Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars48
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2004
Ahh, check out this album if you like classic English pop music. McLagan's keyboards, Marriot's vocals and guitar playing, Ronnie Lane's bass, oh and although he never cut it with The Who, Jones drumming fits perfectly. Humour, psychedelia, storylines. God bless 'em. One of the UK's most underrated bands - I don't think so. The Small faces kicked ass. Listen to them and you'll forget all about the pompous nonsense that became the Stones and Beatles. I just wish I had been in Australia in 1968...
If I could meet anyone at all it would have to be Rene!!!! I bet she has a few stories to tell. Mods forever...
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
The Amazon product description for this reissue says that Mac and Kenney Jones, the surviving group members, oversaw its remastering, which led me to believe that this would finally be mastered from the long-promised original session tapes. This sounds no better than the five other versions of this great CD that I already own. What's the point?
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
Got it a tenner cheaper elsewhere - glad it's been released in the UK again. Mono. Vinyl. None of this digital nonsense, and the only way to really appreciate Ogdens - as nature and it's creators intended it to be experienced. Well worth the wait. Delivered REALLY fast too. Very happy (....days toy town)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
There cannot be many pop music inclined people left on the planet who haven't heard of this lp,suffice to say that Steve Marriott was at the top of his game vocally and song writing wise.A brilliant mix of soulful rock,tongue in cheek psychedelia & cockney music hall inspired humour,there was nothing like this before or since,and Steve Marriott was the real deal,a geniune East Ender at a time when that meant something culturally.Add the brilliantly twisted wordplay of the great Stanley Unwin and you have a unique recording.A top notch album that will make you laugh as well.Have a deepy joyload one and always,stay cool and dangly won't you.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
This for me is one of the great albums of our time right up there with the Beatles revolver and the Zombies odessey and oracle.If you love your music you need to own this album. Apart from the well known hit Lazy Sunday i love the tracks Rene and Mad John. Ive just bought the vinyl reissue fantastic
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2000
The Small Faces at their best. Marriott's singing, Lane's base, Maclagen's organ and Jones' drumming are all spot on. Just close your eyes and listen to the (instrumental) title track. You'll know exactly what it's about, and that's rare.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
An album of two halves, but both brilliant.
First half highlight is 'Rene' the Dockers delight and the 2nd side which had a charming little story read between tracks by Stanley Unwin. 2nd half highlight 'Lazy Sunday'.
Amazing album!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
very well packed and fast delivery; very happy with the quality of the record. It is great to handle vinyl and the remastering is super. very pleased!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2004
Pre-dating Tommy by a good year, Ogden's is generally regarded as the first ever concept album. And this from a bunch of East End Herberts previously only known for their distinctive brand of two minute blue eyed soul.
The songs on show are some of the best recorded by the band, from the opening pyschedelic oomph of the title track, through to the cockney singalong of closing tune Happy Days Toy Town, this lp is joyously uplifting, seriously groovy, and not a little barking too.
Two of my favourite Faces tunes are onboard - Afterglow is one of Stevie's best vocal performances ever, and Ronnie himself once referred to Song of a Baker as his "finest hour".
Stanley Unwin's gobbledegook narrative on the B side is a little irritating after umpteen playings, and the same goes for Lazy Sunday, but all in all, this is a fabulous slice of late sixties rock.
And they looked fantastic too...!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
The sound quality is up there with the best, it is good to have a reissue in mono and the work done by the producer and sound engineer is exceptional.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)