Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep an open mind and ignore the reviews
I also enjoyed this film more than I expected and ended up greatly moved by it. The negative critical reviews (understandably) just looked at it as another Pirates of the Caribbean blockbuster action comedy (which is no doubt what Disney hoped for too!) and it certainly fails there. BUT if you don't expect that and keep an open mind you'll find an intriguing film that,...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. P. J. Thorne

versus
36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lone Ranger
Okay, let me begin by saying that I am a 51 year old lad who grew up with The Lone Ranger tv series starring Clayton Moore, who collected the comics and annuals of the time, who had both the Lone Ranger, Silver, Tonto and Scout toys and who even bought a vinyl album of The William Tell Overture, just because it formed the basis of The Lone Ranger. I am a fanboy and proud...
Published 6 months ago by Big D


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep an open mind and ignore the reviews, 10 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. P. J. Thorne "Patrick" (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I also enjoyed this film more than I expected and ended up greatly moved by it. The negative critical reviews (understandably) just looked at it as another Pirates of the Caribbean blockbuster action comedy (which is no doubt what Disney hoped for too!) and it certainly fails there. BUT if you don't expect that and keep an open mind you'll find an intriguing film that, if you have a soul, may get you unexpectedly with its pathos, cinematography and fantastic soundtrack juxtaposed with the bizarre and surreal. I was rather bored for the first 20 minutes but then the film totally hooked me and I was nearly in tears by the closing sequence, in a good way! I didn't expect that at all. The actual Lone Ranger character is a bit of a side issue to the film, although his child like attempt to do the right thing in a corrupt world helped bring home the hypocracy in the difference between what we say we do, and know we ought to do, and what we actually do. I downloaded the soundtrack and am now playing it incessantly while waiting the blu ray release. Beware there are two soundtracks - one music inspired by the film (not particularly special), the other the ACTUAL Zimmer soundtrack (very special) that seems to be only an expensive (20) US import in hard copy but download is around eight quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way out West, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great film to watch and I cannot wait to watch it again. It has plenty of laughs and plenty of action especially the part of the film involving the 2 trains. Forget what some critics said about the film it's worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 29 Nov 2013
By 
David Cully "David Cully" (Artane Dublin 5 Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lone Ranger [DVD] (DVD)
I just wish to give my review to help the sales of this great movie ive been hearing so many bad things about it by the critics but I must say they are all wrong this is a very good movie 5 stars ignore the bad critics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film!, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Lone Ranger [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see this film at the cinema and wasn't expecting to enjoy it because of all the bad reviews. I absolutely loved it! I downloaded the theme music straight away and now I can't wait to buy the DVD. I don't know why it worked so well but it did. It was pure escapism and entertainment and the 2 and a half hours just flew by. At the end I would quite happily have sat through it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the reviews led me to believe, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Davywavy2 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lone Ranger [DVD] (DVD)
The Lone Ranger landed in British cinemas trailing behind it bad reviews and poor word of mouth from the US like the tail of a comet, and vanished from cinemas again almost as quickly. They say that bad word of mouth can kill a film just as much as good can get it an audience, and this appears to be the case here. After doing very poor business in the US (it's expected to make a loss approaching US$150m), it had turkey written all over it.

The thing is, I can understand why The Lone Ranger did really badly in the `states and it's got less to do with it being a bad film than you might expect - in fact, there's a lot here to like. For my money the reason it did really badly in the US is because it's the most cynical blockbuster I've seen since perhaps Starship Troopers; it holds up a mirror to the creation myth of the American West and I don't reckon the US liked what it saw. From experience, asking simple questions like "Didn't lots of Indians once live in this part of the Americas? What became of them?" can go down really badly on the other side of the Atlantic, and the plot of The Lone Ranger is a retelling of what happened to the Sioux nation after gold was found in the Black Hills (only relocated to Texas and with the Cherokee as the tribe in the - literal - firing line) and, just like in real history, it doesn't end well for the Indians. At least in this version the baddies get their comeuppance.
I've got to admit to being slightly mystified as to why Disney spent the better part of a quarter of a billion dollars making a film about why the Indians are notable by their absence in those areas of US where valuable minerals were to be found given that it might be a bit of a touchy subject for much of their audience.

The Film itself is yet another origin story. It is the 1880s. Slick city lawyer goes home to Texas where his elder brother is a Ranger, elder brother is killed, slick city lawyer must take up the badge to track down his killers (who it turns out are trying to steal a fortune in silver from under land which the Cherokee have inadvisably decided they'd like to live on). A simple idea, perhaps, but it takes two and a half hours to tell the story and in so doing it meanders all over the place, ranging from downright bizarre to slow to great and back again in the process.

And in my opinion that's the big weakness; tonally it's all over the place. One minute it's an homage to Sergio Leone and Ennio Morricone, the next to John Ford, and the next to the 1950's TV series. Moreover, it never seems certain of what it wants to be. A comedy, with an amusing sidekick and performing horse? An elegy to the Indians killed in the pursuit of economic expansion? An action blockbuster crammed with thrilling set pieces? Or a grim Unforgiven-style western with supernatural and horror elements (at one point it's implied that the Lone Ranger's brother turns up as a ghost to save someone, and then he vanishes and is never mentioned in any way again). Perhaps the greatest tonal shock for a child-friendly romp is that fact that one of the villains* is clearly identified as a cannibal who cuts out one characters' heart and eats it, and is implied to have eaten another character's leg. At these moments I was staring at the screen wondering what the hell the screenwriters were thinking. And don't get me started on the deviant fetishist US Cavalry captain who is distracted at a plot-critical moment by his attraction to a prostitute with a prosthetic limb. I mean, really?

Tonal issues and bizarre creative decisions aside, when The Lone Ranger gets it right it hits it clean out of the park in a way which few blockbusters manage. Gore Verbinski (the man behind the camera of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise) really knows how to put a film together when the script allows him to do so. Take, for example, the opening shot of the big action set-piece at the end of the film:
A train filled with baddies and their hostages is pulling out of the station. As it starts to pull away a little boy leans out of one of the windows and screams for help. The camera pans across and there! On top of the hill! It's the Lone Ranger on his horse, Silver! Silver rears, the opening bars of the William Tell overture strike up, and we're off.
In that single shot there is more joy and more genuine heart than in every single dreary, self-righteous second of the washed-out, lens-flare-filled lump that was Man of Steel , and yet Man of Steel is still making money by the wheelbarrow load. It's not a fair world.

Would I recommend The Lone Ranger? Yes, I would, unequivocally. It's uneven in pace and tone, and outright bizarre in places, and yet it's also great fun and intensely likeable. Like I say above they spent in the region of $250m making it and you can tell. The look and feel of the old West is perfect and aside from a few ropy CGI shots (Note to Hollywood: we can tell. Just stop) everything looks real because much of it is real; no green-screened landscapes of rendered locomotives here; they actually built two new steam locomotives specifically for the film and went to monument valley to shoot them.
The degree of perfectionism in the look of the film is impressive in itself, it's a shame that it didn't quite carry over to the structure and the script. However, despite that criticism, The Lone Ranger is nowhere near as bad as the US reviews have made it sound (unless you're someone who doesn't like to be reminded of where all the Indians really went whilst Old Glory is flying in the background). Unusually, I'd pay money to see it again in the cinema, and that makes it only the second (after Iron Man 3) film I've seen this year I'd say that about.

*Reading this back I'm amused that I felt the need to specify that it was one of the villains who is a cannibal. It's that sort of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We thought this film excellent., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger [DVD] (DVD)
Don't view it with preconceived notion of the Clayton Moore, Jay Silverheels 'Lone Ranger' episodes, view it afresh and you will really enjoy it.
Its funny, engaging, scenery brilliant - good to know they went on location for parts of the film not just computer /studio bound!!
We have visited many of the locations used - Lone Pine, Monument Valley etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The William Tell overture, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The whole film builds towards the grand finale of trick riding and shooting to the strains of William Tell as fondly remembered from the original narrated films of the Lone Ranger. Johnny Depp masea as convincing an Indian brave as he did a South Seas pirate and a Mad Hatter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars watch it if you can!, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DVD LONE RANGER (DVD)
Heard it was just like pirates of the c.........,but they are wrong! It's better, more of a storyline, brilliant special effects, and some very funny moments, and of Johnny Depp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lone Ranger, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant story and great landscapes, very good effects.Captures the right blend of old and new.Shot with imaginaton, a good history lesson!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Ranger [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Jack Sparrow and his adventures then you will love this film. Similar character but in a different setting, brilliant!
A great film you can watch as a family with the kids, highly recomend :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3190528)

This product

The Lone Ranger [DVD]
The Lone Ranger [DVD] by Gore Verbinski (DVD - 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews