Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ....and A Merry Christmas To You Too Mary
With the festive season almost upon us we have grown accustomed to
a veritable tidal wave of releases cashing-in on our allegiances to
one artist or another. Some good; some turkeys and once in a while
one or two which turn out to be transcendent and true. Annie Lennox
did a terrific job in 2010 with 'A Christmas Cornucopia' and Ms Blige's...
Published 9 months ago by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Disappointing. Bought it mainly for the Jessie J track but that's not as good as seen on TV. Still a nice Christmas CD away from the usual artists
Published 3 months ago by Cityfan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ....and A Merry Christmas To You Too Mary, 26 Nov 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (Audio CD)
With the festive season almost upon us we have grown accustomed to
a veritable tidal wave of releases cashing-in on our allegiances to
one artist or another. Some good; some turkeys and once in a while
one or two which turn out to be transcendent and true. Annie Lennox
did a terrific job in 2010 with 'A Christmas Cornucopia' and Ms Blige's
offering, in the most different of ways, is a very precious arrival too.

Is it me or does her voice just keep getting better? In 'A Mary Christmas'
(a must for the stockings of Friends Of Miss Gale if ever there was one!)
she takes on some old war horses and with the vocal magic which only she can
muster transforms them into rich, sumptuous and soulful interpretations.

From the heart-warming opening take of 'Little Drummer Boy', a gently
snappy rhythmic foundation supporting a superb orchestral accompaniment
and perfectly focused vocal performance; through the perky and (given our
familiarity with Julie Andrews' version) somewhat surreal Broadway-ish
arrangement of 'My Favorite Things' (Mary doing Maria!....that's something
I'd really want to see!!); 'When You Wish Upon A Star', a deliriously deft duet
with Barbara Streisand and another cracking double-act, Jessie J this time,
on 'Do You Hear What I Hear?', we are never less than certain that we are in
the presence of one of the very greatest singers on Planet Earth and beyond!

There are twelve tracks on this wonderful collection and not a bad egg in the box.
Ms Blige's sublime delivery of 'Petit Papa Noel' is alone worth the price of the album.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lifted my spirit and fed my soul - Magical Christmassy album, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (Audio CD)
A must buy if you like a nice mix of traditional and contemporary Christmas songs, as a soundtrack to your Christmas preparations and celebrations.

Love all the tracks, however, Drummer Boy, The First Noel and Do You Hear What I Hear are my stand outs - but as with all Mary J Blige albums, all the tracks will just keep giving over time.

I usually ban Christmas songs until 1st of December, but could not resist playing this on it's arrival yesterday.

I hope the collaboration with Jesse J, their brilliant appearance on 'The X-Factor' and Mary's confident interview on the BBC's 'The One Show' will give Mary J Blige and the album, the UK exposure she deserves.

I am beginning to feel the real meaning of Christmas is being lost under all the early supermarket and department store advertising campaigns, but this album does more than it's fair share to rekindle the true spirit of Christmas.

Mary J Blige tip to Management: I'm looking forward to a future Deluxe edition with lyrics, videos, a message to the fans and perhaps a duet with Mariah and One Direction (for my teenage daughter).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Christmas Album, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (Audio CD)
This dropped on my doormat yesterday and I haven't stopped listening to it !! Whether you are a MJB fan or not, I am sure this will become part of anyone's classic Christmas collection. The duet with Jessie J is brilliant, but for me the best track is 'Mary did you know ?' Listen to the words, it's absolutely lovely. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone , and dare I say it, but this may be a contender for Mr Buble this year :)

If you do buy this, I hope you enjoy as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Christmas, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (Audio CD)
If you love Mary, if you love Christmas then you will love this...very seasonal and stunning.Ideal for mum for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (Audio CD)
A truly beautiful album by the talented Ms Blige would highly recomend to anyone looking to purchase a xmas album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A (VERY) Mary Christmas, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (MP3 Download)
I don't watch X-Factor etc and I'm not into the music scene. So, how did I hear of this album? From my eldest daughter who kept going on about how good it is.

So I visited Amazon and listened to the samples of the tracks and was so impressed I bought the album and I've not been disappointed. The duets are as good as the solo tracks (not always the case with these albums) and would recommend the collection to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy listening, 9 July 2014
By 
Mr. K. Seirlis "Paleo Faliro" (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (Audio CD)
pleasant quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (Audio CD)
Disappointing. Bought it mainly for the Jessie J track but that's not as good as seen on TV. Still a nice Christmas CD away from the usual artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Christmas....., 6 May 2014
By 
andi-bb (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (Audio CD)
Always been a fan of MJB, so glad she brought this album out.
Never bought a Christmas album before, great tracks/covers/collaborations.

Download & Hard Disc, like that idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Mary Christmas (Audio CD)
So different from Mary J Blige's usual music and really lovely. Very enjoyable. Hope she makes more cd's like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Mary Christmas
A Mary Christmas by Mary J. Blige (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews