Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and timely book
Bomb Girls records the stories of nine women who, as young girls, worked in the dispersed Royal Ordnance Factories during the Second World War. Their job was to make the bombs, bullets and other lethal weapons to defeat the Germans, Italians and Japanese in the Second World War. It was an extraordinarily dangerous occupation. The chemicals and explosives were injurious to...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Stephen Greensted

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very interesti g
Very interesting, helped me to expand my knowledge of recent history
Published 18 days ago by J. Rushbrooke


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and timely book, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Greensted (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bomb Girls records the stories of nine women who, as young girls, worked in the dispersed Royal Ordnance Factories during the Second World War. Their job was to make the bombs, bullets and other lethal weapons to defeat the Germans, Italians and Japanese in the Second World War. It was an extraordinarily dangerous occupation. The chemicals and explosives were injurious to health and explosively lethal if mishandled. The factories were dispersed around the country to reduce the risk of being bombed, and nearly all the workforce was comprised of young women, some being as young as seventeen. Many left home to do the job, often resulting in serious homesickness, but many also made lifelong friendships, and look back with pride on those years of when they made a substantial contribution to helping Britain win the war. The book contains recent interviews with nine women who are now in their late eighties and early nineties. They were definitely made of the right stuff. It is a pleasure and a privilege to read their histories, most of them having come from very simple backgrounds. It is a deep pity that their contribution to the defeat of the Axis Powers has never received official recognition, so this book will, perhaps, persuade Whitehall and the Government to honour the women whilst we still have time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nostalgic, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: Bomb Girls - Britain's Secret Army: The Munitions Women of World War II (Kindle Edition)
My Mum was so pleased to get a copy of this book especially as she is mentioned in it in Laura's story.
Gave me an insight into what the girls working in munitions went through and nice it was in their own words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book on a sadly forgotten part of WW2, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bomb Girls - Britain's Secret Army: The Munitions Women of World War II (Kindle Edition)
This book tells The stories of some of the thousands for women who worked in munitions factories in the Second World War. It starts with a few chapters giving an introduction to munitions factories, and how and where they operated, and then tells individual stories of some of the women who worked in them - the vast majority of the workers were women.
The book is very good as far as it goes. Unfortunately, for me it has two major downsides. Firstly, it is written by someone who is campaigning for recognition for the people who worked in the factories. Now I have no problem with that campaign; their contribution was not, and even now has not been, fully recognised. However, it does get a bit tiring when the campaign is mentioned for the umpteenth time.
Secondly, the individual stories become a little bit repetitive. I realise that the number of women involved who were still alive when the book was written was dwindling all the time, but they all seem to come from the same background, and their stories are all very similar. You can almost predict what is going to be said.
Having said all that, this is an important book, because it does give a voice to these women, and puts on record what they did and what they achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the book but what about the girls in the ..., 9 July 2014
By 
C. F. Dubery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bomb Girls - Britain's Secret Army: The Munitions Women of World War II (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book but what about the girls in the munitions factories in WW1? They didn't get thanked either. They earnt good money for the time, better than people in other jobs, so were far better off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very interesti g, 5 July 2014
By 
J. Rushbrooke (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bomb Girls - Britain's Secret Army: The Munitions Women of World War II (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting, helped me to expand my knowledge of recent history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lest We Forget!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bomb Girls - Britain's Secret Army: The Munitions Women of World War II (Kindle Edition)
My mother was a Bomb Girl. This book confirms everything she told me, including her feelings of being forgotten by the Nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great look into britain's history, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bomb Girls - Britain's Secret Army: The Munitions Women of World War II (Kindle Edition)
This book was absolutely outstanding, and the women who sacrificed so much during the wars should be applauded. It was a fantastic insight into British history. It was harrowing in that if you were a 20/21 year old single female, you would more than likely be sent to work in the bomb factories, and the danger of the factories was well known. It is a truly inspiring read and I would recommend it to anyone because these women should be remembered just as much as the fallen soldiers. Complete and utter heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle book, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bomb Girls - Britain's Secret Army: The Munitions Women of World War II (Kindle Edition)
This isn't the sort of book I thought it would be. It is more like non-fiction and I like a story about individual people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique experience, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bomb Girls - Britain's Secret Army: The Munitions Women of World War II (Kindle Edition)
This book is great.
I found it particulary interesting because my mother was in the orderance factory during the war.
It gives you an insight of what they put up with to enable this country to win the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bomb Girls, 5 Jun 2014
By 
D. Maris (West Yorks.,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bomb Girls - Britain's Secret Army: The Munitions Women of World War II (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book - it was one of those that I couldn't wait to get back too too continue the tale. It certainly highlights the "forgotten army" of the war and made me realize that there should perhaps be some sort of memorial at the National Arboretum to acknowledge their contribution to the war effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews