Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fiddling but going great
I was a bit unsure when I got this laptop going out of the box. Getting used to windows 8 was the first thing but after a day or two. It started to become easier so stick with it. The first issue was the unit seemed to run slow! So , first thing was to update windows 8 to v 8.1 which took a bit of time. This seemed to improve things. But still not right in my view. I then...
Published 10 months ago by Mic2002

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent laptop/hardware for the money but for Windows 8.
Spent time researching laptops, this came out best after the Amazon discount. Sadly did not consider the mess that is Windows 8, or 8.1 once its is upgraded. The new Metro interface is an abortion, only made usable by third party application that enable you to avoid its use. Try 'Classic Start Menu - a flexible start menu that can mimic the menu behavior of Windows 2000,...
Published 9 months ago by playswithchickens


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fiddling but going great, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
I was a bit unsure when I got this laptop going out of the box. Getting used to windows 8 was the first thing but after a day or two. It started to become easier so stick with it. The first issue was the unit seemed to run slow! So , first thing was to update windows 8 to v 8.1 which took a bit of time. This seemed to improve things. But still not right in my view. I then removed mc afee ( windows 8 has windows defender included which is free) . This made a big difference performance wise. Next I used the intel update manager to update drivers, especially the wireless driver. This brought the broadband use right up to where it should be. So now everything going fine. The touchscreen needs a bit of getting used to and responds well, but no where near an ipad.
So all in all good laptop for the price. But be prepared for some tweaking to get it really going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good notebook, 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
Great laptop, nice and easy to use, only downside that I didn't know or was written up is that the core i3 model doesn't come with a CD/DVD ROM drive, no big deal to me but others may find this as big downside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars asus, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
. Have found it easy to adjust to the new format that my old laptop had and I am 78 years old. All in all very pleased with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
Absolutely fantastic, 100% recommended to anyone who is looking for a high spec laptop. Very well designed and great build quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good choice, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
I needed a replacement for my six year old Acer and this one was recommended by my son but when he was setting it up for me even he was surprised at the value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality notebook for student, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
W8 is a different (better) experience on a touchscreen machine. The 8.1 update takes ages on a rural connection.

Big 1TB HDD. Doesn't have a internal DVD drive but it is much cheaper to use an USB one on the rare occasion it is needed than pay for a similar spec with a DVD. Also is more flexible as can link up a bluray if needed.

Overall excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laptop and giant tablet for the price of a tablet, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
Well made with aluminium top makes it feel rugged, touch screen gives introduction to all the features of windows 8.
Its a tablet with huge storage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
it is thin like i wanted,move quickly,very nice item.The touch screen is also nice. A little bit difficult to pass from old system to touch screen...but nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this little laptop, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
bought this as a quick replacement for my old laptop which one of my cats was sick over and I lost the keyboard, although my other laptop was top of the range Samsung and this is budget range on performance i have to say this is far better, it's speedy, boots up really quickly my other one took an age to boot up, and for my needs it's perfect, although a DVD drive would have been good, I bought one when I bought this machine and works ok although I haven't tried playing movies, just loading software I needed to and putting my fav music on here. , only downside for me is it doesn't have enough usb ports but a usb hub solved that problem, but all in all a good budget laptop would highly recommend to anyone looking for a budget touch screen laptop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied customers, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus V550CA-CJ104H 15.6-inch Touchscreen Notebook (Intel Corei3-2365U 1.4GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400rpm, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Integrated Webcam, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
This was an impulse buy for my wife as a Christmas gift because she had talked about getting her own computer sometime. I bought it in the Amazon Black Friday sale where you have to be quick if you think the item is popular and might sell out quickly, but the upside is a very keen price.

I must say I have been very impressed with this machine in all respects. My wife is not an accomplished computer-user, and has little interest in technology, but she does use an iPhone for email and social media. The brilliant thing about this computer is the excellent touchscreen which is the interface with which she is now familiar having used the iPhone for a number of months. Windows 8 is very different, but to me it's fun to have a challenge, and Mrs is more or less learning from scratch anyway. So far, thankfully, she seems to like her new box of tricks.

The computer is well designed, slim and very lightweight. It's fast and the 1 Terabyte drive should last a few years. Rachel commented that there's no CD/DVD ROM drive which is true, but for various reasons this is the trend nowadays and it's a simple matter to connect an external drive via USB. Mark reported problems with the touchpad but I have to say that I've not experienced this.

Overall a very competent machine which appeals to novice (Mrs) and more experienced user (self) alike. After three weeks' use I'm happy to recommend and award five stars. If we experience longer-term problems I'll re-post and let you know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews