Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment
I really enjoyed this. It's typical Alan Partridge. Like Mid Morning Matters, it never really hits the heights of his early stuff, i.e. Knowing Me, Knowing You and I'm Alan Partridge, but nevertheless it's still great fun and there are some moments of Partridge gold in there. I hope there'll be more to come.
Published 14 days ago by K. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, some funny moments
I am a fan of the Alan Partridge character and this delivers on what I expected for the most part. But as far as adding anything new or offering any surprises into the mix, not so much. If you like what has come before and are up for more of the same, then you shouldn't be disappointed.
Published 1 month ago by D. MALTBY


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 9 April 2014
By 
K. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this. It's typical Alan Partridge. Like Mid Morning Matters, it never really hits the heights of his early stuff, i.e. Knowing Me, Knowing You and I'm Alan Partridge, but nevertheless it's still great fun and there are some moments of Partridge gold in there. I hope there'll be more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its everything partridge is, 7 April 2014
Its an Alan Partridge movie - toe curlingley awkward, funny and enjoyable, an action packed series of 'I'm alan', packed into 80 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xray yankee zulu, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
partridge is back on the dangerous, formidable streets of norfolk. some great performances and scenes. i honestly couldn't believe how many laughs there were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good film, but not as amusing as I thought it would be. It's more of a wry smile than a laugh out loud comedy. Nevertheless it is fun and worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kiss Its Face, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Alan Partridge is one of the most quotable characters to have been on TV in the past 20 years, but he is not for everyone. Bearing in mind that `Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa' is a film about the character written by Steve Coogan et al. it would be hoped that those watching it would already be familiar with the characters and is oeuvre. This is exactly how I came to watch the film; as a fan of the man, the legend, the jumpers.

In recent years Alan has fallen slightly lower on the celebrity pecking order and is now working at North Norfolk Digital radio station. When the station is taken over by a larger company, not everyone is happy, especially Pat Farrell who is soon let go. Not one to give up easily, Farrell holds the staff of NND hostage and Alan is made to act as his spokesman - what could possibly go wrong?

`Alpha Papa' is classic Alan Partridge. This means that not only is it amongst some of the best work the character has been in, but very much in the same vein. It is true that there are slight diminishing returns from the character and although the film never hits the heady heights of `Knowing Me, Knowing You' and `I'm Alan Partridge' it is still one of the funniest films to have come out in 2013. A comedy film should be funny and this is exactly what `Alpha Papa' achieves. Coogan was at the forefront of a drier sense of, almost kitchen sink, style comedy in the 90s and 2000s, but unlike the too cool `Sightseers', Coogan et al do not forget to put in some jokes.

There is enough comedy on show to entertain both fans of the characters and non-fans. The setup is a cheesy hostage movie, but this acts as a great structure for non-Alan fans to join in. Even with the simplified structure, it is those people who have enjoyed watching Norwich's favourite son over the years who will gain the most from the film. Coogan is excellent and the supporting cast also add plenty. It is good to see a film that has old fashioned farce, but also intelligent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Norwich returns to normality after a tense time., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love an engaging witty film which engrosses. It comes as a major relief from the constant baloney showered upon us on a 24/7 basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alan's back!, 22 April 2014
By 
Brian G. Abbott (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good but not that good? Maybe it needs watching more to appreciate it! I'll do that! Steve is a brilliant comedian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some good lines, 21 April 2014
By 
Miss S. O'Brien (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not bad at all, with some good lines. I did laugh out loud a handful of times. It has more an 'extended episode of the series' feeling than a real film feeling to it. Over all I'd recommend it if there's nothing on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very watchable, 20 April 2014
maybe went on a bit long but it had a good plot. i would highly recommend it even if you aren't an Alan Partridge fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Negative rating!, 20 April 2014
By 
J. Rafferty "Scottyrafferty" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This must be the worst movie I have seen in a very long time.
Sorry Steve, but it is absolute rubbish.
In the past I have enjoyed Alan Partridge, but in this case I endured it, hoping that it may get better.
Regrettably it did not :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7bde570)

This product

Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa [Blu-ray]
Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa [Blu-ray] by Ben Smithard (Blu-ray - 2013)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews