Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blitzkrieg, by Len Deighton
I have been a Len Deighton fan for many years, and as well as his spy stories, I have been fascinated by his 20th Century Histories, which have clearly informed them. Blitzkrieg however was one book which had passed me by, so I was delighted to see it on offer, second hand, on Amazon.

Deighton's research and analytical skills are hugely impressive, but what...
Published on 20 April 2012 by Sturry1

versus
3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars War Books
Blitzkrieg 1939-41: IWM Second World War Experience v. 1

I find Deighton's style a bit impersonal, just presenting facts and not too much opinion.
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by jim foster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blitzkrieg, by Len Deighton, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a Len Deighton fan for many years, and as well as his spy stories, I have been fascinated by his 20th Century Histories, which have clearly informed them. Blitzkrieg however was one book which had passed me by, so I was delighted to see it on offer, second hand, on Amazon.

Deighton's research and analytical skills are hugely impressive, but what brings this book alive are his novelist skills in integrating the "back story" of the events leading up to Dunkirk with the origins, thinking, approach and often stupidity, of all the sides involved in this conflict. Strongly recommended, particularly for those involved in implementing the current flawed defence review, and the procurement of armaments, whose approach, seems at times, to be harking back to the 1930s.

If the idea of "raw history" does not attract, then I recommend you try his wartime books such as Bomber, Goodbye Mickey Mouse, SS GB, and above all, Winter. Without realising it, you will learn a lot about 20th century history, whilst being swept along by the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How you should want your history written, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many moons ago as an O level student, studying modern history, I liked the subject, (1919 to the present day) but thought the books often stuffy.

Deighton as an excellent novelist manages to combine good research with a good narrative. An excellent read which transfers knowledge, almost without you knowing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent straight history of the Rise of Hitler to the Fall of Dunkirk, 3 July 2013
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Deighton is known for his well-researched thrillers/spy novels, but this is one of his several straight history books - and it is very good. As the subtitle states, it is from the Rise of Hitler (in fact, from 1918) to the Fall of Dunkirk: 90 pages on Hitler and his army, 50 on the early war in general, 100 pages on Blitzkrieg: weapons and methods (illustrated with Denis Bishop's excellent line drawings of planes, tanks, AA guns, tactics), 90 pages on the Battle for the River Meuse, and finally 30 pages on 'the flawed victory'. Plus a bibliography, and an index.
What I like about this book is the excellent crsip overview, coupled to some excellent detail on weapons, tactics etcetera; Deighton's interpretations (clearly separated from the bare facts), his insights, and his topnotch research. He was helped by Walter Nehring, chief of staff to Guderian during the dash to the channel.
I do like all of Deighton's history books, but this one and Blood, Tears and Folly: An Objective Look at World War II are his very best.
Five full stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot go wrong, 16 Oct 2012
By 
Jon John (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book many years ago but it got mislaid after reading. Purchased a reprint via Amazon and it was a pleasure to read again. From a renowned author, factual and tells you how it was - a brilliant read, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blitzkrieg: From the Rise of Hitler to the Fall of Dunkirk (Kindle Edition)
It seems that the publisher has chosen not to include the back cover which partly defeats the cover designer's note/introduction!
One star deducted for this apparent oversight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars War Books, 31 Dec 2009
Blitzkrieg 1939-41: IWM Second World War Experience v. 1

I find Deighton's style a bit impersonal, just presenting facts and not too much opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews