Customer Reviews


398 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wel worth seeing
It's a cliche to talk about the difficulty many British TV comedy series have in making it to the big screen and so I was a little nervous about the prospect of Alan being in a feature film. While the final product isn't quite as magical as the TV series or even the one-offs, it's sti a very funny and famiiar experience for FOPs. Plenty of od characters turning up and it...
Published 8 months ago by cornutus

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alan Partridge Saves the Day, but Not the Movie
Steve Coogan plays Alan Partridge, a forty-something Norfolk radio presenter, who has hugely questionable social skills and a complete lack of diplomacy or tact when interviewing his guests. His small, local radio station is being taken over by a huge, global media corporation, Goredale Media, and making a lot of the station staff redundant in the process. One of the...
Published 14 days ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alan Partridge Saves the Day, but Not the Movie, 15 Mar. 2015
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Steve Coogan plays Alan Partridge, a forty-something Norfolk radio presenter, who has hugely questionable social skills and a complete lack of diplomacy or tact when interviewing his guests. His small, local radio station is being taken over by a huge, global media corporation, Goredale Media, and making a lot of the station staff redundant in the process. One of the co-presenters, a feisty, fifty-something Irish chap named Pat Farrell, doesn't take too kindly to getting the boot, and takes the staff hostage at gunpoint and armed to the teeth with explosives and ammunition.
Alan soon finds himself caught in the middle of the hostage situation, and liaises with the local police force and Scotland Yard to try to bring the situation under control. The gunman Pat insists that Alan should act as the go between for the hostages and the authorities, and Alan unwittingly blunders his way into the centre of the drama...
Unlike in the wonderful Alan Partridge TV series, where characters like Alan's personal assistant Lynn, the hotel handyman Michael, and the Ukrainian girlfriend, feature very heavily, here they have much less prominent roles or else they don't feature at all, which is very disappointing if you're a big Alan Partridge fan like me. Equally bad is that Alan's character in this movie, somehow seems much less campy and deliciously foot in mouth than he is in the TV show, which is quite a let down. The shining brilliance of the TV show largely came from Alan's staggeringly inept bedside manner as a chat show host, but here that hilariously awful aspect of his character is strangely muted.
This is by no means a bad film, but it really suffers for comparison with the exceptionally funny TV show. Fawlty Towers never made the transfer to the big screen and it's debatable whether Basil Fawlty's character would have translated well to a full-length movie. I don't think that Alan Partridge really works in a 90 minute film, especially without the essential back up of his likeable TV chums. As somebody who is a huge fan of Alan Partridge, and owns all the shows on DVD and audiobooks, I so wanted to love this film, but it didn't give me a single belly laugh or even a titter. Sadly, it's a 2 star film really, but as a fan I couldn't quite bring myself to vote such a low score for the brilliant Steve Coogan.
Thank you very much for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wel worth seeing, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a cliche to talk about the difficulty many British TV comedy series have in making it to the big screen and so I was a little nervous about the prospect of Alan being in a feature film. While the final product isn't quite as magical as the TV series or even the one-offs, it's sti a very funny and famiiar experience for FOPs. Plenty of od characters turning up and it stays within Alan's word very well. If you're a fan you' have seen it already, so first time viewers should jump in and discover Coogan's ater-ego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alpha, 12 Mar. 2015
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Confession time.... Having never seen the tv show this wasn't high on the must watch list. However with good critical reviews and generally good word of mouth I was pleased when the opportunity to watch it came up.

Whilst not entirely my sense of humour there was a lot of entertainment to be had. As you all know by now Alan finds himself in a pickle when an disgruntled ex-employee decides to take revenge on the radio studio that sacked him. Holding his old colleagues hostage Alan is tasked to calm him down and bring the situation to an end.

Cue endless mishaps and dodgy quips as Alan uses the situation to bolster his flagging career more than making sure his friends make it out in one piece. The jokes come thick and fast and are generally well written and witty. There are moments where it feels like things are done just for a crude laugh such as Alan losing his trousers at one point, but you can't help but snigger at his misfortunes.

Overall generally a funny film. If you like Alan Partridge then I am sure this will be well up your street. For everyone else this is an entertaining, funny film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never having followed the exploits of East Anglian local radio DJ and all-round narcissist Alan Partridge, but having gained the impression that the character was best left in the past, I approached this movie with fairly low expectations. Happily these were confounded, as the film’s razor-sharp wit, snappy dialogue, and larger-than-life characters were hugely entertaining from start to finish.
Facing being replaced with stereotypical yoof presenters, and deemed surplus to requirements by soulless new management, Alan is quick to dodge the bullet by cravenly putting the spotlight on friend and fellow presenter Pat Farrell, who is subsequently fired by the station. Congratulating himself on his quick thinking, Alan has reckoned without the vengeful Pat, who returns to the station with a shotgun, taking control and holding Alan and others (including the new manager) hostage. Cue Alan’s ineffectual attempts to talk Pat down, as the increasingly deranged former presenter proceeds to broadcast his old show once more, with Alan and the latter’s own co-presenter Sidekick Simon joining him in an uneasy alliance.
Alongside Steve Coogan as Partridge, Colm Meaney plays Pat, Tim Key is Sidekick Simon, and impressionist Phil Cornwell appears as a rival DJ. The cast is what really makes this, however a combination of clever verbal references, sight gags, slapstick and general buffoonery from the lecherous Partidge, make up what is a thoroughly engaging and riotous 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh but doesn't need a follow up on the big screen., 25 Sept. 2014
By 
K. Hunnybun (Isle of Wight, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had to buy this being a big fan of Mr Partridge and Steve Coogan in general. Bought second hand though and glad I did. Whilst it's a good little film with plenty to keep fans happy, in true big screen style the make up work makes Alan look too young and not quite right. However, lots of laughs in true Partridge style and a good 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aha!, 2 Sept. 2014
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa (DVD)
Having never really been a big watcher of Alan Partridge I did find this movie funny and a great follow on from the TV series. Steve Coogan has done some good films recently but has managed to reprise his biggest character to be up there with them. Good for a laugh or two. Full of typical cringe-worthy Partridge sayings and observations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yet crippling self demons hated by local farmers alike but why shouldn't he the ..., 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can't help but have the uttermost empathy for this charismatic buffoon. A radio disc jockey with such high self worth, yet crippling self demons hated by local farmers alike but why shouldn't he the grant grabbing Gits! I recommend this to every great random movie genre entrepreneur! Top marks for an original masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 9 April 2014
By 
K. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this. It's typical Alan Partridge. Like Mid Morning Matters, it never really hits the heights of his early stuff, i.e. Knowing Me, Knowing You and I'm Alan Partridge, but nevertheless it's still great fun and there are some moments of Partridge gold in there. I hope there'll be more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Norwich returns to normality after a tense time., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love an engaging witty film which engrosses. It comes as a major relief from the constant baloney showered upon us on a 24/7 basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good film, but not as amusing as I thought it would be. It's more of a wry smile than a laugh out loud comedy. Nevertheless it is fun and worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa [Blu-ray]
Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa [Blu-ray] by Declan Lowney (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews