Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prologue To Whet One's Appetite
If this short story is a sneak preview and foretaste of Adrian Goodheart's challenges to come, then Dean Koontz's Innocence is even more anticipated. The contents of this interesting offering reveal Adrian as accepting he is different in appearance, but in what way, and is the wilderness in his heart as well as in his surroundings? Cannot wait for the elaboration to begin.
Published 13 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An extended prologue
This feels more like an extended prologue to Innocence rather than a novella in its own right. One cannot of course assume how Innocence will start and to what degree Addison Goodheart's past is explored over the forthcoming novel. So enjoy it for what it is - a brief introduction to Addison and the peril he faces when 8 yrs old. Some of Dean's narrative trickery will be...
Published 13 months ago by Gazzoowazzoo


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prologue To Whet One's Appetite, 4 Nov 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
If this short story is a sneak preview and foretaste of Adrian Goodheart's challenges to come, then Dean Koontz's Innocence is even more anticipated. The contents of this interesting offering reveal Adrian as accepting he is different in appearance, but in what way, and is the wilderness in his heart as well as in his surroundings? Cannot wait for the elaboration to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A walk on the wild side, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This preview, which is what it is, in the guise of a short story is a fab little piece of writing. While it is fairly self contained I can also see what a great companion piece it will be for the forth-coming novel Innocence. I doubt not reading this will effect your enjoyment of the novel, but this little teaser will certainly whet your appetite.
I decided to read this after a long hiatus from Koontz's novels, having been an avid fan about 10 years ago, and what I was reminded of straight away was how brilliantly he sets up a mystery and how delicately he can ramp up the tension. Like any writer of his longevity and calibre, novel writing must take on a slightly production line-esque quality, yet this short story still felt as fresh and vivid as the opening of Lightening, the first of his books to really hook me in.
Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great little prequel, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great little prequel to Dean Koontz's Innocence. It's a fairly self contained little story.

Addison was born different, his mother could hardly care to be around him and he spent most of his time living in the wilderness outside. He's only eight years old, but find himself trying to run away from a hunter. It's the story on the start in life he's had and his views on how he looks and how people react when they see him.

It's very sad to read about a child being treated like that by his mother, and the hunter and possibly other people he may come across in his life.

At only 32 pages, it's very short, mealy an introduction to help to get to know Addison. In my opinion it's worth reading before you read Innocence, but as I've not read Innocence yet, that opinion may change.

It's only cheap, pick it up and give it a quick read, it won't hurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story to be unfolded, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is a mystery to be continued. We never are told what exactly makes this 8 year old boy so repulsive that even his mother rejects his presence in her home from time to time, banishing him to the wild and leaving food outside for him. Who is the man hunting him, and why?
This is such an unusual story that it invites the reader to buy the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An extended prologue, 31 Oct 2013
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This feels more like an extended prologue to Innocence rather than a novella in its own right. One cannot of course assume how Innocence will start and to what degree Addison Goodheart's past is explored over the forthcoming novel. So enjoy it for what it is - a brief introduction to Addison and the peril he faces when 8 yrs old. Some of Dean's narrative trickery will be immediately familiar to his fan base.
Anyway, there's enough here to whet your appetite for Innocence. It's only 99p so go on buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it for what it is, 3 Nov 2013
By 
AJ (london, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this novella to fans of Dean Koontz who cannot wait for Innocence in December 2013. Brilliant writing once again by Dean Koontz. It is a reminder why he gets you hooked on a book. Why you can't put it down! If you are anything like me, you will read it in one sitting. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait for Innocence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A magnificent little add-on to Innocence, giving a more in depth peek at Addison's childhood. Wonderfully written, akin to poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great, if short, Koonz book!, 6 Dec 2014
By 
Ms. Gillian Dix "Gilly" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This short story appears to be a prelude to another Koonz book which is next on my list to purchase! I found myself wondering if people are really this cruel and I decided that, yes they are! I love Dean Koontz books and this was no exception. It was a good read but far to short. I can't wait to read the next one which I think is called Innocence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ... read it but sure it going to be a great, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
have started to read it but sure it going to be a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wilderness, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilderness: A short story (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Dean Koontz is very good at building the suspense in a story. This was negated by telling us what happened to the character in later life, whilst still hiding from the villain !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews