Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars51
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 10 March 2008
I don't really understand why there have been complaints about this show. Some people will just moan about anything, especially those that just don't 'get it' straight away. And there will always be those that don't, in the same way as some didn't get Monty Python or Rowan and Martin's Laugh-In in the beginning.
Although the character Count Arthur Strong portrays a doddering gentleman probably in his late 60's, (You can almost imagine that this is the sort of character that Harry Worth would have ended up morphing into in his shows thirty years on), I would guess that Steve Delaney is possibly only in his late thirties. But that is only a guess, such is his ability to portray this aging character so well.
The living legend that is Count Arthur Strong stumbles from one crisis to another dragging down everyone else with him within a half-mile radius, leaving chaos and pandemonium (a small keyboard instrument with pedals, according to the Count) in his wake. The well written scripts are very funny, and have many 'laugh out loud' moments, so much so that on several occasions I have had to flip back to listen again to some gags I missed due to still laughing over the previous one.
Series two is of course more of the same where series one left off, and although you could start with this set and subsequently purchase series one, you can hear how the character has developed over time. I love the way his voice changes inflection when he is talking to, then subsequently arguing with himself over something or other. The scripts are written and performed by the man himself, and I for one will be first in the queue for series three. Episode three in series two also includes a guest appearance from Barry Cryer, no less.
If you have heard a little of the Count before, buy this set of discs, you won't be disappointed. If you haven't heard any of the Count before and are partial to a little off the wall comedy, then buy this set of discs, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
I susspose you could say this reknowned celery is a legend in his own lunchtime.

Fantastic 3rd series just finished on Radio 4. Glad to see the 2nd is out on cd - it's a must buy.

Tatty bye...
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
Steve Delaney is one phenomenally talented comedy actor. Radio 4 is already known for the high quality of its comedy output, but this material is their "Crème de la Crème". Count Arthur Strong (Delaney) is the middle-aged, fumbling, penny-pinching master of the malapropism. The convincing Yorkshire accent and skilfully affected speech impediment are superb - as is Delaney's small pool of supporting actors. This particular style of humour is not everyone's cup of tea, but I find it side-splittingly funny.

There are 6 episodes in a series, each episode being 28 minutes long as the crow flies. It's all recorded before a live audience. Each malapropism is hilarious enough in its own right, and there are literally scores in each episode. But almost as funny again is the Count's desperate flustering to recall the CORRECT word each time. The delivery and timing of the gags are what make this a true masterpiece of radio comedy. So if you're a fan of malapropisms and verbal screw-ups in general, order your copy without further adieu!

COMMENTS SPECIFIC TO SERIES TWO:
Many people have written autobiographies about Arthur Strong. Although he mixes with people from Oxford or Camshaft, he doesn't expect anyone to stand on celery. In his professional cavity, the Count gives motivational talks to rooms full of empty people, often employing Reverse Psychosis - a technique he learnt from a Chinese philosopher named Confusion. Arthur believes supermarkets should have celebrity aisles so VIPs don't have to rub soldiers with the pepperoni. Mad men give lunatics a bad name, and that's why head-cases are stigmatised...the bloody idiots!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2008
We've just been to see Count Arthur Strong live and he is every bit as hilarious on stage as he is on radio. It must only be a matter of time before Count Arthur Strong's Television Show. The Radio 4 series has just ended (boo), in the meantime listen to series one and two on CD. There is not a single unfunny episode. Guaranteed to make the sun shine!!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2009
Be warned - the over 60's could come over 'quite peculiar' from laughing so much. I've got all three series, but am holding some back for our next trip away. Even my grandchildren find them hilarious.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2008
if and when a funnier performer than the great
count arthur appears then i will make a large amount of my home made piccawilly and bathe in it
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
I bought this for my Dad - he loves the Count's radio show, but only got into it a few series in after chancing upon it. I bought him the first two series on CD, and he listens to them all the time (Sunday is Count Arthur day for him) - so all of his birthdays, Christmases and Father's Days are sorted for a while to come! The only drawback is that he keeps on talking to me in Count-isms (eg saying Ilfracombe instead of Internet) assuming that I understand them all, which i don't, because I've never listened to it... But the joy in his voice when he talks about Count Arthur is obvious, and I love to listen to him recounting the stories to me. Wonderful stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
Simply brilliant, old style radio comedy with new gags. Younger kids may not get it's malapropism, spoonerisms and other 'isms', but it is the sheer quality of writing and the depth of character that make the count so believable and comical. As a motivational speaker he is quite unique! I've since got series three and he keeps getting better and better. He leads quite an ordinary yet extraordinary life, I can't eat cheese now without thinking of the side effects for the poor man!

As others have said 'please be careful when driving or operating heavy machinery' for each of the six 28 and an half minute episodes. You will laugh. Be warned.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
I think that Count Arthur Strong is the funniest thing I have heard on radio for a long, long time. My one reservation is this- that in these days of "Political correctness" it's difficult for new, young comedians to find anyone to safely laugh at, and the elderly are one of the few groups which are still a fair target, apparently.

Leaving all that aside, I can honestly say that I haven't laughed quite so much for a long, long time. And if you disagree, i must inform you that you will shortly be receiving a strongly worded letter from my legal representatives. Good day to you! - and mind your head on that light fitting.....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
If you love quirky, beautifully observed comedy done with warmth and eccentricity (think Harry Hill and John Shuttleworth - but even funnier!) then you will love Count Arthur. He is Doncaster's leading theatrical figure and showbiz legend - at least in his own humble opinion. Each episode of his radio show gives a typical day in the life of this bumbling, irascible egotist - you will be drawn into his loopy world and not want to leave. Quite unique. Comic genius!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.