Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty music for dirty people
I love this album. There's no sanitised production job, it's simply the band staggering into the studio, plugging in, turning it up to 11 and ripping through some loud and fast rock'n'roll. All the songs can stand on their own two feet and easily compete with the title track. It's raw, heavy, no nonsense music. It leaves you feeling used and dirty, just the way Lemmy...
Published on 18 Mar 2004 by Dan Hilton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
okay
Published 4 months ago by Anders Thomsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty music for dirty people, 18 Mar 2004
By 
Dan Hilton (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
I love this album. There's no sanitised production job, it's simply the band staggering into the studio, plugging in, turning it up to 11 and ripping through some loud and fast rock'n'roll. All the songs can stand on their own two feet and easily compete with the title track. It's raw, heavy, no nonsense music. It leaves you feeling used and dirty, just the way Lemmy intended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Rock n Roll albums of all time, 30 Mar 2002
By A Customer
For those of us lucky enough to have seen them play in their early days this album is one of the definitive heavy rock albums of that era (I would never call them a heavy metal band). If you weren't born when this came out and you want to know why your dad's deaf listen to this....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trump card, 27 Nov 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ace Of Spades (Audio CD)
My introduction to Motorhead was hearing 'White Line Fever' from their first album, a lumbering, growling song, but good all the same. Then they turned up the heat and the pace. Lemmy might have cut his first records during the old wave era, but by the time this album came out it's probably fair to say he'd influenced many of the so-called 'new wave of British heavy metal' bands. 'Ace of Spades', the single and the album, are just the commercially successful culmination of what Motorhead had been doing for years, relentless, loud, high energy music. They're a far better band than they seem on first hearing. The title track's fame seems to loom large over the rest of the material, but it's all worthwhile. The only danger is that their one-way approach leads to one track sounding much the same as the previous song, but on this album at least it isn't a problem. 'Ace Of Spades' represents a peak; after this, they began to lapse into self-parody, though I never got the impression they were serious. Enjoy without prejudice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Motorhead Album, 13 May 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ace Of Spades (Audio CD)
This definitive Motorhead album delivers in spades showcasing the raw musical vibe Motorhead do so well.

Title song Ace Of Spades is the bands iconic track yet Fast & Loose, Bite The Bullet & Love Me Like A Reptile showcase the bands no nonsense biker rocking vibe at there very best.

This remastered album features extra tracks including Please Don't Touch:Motorhead Girlschool & comes with a free mp3 download.

Some might say Motorhead songs all sounds similar which maybe true but theres no doubt when it comes to hard rock Motorhead always deliver the goods.

If you buy just one Motorhead album make sure it's this one.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No rest until you're deaf, 1 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Of Spades (Audio CD)
This album opened up the 80's, and with a start like this the decade should have been blistering, where did the rest of the music industry go so wrong?

This album is unrelenting, no room for introspection, navel gazing or romanticism, aim for the throat and ram it down, machine gun-like bass lines from Mr. Kilminster drive from one track to another, take no prisoners, Motorhead are staring into the whites of your eyes and shooting with both barrels, it is like ZZ Top's "Tres Hombres" at an orgy and on speed!

The remaster includes an EP Motorhead did with Girlschool for valentines day, including a brilliant cover of the Johnny Kidd and the Pirates song "Please Don't Touch", an excellent addition.

My only criticism would be (hence 4 starts not 5) the pace of the album is the same all the way through and each track can tend to blur into the previous one and by the time you get to the mindblowing finale of "The Hsammer" you can be thinking "this is the same riff as the opening title track, however that could be seen as very clever, a never ending circle that starts exactly where it finishes.

An album everybody should own, buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head bangers of the past, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Diz (Southport UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Of Spades (Audio CD)
It gave me great pleasure to reconnect with The Ace of Spades.
Now at 68 years I still remember what I was doing when I first heared it!
Good disc for old rockers! J.Ryan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 22 April 2009
This review is from: Ace Of Spades (Audio CD)
Now im no hard rock fan normally. I get the odd album here and there when i like something but im more into soul/funk/rnb etc ..but i have to say that when a rock album is this good i could be permantly converted!!!. The title cut is a stone classic but there is so so many other classic tracks..Love me like a reptile,dance,jailbait,we are the road crew...the list is endless..solid guitar work all the way through and the brilliant charming vocals of mr Ian kilminster aka Lemmy !

a complete classic and one of the best rock albums of all time..even if your not normally a huge Motorhead fan like me theres no denying that isnt anything but great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars heavy rock fan from Scotland, 25 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Having had the yellow vinyl LP version and the orginal CD, which was a poor subtitute for the former,the chance to own this album on DVD AUDIO was too good too miss and i have not been dissapointed. This album i belive to be one of Motorhead`s best of the original line up takes off from the opening track Ace of Spades,the sound clarity is superb for music that is so heavy and all together at once. Right through to the end track The hammer, this album will bring back the glory days for this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ACE OF SPADES, 2 Jan 2012
By 
June Rough (nottingham, england,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Of Spades (Audio CD)
AFTER SOME YEARS OF LIVING WITH A "DEAD MAN"- WHO HAD HIS HEAD IN A BOOK, FIXED ON THE FOOTBALL MATCH, AT WORK ALL HOURS, PAID MORE ATTENTION TO THE DOG, OR HIS HEAD WAS IN A NEWSPAPER, MY THREE SONS AND I WOULD LISTEN TO MOTORHEAD AND I FOUND SOME EXCITEMENT FROM LISTENING TO THEIR SONGS- ESPECIALLY "ACE OF SPADES" . I GOT TO LOVE THAT GRAVELLY VOICE OF LEMMY, IN FACT I STILL DO NOW I AM 71! GREAT BEAT AND BACKING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Of Spades (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ace of Spades
Ace of Spades by Motorhead
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews