Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and bizarre
I am an avid fan of Count Arthur Strong, and have seen him many times live. His humour is off the wall / old buffer style. He is best when recalling his days in show biz along with his memories of has been artistes like Jimmy Clitheroe and Pete Murray.I am pleased he is being more appreciated by exposure on the radio. This cd is a good flavour of Arthur, and I agree there...
Published on 19 Dec 2007 by R. Malpas

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should not have taken notice of the other reviews
This is the most unfunny set of CDs I have listen to in a long time. I purchased it after reading the number of good reviews but should have taken notice of the one who said this is not everyone's taste. I thought it would have Eden more factual comedy ie after dinner speaking.
I can not suggest who would find any of this funny but some must.
Published 8 months ago by Mr. R. Reed


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and bizarre, 19 Dec 2007
By 
R. Malpas (Vale of Belvoir Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am an avid fan of Count Arthur Strong, and have seen him many times live. His humour is off the wall / old buffer style. He is best when recalling his days in show biz along with his memories of has been artistes like Jimmy Clitheroe and Pete Murray.I am pleased he is being more appreciated by exposure on the radio. This cd is a good flavour of Arthur, and I agree there are good and not so good bits on it. For an addict like me it is great to hear him any time and even find myself using his catch phrases! A very enjoyable cd. If you like this one visit the Count Arthur Strong website where the forgotten Egypt cd is the funniest one of all. Even better see him live as the visual is hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top-drawer British Comedy at its Creative Best, 30 Dec 2008
By 
Irish Critic (Leopardstown, Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
Steve Delaney is one phenomenally talented comedy actor. Radio 4 is already known for the high quality of its comedy output, but this material is their "Crème de la Crème". Count Arthur Strong (Delaney) is the middle-aged, fumbling, penny-pinching master of the malapropism. The convincing Yorkshire accent and skilfully affected speech impediment are superb - as is Delaney's small pool of supporting actors. This particular style of humour is not everyone's cup of tea, but I find it side-splittingly funny.

There are 6 episodes in a series, each episode being 28 minutes long as the crow flies. It's all recorded before a live audience. Each malapropism is hilarious enough in its own right, and there are literally scores in each episode. But almost as funny again is the Count's desperate flustering to recall the CORRECT word each time. The delivery and timing of the gags are what make this a true masterpiece of radio comedy. So if you're a fan of malapropisms and verbal screw-ups in general, order your copy without further adieu!

COMMENTS SPECIFIC TO SERIES ONE:
Like all good public speakers, Count Strong is rimming with confidence and he always breathes from the Diaspora - especially when addressing the Women's Destitute. Oh yes, he's been there done that and bought the ropes. He pays his TV Licence on the infrared, regularly consults the Citizens Arrest Bureau and even talks about sailing around the Cape of Good Fear. If you've got an altitude problem, Arthur will soon give you your mooching orders. He's careful to avoid static electricity though, as it makes him light up like a Christmas cracker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Health Warning: Your Sides May Split, 17 July 2006
By 
Steve (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a 3 CD set of six broadcasts Count Arthur Strong made in front of a live audience at Komedia, Brighton, which were subsequently broadcast on Radio 4. Like many people, I came across the Count by accident, listening to one of these broadcasts.

It is a little difficult to actually describe Arthur's style. Well past his prime as an Entertainer, he still succeeds in amusing by his penchant for picking not quite the right word- `I am a celibate-err- celebrity-Oh Heck!'. His regular, strangely compelling, visits to the local butchers were caught live, as was his celebrated talk to the Women's Institute, preceded by a little confusion with the taxi driver regarding the pickup time. There was also some confusion regarding exactly what play (The Cherry Orchard?) was being rehearsed for a BBC broadcast, but that turns out to have been a dream. Or was it?? In fact, there's an awful lot of confusion about, not least regarding Arthur's call to the helpline regarding his toaster, which seems to have an instruction booklet for a video recorder.. And then there's the incident with the man from the Television Licensing Department (`Watch that light!' cries Arthur, too late)...

Not all six episodes are equally funny, but they are all deeply entertaining. Somehow I kept wondering if Count Arthur was the secret love child of Alan Partridge and Margaret Thatcher, but that can't be true, oh no.

Do buy this modestly priced set; it will help the Count continue making his piccalilli in these, his twilight years.

Bizarrely, Amazon have categorised this CD set under `Popular Music', not `Books/Audiobooks' which is surely its proper home. But then again, maybe Count Arthur had a say in the matter...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably Underrated....., 9 Aug 2006
By 
Stephen Wright "Steve" (Gravesend, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I get started properly I would just like to echo Steve's comments below. I too stumbled across this show by accident on BBC Radio 4 and was immediately captivated by both the character, (a has-been D-list 'celebrity' full of his own self-importance), and his bumbling (bungling?) delivery that makes you wince whenever you hear it, yet at the same time draws you in. The sequence where he is trying to get access to a building through an electronic door entry system for example is hilarious, as is Arthur using the customer helpline of a domestic appliance manufacturer when he needs assistance in trying to operate his new 'toaster'.

Count Arthur is one of those people who has never heard the phrase 'When you find yourself in a hole, stop digging', although even if he had heard it, he would always misquote it anyway.

A cross between a male Hylda Baker and David Brent from 'The Office', Count Arthur Strong is well worth purchasing, especially if you are into the Harry Hill (or even Harry Worth) style of comedy. As Steve also said in his review, some episodes are better than others, (as they are in any comedy series), but the good ones are so good, this alone makes it a must-have as far as I'm concerned.

I don't understand why the Beeb didn't put this out themselves, but well done Gott Discs.....

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant creation!, 9 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best thing about Count Arthur is that I can relisten to these cds again and again, and still find them amusing. Can't really say that about any other comedian that I can think of off the top of my head. I listen to Count Arthur frequently when I'm feeling down and he never fails to bring me back up again. Absolutely brilliant! Thank you 'Count Arthur'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Count's Best, 16 Jan 2008
By 
M. D. Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolutely hilarious trip into the wandering mind of Count Arthur Strong, showbiz legend. This CD contains the complete first series, which is probably the best, and features such classics as the confused Count dealing with an automated helpline, an audition for James Bond and his own unique take on Ready Steady Cook. The second series was a bit patchy (although the third series, currently running on Radio 4, has been better so far), but this is comedy gold. I can't wait to see him live next time he tours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Count Arthur Strong.Philosopher & Guru, 29 Jan 2008
Some may find this hilariously funny, but there is a growing movement of people who believe that the Count is one of Britains finest intellectual minds.Those of you who have been lucky enough to hear his interpretation of the Nativity Story (to the Scouts) will understand the true meaning of Christmas. Listen to this CD with "Blue SkY" thinking and you'll see that the Count has much to tell us about the human condition at its profoundest level.Oh and his Falafal reciepe is very handy as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slithering giberate, 11 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'The count' really seems to divide people into love or loathe camps, so you really shouldn't buy this unless you've heard him and fall into the former category. It's hard to pin down exactly why he is so funny, and like the original Radio 4 version or of 'League of Gentlemen' or 'I'm sorry I haven't a clue', you'll either 'get it' or you won't. Personally, he makes me laugh like a slithering giberate, blithering sibarate, erm, simpering celebate, oh, sod it ! you know what I mean!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just another five out of five., 1 May 2009
By 
It seems that everyone who writes a review of Count Arthur Strongs radio show says that they first heard it by accident. Well so did I, and it's the best bit of luck I've had regarding a comedy program. There's really nothing more I can add to what has already been said so I'll just give it a five out of five rating and say 'buy it' it's absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comedy 'Tour de France', 20 Nov 2007
I really would never have written a review of Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show if it hadn't been for the 'review' that, 'i wrote this "I did"' posted, entitled, 'comedy for really old people'. For a start what's wrong with that as a concept? Anyway, frankly, it's entirely innaccurate in this case. I've been to two recordings of this show and the cross section of the audience at them both has been anything but 'elderly'. (whatever that is?) I'd say that the 30 somethings were the majority. But there were teenagers there, as well as a few of the older comedy going bewildered. Feel free to review, but don't patronise. And base your reviews on what you know to be true, not glib asides. Long live Count Arthur
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews