Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The least sexy movie of the year
This is a movie set in the pornography industry, mostly on the edge of cheap sets and in the downtime between shots, as well as the male-dominated smoky rooms where the fates of vulnerable young women are dictated. It uses the gloomy, raw, determinedly brown aesthetic of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and Berberian Sound Studio.

Amanda Seyfried skilfully captures...
Published 22 months ago by R. J. Lister

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deep Disappointment.
This is pretty awful to be honest. Comes across as a cheap, made-for-TV movie that wouldn't be overly out of place on TLC channel or similar.

'Lovelace' just doesn't give you any idea, really, of what it's trying to say. Fairly clever how the perspective is suddenly switched halfway through, but the viewer is still left none the wiser as to what the movie is...
Published 10 months ago by Lee Bratley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The least sexy movie of the year, 29 Aug. 2013
This is a movie set in the pornography industry, mostly on the edge of cheap sets and in the downtime between shots, as well as the male-dominated smoky rooms where the fates of vulnerable young women are dictated. It uses the gloomy, raw, determinedly brown aesthetic of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and Berberian Sound Studio.

Amanda Seyfried skilfully captures this vulnerability as Linda Marchiano, who drifts briefly into the world of adult movies with the arm of her pimp-husband, Chuck Traynor (an exquisitely sinister Peter Sarsgaard), locked firmly around her shoulder. Behind closed doors he's a careful physical abuser, slowly destroying his product, controlling her, but never ruining her. When Linda seeks solace in her parents (moving turns from Robert Patrick and an unrecognisable Sharon Stone), she's met with generationally anachronistic indifference: It's the socially expected thing to stick by your man.

Lovelace is at its best and most insightful in these domestic scenes, especially those with her chilling mother, who's as bleary-eyed and scary as the kitchen ghost in M. Night Shyamalan's Sixth Sense. It's here, far from grubby porn sets, that the emotional core of the film is found, in all its savagery and tenderness. By contrast, the coke-fuelled parties and cigar-chomping business meetings seem flat, and bordering on stereotype, however well-observed their 70s production design.

The film sidesteps the A to B to C chronology malaise of many a biopic by returning to the start of the story halfway through, and replaying it from Linda's perspective. Suddenly, the sound of aggressive lovemaking is revealed to be a horrendous violent assault. We are in grey territory now, in the borderland between passion as romantic agony and passion as suffering. It's a clever filmmaking conceit that is typical of the movie's repeated demands that we question what we see and hear.

Like many a film BASED ON A TRUE STORY, Lovelace is not assisted by that tag, because inevitably the arguments about its veracity will overshadow the more general truth at its core - a truth about the radioactive nature of celebrity, and the relationship between archaic gender roles and unspoken domestic abuse. The film sometimes adheres to TV movie tendencies, but it is elevated to superior cinema by its expert performances, and by virtue of its unusual and effective narrative structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of survival., 16 Jun. 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lovelace [DVD] (DVD)
In "Lovelace", Amanda Seyfried plays the star of "Deep Throat", the most famous blue movie of all time, a wonder of its time: the first fully scripted pornographic feature film shown in the theatres and claiming to gross $600m.

Having been a poster girl for icon for an era of sexual liberation, Linda Lovelace wrote in her autobiography that she was forced into making pornography at gun point, being regularly threatened and beaten by her then husband, played by Peter Sarsgaard (and oh dear, can he play a psychopath!).

Seyfried said the project was the riskiest thing that she did and could had ruined her career. But I thought the film was excellently done, it felt like a good drama, a nail-biting thriller, and it even had Mr Big in it (ladies, you get my reference). And, for such a difficult and controversial subject, the film is surprisingly watchable, catching on the empathy and compassion of the viewer - I certainly felt for Ms Lovelace. Seyfried blossoms on screen, despite portraying a complex character.

Despite a somewhat weak ending, I still give the film 5 stars.

P.S. I almost missed Sharon Stone in there! I guess my attention was compromised as I was watching Amanda Seyfried, who gives an extraordinary performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deep Disappointment., 19 Aug. 2014
By 
Lee Bratley "Fleaberto" (Lichfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovelace (DVD)
This is pretty awful to be honest. Comes across as a cheap, made-for-TV movie that wouldn't be overly out of place on TLC channel or similar.

'Lovelace' just doesn't give you any idea, really, of what it's trying to say. Fairly clever how the perspective is suddenly switched halfway through, but the viewer is still left none the wiser as to what the movie is actually trying to say.
Quite telling in the closing titles is a little text saying: "Linda campaigned against pornography and domestic violence for twenty years" ...now THAT is the story - but, to be honest, that isn't at all touched upon at any point during the film.
Yes, the 'Linda's view' part shows the force she was put under and the violence meted out by Traynor, but even this comes across as some meathead/redneck reaction rather than the very point of the movie if you see what I mean.

No, don't watch this if you're looking for depth (pardon the pun) or even cheap thrills because actually it's not even that graphic.

For a better view on the whole phenomena of 'Deep Throat' and it's impact, watch "Inside Deep Throat" ... a great documentary that covers all the aspects / points that you would have expected here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and compelling, 28 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Lovelace [DVD] (DVD)
Lovelace is a brutal, unflinching portrait of the 70's porn world. It's certainly not an easy watch; nor is it a film to be particularly enjoyed per se. What is it? Riveting. Hard-hitting. And wonderful.

Amanda Seyfried really is a revelation; I don't know how to put it better. Every emotion is believable, and she makes you love her character. She's a truly wonderful, versatile actress who I have enjoyed watching across genres, and I am happy to say that she has pulled off a tricky performance as the infamous porn star as easily as she would any rom-com lead. She shines particularly towards the end of the film, when she is playing the broken woman at the end of a horrifically abusive marriage. As for Sarsgaard, he deserves an Oscar nomination for his performance as Traynor. Despite the film mainly casting him as a pantomime villain, he adds depth to the character and rounds him out a little. Even though it's clear his character is a 'baddie', he's human and never two dimensional.

The scenes with Linda's parents were possibly the most compelling parts of the film. Her mother's cold demeanour towards her, and her 'stand by your man' attitude that we as an audience find so repellent, are all too realistic, and make Linda's emotional decline all the more heartbreaking. For me, the scene in which her father tells her that he has watched her movie and had to walk out of the theatre was one of the saddest in any movie I've scene, and I was choking back tears during Robert Patrick's subtle but beautiful performance.

I also enjoyed the narrative technique; we see the same events twice in the film. Loosely interpreted, the first is how others see the marriage of Lovelace and Traynor and the 'glamourous' side of porn; the second is the 'real' events, the 'behind closed doors' take. It works better than juxtaposing the two, I think, because it adds more shock value. Scenes already played out take on a new meaning when we witness the dark underside of them.

A word of warning: even with only rudimentary knowledge of Lovelace's life, I noticed things here were wrong, reshuffled or missed out, so if this kind of thing annoys you be prepared. As for me, I didn't feel that it made much difference; the narrative was strong enough to assuage me. I didn't feel like there was a single weak link in Lovelace, and that cannot often be said. I left the cinema perturbed and horrified by some of the things I'd seen, but deep in thought and filled with admiration for the impeccable craftsmanship of the film. It's a shame that the film likely won't receive the recognition it deserves due to the subject matter, because I'd give it all the accolades there are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovelace., 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovelace [DVD] (DVD)
Hi all you out there. The best comment I can make is that this film is riveting and so controversial, a pure gem of a film given the
theme. Impossible to take your eyes off of it if you can stand the way Linda was treated by the swine who controlled her. Knew she had it difficult in her life but never imagined this. If you can stand the way she was treated and traded then I can only highly
recommend this offering. Well worth the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars shows the porn producers some sex tapes that he had made secretly when making love to her, 26 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very brave film for "AMANDA SEYFREID" to participate in.The film is the biography life story of porn star "LINDA LOVELACE" from her early naive teenage days to middle age.Showing how she was exploited by her older boyfriend who she casually met and developed a relationship with in which he exploited her vulnerability.Eventually persuading her to go into the porn industry and become famous,making lots of money.He takes her to a studio in a USA city,shows the porn producers some sex tapes that he had made secretly when making love to her.She then goes into the porn industry willing and becomes very successful with the release of her first film "DEEP THROAT" that become a big seller.Unfortunately her boyfriend then becomes more and more demanding,then begins to be physically abusive,even offering her out to other men for sex.She then rebels against this lifestyle and becomes a campaigner against the exploitation of women in the sex industry.This is a very thoughtful film sensitively made,it is not an erotic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD GIRLS DON'T DO THAT STUFF,, 15 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Lovelace [DVD] (DVD)
Linda Lovelace is perhaps the most recognized name in the adult entertainment industry. As an entertainer her career was short lived and boring. She happened into history and the industry at the right moment. Her sword swallowing technique has lead to many couple arguments and divorces as she has raised the bar, sort of speak. This film looks shortly at her naive youth, although she had a baby out of wedlock. It hits upon her most famous film, and glosses over how film went main stream and the problem with authorities. The film was supposed to show how she was abused by her husband (Peter Sarsgaard) but lacks being graphic in the details as if to say, "Go read the book" or "You know the story."

The nurse in the film "Deep Throat" was played by fawn looking Carol Connors who was a blond and not the hardcore looking silicon star Nicole Andrews. They could have at least tried for Carol Connors' fans. The film misses on a lot of cylinders, not knowing what direction it needed to take.

Perv Guide: F-bomb, sex, off screen rape, nudity (Amanda Seyfried)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-acted...but not necessarily the whole story., 14 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Lovelace [DVD] (DVD)
I initially saw this film at the cinema having already read quite a lot about the life of Linda Lovelace. Usually known for rom-coms and teen films, Amanda Seyfried certainly makes a transition to legitimate actor with her portrayal of Lovelace, the woman in an abusive relationship who appears in Deep Throat, arguably the most famous, or should that be infamous pornographic film of all time. Lovelace has its tale to tell and is brilliantly acted in the way it puts that story across.
However, the makers seem to have very much wanted to tell the story as that of an abused woman who eventually beaks free of the porn industry, and that, as with most films based on true events is only part of the story. Many details of Lovelace's life are omitted from this retelling (the fact that in reality her own telling of her story often changed, and that she also felt abused by those who used her as the poster girl for decrying pornography). That her husband was controlling is not to be doubted, but the film makers seem to have relied too heavily on Lovelace's own official testimony. It is well acted and scripted in the narrative it chooses to tell, but for those who want a more balanced view of the story of Linda Lovelace and Deep Throat, the documentary Inside Deep Throat may be of more interest.
If you caught Lovelace in cinemas and enjoyed it I would definitely recommend buying it to watch again as the subject matter is so complex it needs repeated viewing. Watch with friends and discuss it; it'll make for an entertaining night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average, 15 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Lovelace [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a true story about a adult star who has a controlling, abusive husband. Best bit though was Amanda Seyfried breasts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good Film, nostalgic era, great storyline, worth a watch folks.
delivery on time and good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovelace [DVD]
Lovelace [DVD] by Jeffrey Friedman (DVD - 2013)
£5.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews