Customer Reviews


384 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wel worth seeing
It's a cliche to talk about the difficulty many British TV comedy series have in making it to the big screen and so I was a little nervous about the prospect of Alan being in a feature film. While the final product isn't quite as magical as the TV series or even the one-offs, it's sti a very funny and famiiar experience for FOPs. Plenty of od characters turning up and it...
Published 7 months ago by cornutus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
watchable, coogan does the character justice, definatley a must for a fan of the series
Published 7 months ago by radar


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wel worth seeing, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a cliche to talk about the difficulty many British TV comedy series have in making it to the big screen and so I was a little nervous about the prospect of Alan being in a feature film. While the final product isn't quite as magical as the TV series or even the one-offs, it's sti a very funny and famiiar experience for FOPs. Plenty of od characters turning up and it stays within Alan's word very well. If you're a fan you' have seen it already, so first time viewers should jump in and discover Coogan's ater-ego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never having followed the exploits of East Anglian local radio DJ and all-round narcissist Alan Partridge, but having gained the impression that the character was best left in the past, I approached this movie with fairly low expectations. Happily these were confounded, as the film’s razor-sharp wit, snappy dialogue, and larger-than-life characters were hugely entertaining from start to finish.
Facing being replaced with stereotypical yoof presenters, and deemed surplus to requirements by soulless new management, Alan is quick to dodge the bullet by cravenly putting the spotlight on friend and fellow presenter Pat Farrell, who is subsequently fired by the station. Congratulating himself on his quick thinking, Alan has reckoned without the vengeful Pat, who returns to the station with a shotgun, taking control and holding Alan and others (including the new manager) hostage. Cue Alan’s ineffectual attempts to talk Pat down, as the increasingly deranged former presenter proceeds to broadcast his old show once more, with Alan and the latter’s own co-presenter Sidekick Simon joining him in an uneasy alliance.
Alongside Steve Coogan as Partridge, Colm Meaney plays Pat, Tim Key is Sidekick Simon, and impressionist Phil Cornwell appears as a rival DJ. The cast is what really makes this, however a combination of clever verbal references, sight gags, slapstick and general buffoonery from the lecherous Partidge, make up what is a thoroughly engaging and riotous 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much what you expect from 90 minutes or so ..., 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty much what you expect from 90 minutes or so of Alan Partridge... Lynn has a Hollywood hairdo, Alan has a few heroic flights of fancy and one or two moments of extreme awkwardness. Fast paced enough that you don't get bored, but well in keeping with Norwich's favourite DJ and his antics. For martial arts geeks, look out for the firearms officer's takedown when Alan wants to touch his gun... Impressively done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you still like this formula for taking the P out of aspects ..., 9 Aug. 2014
If you still like this formula for taking the P out of aspects of our character and shallow modern life then you'll still love this - it's as good an application of the formula as anything previously. If you find yourself not liking it then probably your preferences/life/whatever have just changed - suppose mine will eventually! Until then another 90 mins enjoyment for me and probably for you :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 9 April 2014
By 
K. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this. It's typical Alan Partridge. Like Mid Morning Matters, it never really hits the heights of his early stuff, i.e. Knowing Me, Knowing You and I'm Alan Partridge, but nevertheless it's still great fun and there are some moments of Partridge gold in there. I hope there'll be more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I totally loved it. Watched it while in bed - hubby was sleeping and I kept on shaking the bed with laughter, so I watched it again the next day. Some parts are literally too funny. i've always enjoyed Alan Partridge, but was worried that a 'movie' version would be too hollywood. I was wrong, its just a long version of an Alan Partridge episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alpha Papa: Partridge is The Daddy, 6 Jan. 2015
By 
A. Chell "Avid reader" (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Taking a very televisual character like Alan Partridge and building a feature film around him is something of a risk, but by overlaying a siege plot and hiring a quality actor like Colm Meaney to play the disgruntled DJ holding his former colleagues hostage at gunpoint, the Partridge writers have given the film a scope that wouldn't have been possible in a sit-com episode.

This is no big-budget blockbuster, however. In the traditions of Partridge, this is a piece that works because of affection for the characters, rather than the amount of money spent on the production.

The film is full of memorable scenes and vignettes and mixes verbal humour with old-fashioned slapstick and manages to satisfy both long-time fans and newcomers to the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xray yankee zulu, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
partridge is back on the dangerous, formidable streets of norfolk. some great performances and scenes. i honestly couldn't believe how many laughs there were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't find it as funny as I'd found the TV show certainly, 19 Aug. 2014
By 
I. Bliss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't find it as funny as I'd found the TV show certainly, but it was an enjoyable comedy nonetheless. The premise is something totally out of the park for Alan, which I think worked to the movie's advantage as it didn't simply play like a ninety minute episode of I'm Alan Partridge. Although, if that's what you were hoping for, you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh but doesn't need a follow up on the big screen., 25 Sept. 2014
By 
K. Hunnybun (Isle of Wight, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had to buy this being a big fan of Mr Partridge and Steve Coogan in general. Bought second hand though and glad I did. Whilst it's a good little film with plenty to keep fans happy, in true big screen style the make up work makes Alan look too young and not quite right. However, lots of laughs in true Partridge style and a good 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa [Blu-ray]
Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa [Blu-ray] by Declan Lowney (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews