Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, I'll be . . .
If Wang or Dudamel never make another recording in their lives, their reputations as engaged and communicative musicians have been made by this one. I listened to it right through and was riveted -- and, of course, it helped that the expressive worlds of the two concertos are so different. Rachmaninov's almost manic-depressive changes of tempo, melody, and rhythm within...
Published 9 months ago by Stanley Crowe

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was rather disappointed with this CD
I was rather disappointed with this CD. It received glowing comments from the Mail, which prompted me to buy it, but l felt it its content didn't live up to the hype.
Published 4 months ago by lindaR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, I'll be . . ., 15 Mar 2014
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
If Wang or Dudamel never make another recording in their lives, their reputations as engaged and communicative musicians have been made by this one. I listened to it right through and was riveted -- and, of course, it helped that the expressive worlds of the two concertos are so different. Rachmaninov's almost manic-depressive changes of tempo, melody, and rhythm within the movements gave one a sense of how the formality of the classical concerto had been broken up. Expressive resources are not divided up by movement but within and through the movements are marshaled to create a kind of narrative that the soloist and orchestra have to guide our ears through. They succeed here because Wang and the orchestra seem highly responsive to one another, and Wang wonderfully submerges herself at times as part of the orchestral texture, so that when she surfaces, so to speak, the movement seems totally natural and part of an integrated progression. This was a live performance, and the sheer dexterity of the pianism is outstanding, and her ability to command the utmost delicacy, occasional humor, and the big splashy moments is quite amazing, especially when the sense of the integrity of the whole is preserved. For all that, almost my favorite part was the orchestral introduction to the second movement -- Dudamel and the orchestra play this with gripping expression, and it sets up the solo entrance marvelously. Just a great account.

Same with Prokofiev's Second. I see this as a creepy nocturne -- it's expressively less rich, the piano is deployed more percussively more often, and the sense of darkness and fear are never far away. The third movement wavers between a march and a dance, creepily both and neither, and the final movement is more of (or as much of) a scherzo as the designated scherzo. I wonder what Mussorgsky would have thought, because the feeling of "Night on the Bald Mountain" is lurking here, albeit in a post-Stravinsky accent. My favorite moment here is when, with tremendous power, the orchestra rises up to join the piano at the end of the first-movement cadenza -- it's like the Creature from the Black Lagoon! Come to think of it, Disney might have had a place for this in "Fantasia." Wang plays it as if she totally believes in it, and the orchestra -- whose winds, by the way, are stellar throughout -- is with her all the way. I would say that this is an indispensable recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful playing, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
Love this lady's playing. She demonstrates passion, sparkle and clarity in her music, very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new star, 7 April 2014
By 
Mr. Christopher Harris "Chris in Brum" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
Yuja Wang is a wonderful talent. Her technical skill is undoubted and given her looks she is bound to have a big career. However I think she has some way to go in being able to fill the music with the emotional feeling needed to make a great performance. This comes through on this CD in the Rachmaninov which doesn't quite catch fire. The Prokofiev is stronger and a fine performance.

This is still worth investigating but there are better versions especially of the Rachmaninov.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was rather disappointed with this CD, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
I was rather disappointed with this CD. It received glowing comments from the Mail, which prompted me to buy it, but l felt it its content didn't live up to the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct 2014
By 
Andres Santos Jr. "Andres Jr" (Sao Paulo, BRAZIL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wild child at work ?, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
As an ardent admirer of this remarkable young pianist, I expected much ffrom this recording. It is a major addition to the discography of these two works and can be recommended wholeheartedly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprising recording of Prokfiev, 5 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
I have an earlier Yuja Wang recording but this shows surprising maturity as well as technical mastery both of the Rach 3 & the Prokofiev, credit to Dudamel too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
This CD of well liked music was delivered quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yuja, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
What those small flying fingers delivers is totally incredible, You just have to se and hear that.
After X times watching the ARTE clip on youtube I decided to complete my collection with some albums more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rachmaninov piano concerto No 3 &Prokofiev piano concerto No.2, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 3 / Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Audio CD)
I am very pleased with this version of the above piano concertos by
Yuja Wang a truly delicate performance by this artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews