Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashes pre-conceptions.
This is the first autobiography that i have ever read, and was a bit wary when i chose this one. I thought i knew what 'type' of person smuggled drugs, and was expecting the book to be all excuses on Sandra's part. It was not. Once i started this book i could not put it down. An absolutely amazing story which perfectly represents her honesty, courage and strength. She...
Published on 18 Sep 2003

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paradise lost, Paradise gained
I once read that `...all the unhappiness of men stems from one thing only: that he is incapable of staying quietly in his room.' For some reason this book made me think of this quote.

It is a harrowing, eye-popping account of prison life in both the UK and Thailand - am still undecided which system is worse - and she narrates her experiences frankly, factually...
Published 15 months ago by Gurjit


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashes pre-conceptions., 18 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This is the first autobiography that i have ever read, and was a bit wary when i chose this one. I thought i knew what 'type' of person smuggled drugs, and was expecting the book to be all excuses on Sandra's part. It was not. Once i started this book i could not put it down. An absolutely amazing story which perfectly represents her honesty, courage and strength. She doesnt makes excuses for her crime, just attempts to explain why she did it. The horrors reported in the Bankok jail are horrendous, and the British system and prison fairs little better when on paper. But such tales are not written in an attempt to make the reader pity Sandra for her crime. Sandra's strength is amazing and comes across perfectly in this book- she doesn't ask the reader to pity her, and never attacks the country in which she was caught. A truly great read that i would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into life on the inside in Bankok & Britain, 8 Sep 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book make excellent reading, not least because the author Sandra Gregory, never denies that she did wrong, or that she deserved to be punished for her crimes (drug smuggling). It is interesting to read an account by someone who doesn't believe she was wrongly imprisoned as son many books about prison are about people who the wrter believes shouldn't be there for one reason or another. I believe it takes a huge amount of courage, whatever we have done, to stand up and say "yes I did do that, and yes I was wrong and I regrett it, and I deserve to be punished " How many of us can do that? She eventually received a Royal pardon from the King of Thialand, but she herself says she only asked for a pardon, she never said she deserved one...that was for others to decide. She gives a very straightforward account of prison life both on Thialand and in Britain. Both stretched her to her very limits in different ways and for different reasons. Conditions and overcrowding in the Thai jail were appaling, but as she says at least prisoners were free to wander around the prison. In Britain living conditions were much better, but being locked up for most of the day and lack of uncertainty about how to act or what was happening made her stay in Britains prisons equally difficult. Incidentally this is one of my Kellogs books - hope the other prove to be just as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey of Redemption, 10 July 2002
I thought I knew this story already from press coverage but Forget You Had A Daughter is an astonishing insight into the reality of the life of a girl who made a horrendous mistake but is not a criminal. She committed a criminal act but her biggest crime was stupidity. It is an emotional ride, from the first chapter, when the reader is pulled in and shares her nightmare experience, until the last chapter where she is finally reconciled with her family who fought tooth and nail to see justice done. I found myself crying. This book is not about self pity, Sandra Gregory knows she committed a crime, she knows she deserved punishment but acknowledges the sentence was a little too hard. Gregory does not want pity, she has recounted her painful experience in order that no one else will go through such a harrowing and traumatic journey. Read this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to make you think, 26 Aug 2003
Contrary to what Ally from London said in her review, I found that I liked Sandra Gregory, I think she is open and honest and a bit of an adventure seeker. Of course she felt sorry for herself, who wouldn't in her situation? Drug trafficking must be taken seriously and a fitting punishment given, but it wasn't as if she were one of the big drug barons who make millions out of the trade. To me it is them that should receive massive sentences. She was only trying to make enough money to get home, therefore carrying such a small amount of heroin for someone's personal use. Obviously a ridiculous thing to do and so easy to say in hindsight. I really enjoyed the book, well written and plenty of detail. A good insight in to the harsher realities of life, and hopefully would put anyone off doing the same thing. Good Luch Sandra, I wish you all the best for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget You Had a Daughter, Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton, 20 July 2003
By 
Pippa Yearn (Macclesfield, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The best book i've read in a long time. A shocking account of Sandra's enormous mistake to carry drugs out of thailand, she accepts her guilt but is dealt a horrific sentence of 25 years. Her everyday prison life is portrayed in graphic detail both in Thailand and the UK. Excellent!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget your preconceptions!, 10 July 2002
By A Customer
Even before reading the first page I was overwhelmed by what an incredibly difficult book this must have been to write - how to tell the story but not sound as if you were justifying your actions. Sandra Gregory describes and explains her experiences with such clarity and honesty that it is an emotional read; not in the sense of tears, in that you feel you are living the experience, you're in the Bangkok Hilton - and you only leave when you close the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reader from Melbourne Australia, 16 Oct 2005
A wonderful open account of Sandras experiences written with a lot of courage.Sandra never once makes excuses for her situation.The book totally changed my own attitudes.....nothing is always black and white and the punishment doesnt always fit the crime.Shows the wonderful human spirit to survive under such conditions and the unfaulting love and support of her family even when told to "forget her" Loved the book ,great recommendation for parents to give to their children who are contemplating that overseas working holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paradise lost, Paradise gained, 11 April 2013
By 
I once read that `...all the unhappiness of men stems from one thing only: that he is incapable of staying quietly in his room.' For some reason this book made me think of this quote.

It is a harrowing, eye-popping account of prison life in both the UK and Thailand - am still undecided which system is worse - and she narrates her experiences frankly, factually and without too much sentiment.

One of the biggest tortures it seems was all the waiting she had to endure, all the uncertainty and limbo relating to her case and in particular, her sentence. It wasn't hell so much as purgatory, which then became hell.

It is a truly original tale but sadly an all too conceivable one. And for me that is where the true horror lies. Sandra Gregory was not the first to be caught smuggling drugs and will certainly not be the last. Whether or not they are as 'lucky' as her remains to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgetable!! Amazing book!!, 26 July 2007
Really amazing book- completely couldn't put it down! Fascinating comparsion of life in a Thai prision to life in a British prison.
While you are reading it you can't believe she is going through such a life- and makes you extremely glad that it isn't you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget you have a daughter, 17 Sep 2004
This book was so difficult to put down each page written gave me the interest to turn to the next page. I truly enjoyed this book. The book is very graffic, but compelling at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews