Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like a Renoir painting that has come to life
"Renoir" (2012 release from France; 110 min.) is NOT an overview or bio-pic on the Impressionist painter's life. Instead, it retells one particular summer, set in 1915 in southern France. As the movie opens, we see a young woman named Andrée (played by Christa Theret) approaching the house of the Renoir family. Possessing a stunning beauty, she was recommended to...
Published 5 months ago by Paul Allaer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of challenge if you're dozy.
Nice insight into Renoir and his family. Very attractive photography but the storytelling was a bit too slow and I struggled to focus towards the end, it was lulling me into sleep.
Published 1 month ago by EJ M.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like a Renoir painting that has come to life, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renoir [DVD] (DVD)
"Renoir" (2012 release from France; 110 min.) is NOT an overview or bio-pic on the Impressionist painter's life. Instead, it retells one particular summer, set in 1915 in southern France. As the movie opens, we see a young woman named Andrée (played by Christa Theret) approaching the house of the Renoir family. Possessing a stunning beauty, she was recommended to be Renoir's newest model. Renoir at that point is already in his mid-70s, and endures various physical ailments. In the house there appear to be a group of women who at one point may have been models but ended up staying as maids. We learn that Renoir has three sons, of which the oldest two are now fighting in World War I. Then about one-third into the movie, one of them, the middle brother Jean, returns home from the war, having been heavily wounded. To tell you more of the plot would ruin your viewing experience, you'll have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Several comments: first and foremost, this movie is one of the most gorgeous looking movies I have seen in a long time. A number of the scenes recreate Renoir painting and to me it feels like every scene in the movie is like a painting come to life. Second, this movie moves as snail's pace, and I mean this as a compliment. It is, I suppose, in part a reflection of life a century ago, when everything moved slower and people had more time on their hands. Third, it takes quite a while for the movie to find its emotional footing, as in the first hour we simply get to know the various characters and how they fill their days. Fourth, WWI plays a major role in the movie, and in fact weighs heavily on the movie from start to finishg. Fifth, kudos to Michel Bouquet, a legend of French cinema (he was 85 when this movie was filmed), in the title role. To be that age and getting such a challenging role! Bouquet delivers a tour-de-force in my opinion. The other headliners (Christa Theret as Andrée and Vincent Rottiers as Jean Renoir) are also fine but are overshadowed by Bouquet. Lastly, beware there is quite a bit of 'artistic nudity' in the movie (although I thought it was never gratuitous or offensive). Bottom line: this is a beautiful, slow-moving movie that gives a glimpse into August Renoir's later life. Be sure to stick around for the end credits as we are told what became of the various characters later in their lives. As a complete aside, the parallels between this movie and another recent French-language movie called "The Artist and the Model" (starring that other legendary French actor Jean Rochefort), are striking.

I saw "Renoir" at my local art-house theatre here in Cincinnati in May of this year, and am glad to see that it has finally been listed here on Amazon US and Amazon UK as a future DVD release. When I saw it, I was quite surprised how packed the theatre was (mostly seniors, I might add). Regardless, if you are a fan of Renoir's art or simply in the mood for a slow-moving foreign movie that is a visual feast from start to finish, you cannot go wrong with this and I would readily recommend "Renoir".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of challenge if you're dozy., 8 Mar 2014
This review is from: Renoir (DVD)
Nice insight into Renoir and his family. Very attractive photography but the storytelling was a bit too slow and I struggled to focus towards the end, it was lulling me into sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning...but.., 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renoir [DVD] (DVD)
Considering the write-ups this film had received from the critics I was expecting a bit more about Renoir and a little less scenery.It is a visual treat and you do get a feel for the period,but to be honest the story line goes no-where fast and you're left with the 'impression' that you haven't really delved any deeper into the mans character at all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars English subtitles, 31 Mar 2014
By 
D. E. Banks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renoir [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Does this edition have English subtitles ? Many thanks I saw it on UK TV with English Subtitling Derek Banks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Renoir (DVD)
Lot of tasteful nudity, film was long winded and slow and did not pick up at all. It had no start, middle or end - quite interminable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Renoir (DVD)
An excellent film. The cinematography is wonderful and the light is absolutely amazing. Thought provoking insight into Renoir.... Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Masterfully atmospheric and cinematographic...", 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renoir [DVD] (DVD)
French screenwriter, producer and director Gilles Bourdos` seventh feature film which he co-wrote with French screenwriter Jérôme Tonnerre and French screenwriter and director Michel Spinosa, is inspired by real events in the life of a French painter, a French filmmaker and a French actress. It premiered in the Un Certain Regard section at the 66th Cannes International Film Festival in 2013, was shot on locations in France and is a French production which was produced by producers Olivier Delboch and Marc Missonnier. It tells the story about a renowned painter and widower named Pierre-Auguste Renoir who lives in a house in the French Riviera with his youngest of his three sons named Claude who also paints and their housemaids. Pierre-Auguste doesn`t walk anymore, he worries about his son named Jean whom is serving his country in the First World War, his hand which he paints with is not as good as it once was and he is hearing the voice of his former wife in his dreams, but then one day a woman named Andrée Heuschling walks into his house.

Distinctly and eloquently directed by French filmmaker Gilles Bourdos, this quietly paced and somewhat fictional tale which is narrated from multiple viewpoints though mostly from the main character`s point of view, draws a calmly engaging and refined portrayal of a French artist whose inspiration is revitalized when he acquaints a woman who tells him that she has been sent by his spouse to pose for him. While notable for its distinct, naturalistic and somewhat surreal milieu depictions, reverent and versatile cinematography by Taiwanese cinematographer Mark Ping Bing Lee, production design by French production designer Benoît Barouh, costume design by French costume designer Pascaline Chavanne and use of sound, colors and light, this dialog-driven and narrative-driven story about a son whom after returning home from war with a wounded foot intending to go back when his foot has fully recovered, befriends his fathers` new model who makes an everlasting and life-altering impression on him, depicts three dense studies of character and contains a great and timely score by French composer Alexandre Desplat.

This somewhat biographical, modestly humerous and romantic, observational and reflective cinematic artwork which is set during a summer in Côte d`Azur, France in the early 1910s, which has been chosen as France`s official submission to the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film at the 86th Academy Awards in 2014, which conscientiously reconstructs scenes from the life of three prominent 20th century artists and where a lady of gracious femininity who brings a son closer to his father, instigates the birth of a filmmaker and a soldier is coming to terms with what the experience of love has done to him, is impelled and reinforced by its cogent narrative structure, substantial character development, rhythmic continuity, poignant instrumental tones, incorporation of art in cinema, scenes of Pierre-Auguste Renoir painting Andrée Heuschling and the involving and commendable acting performances by French actors Michel Bouquet, Vincent Rottiers, Thomas Doret and French actress Christa Théret. A masterfully atmospheric and cinematographic homage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Renoir for dummies, 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: Renoir [DVD] (DVD)
The camera, in this film, pans and zooms constantly, for no good reason but the short span of attention of the director who probably can't look at a photograph for more than 15 seconds and chose to have slooooooooooowwwwww pans all the time in this lethargic film.

The movements are not jerky. The camera is on a tripod but the lateral movements and the zooms are too frequent, to the point of becoming a distraction
and calling, too much, the attention to the camera's presence. The presence of the camera is, most of the time, on your face. If you don't like this kind of thing then don't spend your time or money with this film.

But it is not only the mediocre camerawork ( despite the beautiful colours ) that brings the film down. There is not really a story and it seems that the director cared mainly to show the main actress who, incidentally, appears more than Renoir in the film. She has a beautiful body all right but that doesn't make for a good film or good acting. She is very unconvincing because she walks and talks and looks like a 21th century woman, not a painter's model almost 100 years ago.

On that, the title of the film is misleading because, it seems clear to me, the director made the film for the actress who plays Renoir's model. This film should be called either "Andrée " or "Renoir for dummies". It is all too pedestrian in the film, things such as putting real photos of Renoir in the house or the constant "name dropping" for the sake of the public.

I wasn't expecting a sequential biography of Renoir but I was expecting the film to be about painting, not about an "just out of the gym" young woman who can't act and, to make things worse, directed by a silly director with short span of attention.

It is interesting to compare this idiotic film with the brilliant "La Belle Noiseuse". If you already watched this fake Renoir and didn't like it then , to compensate for the time lost, watch "La Belle Noiseuse" where the astonishing beauty of Emmanuelle Béart, a real actress, is just one of the elements of an extraordinary story about painting and art.

The dvd "Renoir" has no extra features and the original language is French with English subtitles. The technical quality of images is very good but the night scenes are very poor. I guess it was better in the cinema and the dvd copy doesn't make justice to the original film but I am reviewing here the dvd as this is a space for shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity to portray Renior in an interesting way., 28 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renoir [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted to see this art house film at the cinema but its release was restricted with the nearest cinema, in Aldbrough being a two hour drive. so I bought the DVD. I regret that I found my mind wandering and the storey didn't hold my attention and to be frank the whole thing was disjointed and really went nowhere fast. i like Renoir's art but I think the DVdD could have explained more about the history of the chap and his family and his relationship with his staff. It missed a trick, unless you know about Renoir.

Would i recommend it. regret no. Missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film., 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renoir [DVD] (DVD)
The photography in this film is brilliant, evocative of a Renoir painting. However, the quality of the product was poor, since the sub- titles disappeared half way through the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3d349b4)

This product

Renoir [DVD]
Renoir [DVD] by Ping Bin Lee (DVD - 2013)
£12.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews