what you expect for the money. Similar quality to type HMV sell.
Published 3 months ago by richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica's Greatest hits (of sorts!) but captured live., 1 Oct 2013
By 
Michael Reilly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
I understand completely what the previous reviewer means about buying deluxe versions of releases as I do the same thing myself. But bare in mind that it isn't Metallica who have claimed that the version you bought was a "deluxe" version. The one you have described in your review is exactly the same as the standard version that I own. I have seen this same issue on various online retailers where they claim that a particular cd is an "import" or 'Special Edition" etc when they are anything but. They are in fact a lot of times standard issue that have marked up prices. This is a fault of the retailers... NOT the artists. I can't vouch for any other artists, but if you go to Metallica's official site, they always give you details of different versions or formats when a new album is released. As in the case with Through The Never, on the Metallica site there is NO deluxe CD versions available. Just the standard release. You have been ripped off... but not by Metallica. Whoever sold you your copy has lied to you about what they sold you.

The sound quality of Through The Never is brilliant. The circle of energy that Metallica generate with their live audience's is captured here perfectly. A great collection of songs spanning their career. If you want to hear what a band SHOULD sound like live, buy this. I'm sure both hard core and casual Metallica fans alike will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, as you would expect from Metallica, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would imagine that most people interested in buying this would already know most is not all of the songs on this live CD, so i am not going to review the songs themselves.

Having seen Metallica live several times, I can say this perfectly captures Metallicas live sound including crowd participation. The sound has been polished during the mixing process, and unusually for a Metallica release you can clearly hear the bass guitar in the mix. The actual performance itself has very few mistakes that I can hear.

The only critisms I can find are mic issues during "Ride the Lightning" which will probably be explained in the film but sounds weird and silly on the audio CD; Two minutes of pyrotechnics at the beginning of the song "One" which is dull on audio only; And a minute and a half of rubbish at the end of "Enter Sandman" where is sounds like the stage breaks somehow. I assume that will be explained in the film.

Also some fans maybe annoyed at the exclusion of songs such as "Sad but True", "Seek and Destroy" ,"Fade to Black" or "Blackened", but they can't keep everyone happy. There are no songs from the albums "St. Anger" or "Load", which are Metallica least good studio albums, but James does say that they are playing songs from every album.

Overall this is a fanastic performance from a fanastic band. Well worth the money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica on too form, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Metallica deliver. The song choice and sound are superb, simply the best. Only bettered by seeing them live, but you get a good sense of the drama of the shiw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Was bought for my husband as a present he cant get enough of it x he says its great x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 Dec 2013
By 
M. A. Dixon "Bellyz" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
another repeat of the same old same old, but seemed a lot softer than the zippy daze of the early eighties! & like all things eventually change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica. Thru the Never, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Gave this CD a 5 star rating because it has all the atmosphere of a Metallica concert. I have seen them many times and memories of their concerts come flooding back when listening to it.
Also, have seen the film which was brilliant and this CD is a perfect recording of the music in the film.

If you haven't got the CD, get it.
If you've not seen the film, go and see it.
If you've not seen them live, go and see them !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live album with the roughness of a live show, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Those who've seen Metallica live will really appreciate this. All the energy to make you want to start a pit...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live heavy rock, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. L. M. Hobbs (Birmingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Once again Metallica prove how good a great rock group sings live. they are always better live than on recordings. They concerts are events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
Although this is like a greatest hits from metallica it still is a great album with all the classics on which sound great live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very loud and very proud., 10 July 2014
By 
R. D. Mayles (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through The Never (Audio CD)
I have always been aware of Metallica but never owned any of their music. Glastonbury 2014 showed the bands power and control of solid rock. The album almost replicates the set at Glastonbury and the album has been recorded live and compares well. Not everyday listening but great to have in the cd collection. Go on treat yourself.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metallica Through The Never
Metallica Through The Never by Metallica (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews