Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the North East
A great down to earth read. One cannot help thinking David was born in the wrong era. I am sure if he were starting out today as a consistent team player life would have been very different for him and his family. There were many surprises in the book with reference to the game of football and especially the money involved. If you are a football fan or from the North...
Published 7 months ago by Kath Watson

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great, under-rated footballer, criminally over-looked by England now a sad, bitter man blaming an ex-wife for everything
Spike, Spike... really? Julie to blame for everything huh? Oh dear. Hope Julie and her lawyers don't read Chapter 8. Hope if they do you can substantiate every bitter accusation, claim and implication. And I hope you're as squeaky clean as you claim to be - it's not as if you and the Little General weren't out to pull everything you could all those nights at the Ramside...
Published 5 months ago by PubCrawler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great, under-rated footballer, criminally over-looked by England now a sad, bitter man blaming an ex-wife for everything, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bald Facts: The David Armstrong Biography (Kindle Edition)
Spike, Spike... really? Julie to blame for everything huh? Oh dear. Hope Julie and her lawyers don't read Chapter 8. Hope if they do you can substantiate every bitter accusation, claim and implication. And I hope you're as squeaky clean as you claim to be - it's not as if you and the Little General weren't out to pull everything you could all those nights at the Ramside or in the Cock o' the North...

Sad really that it should come to this. Still you can take the lad out of Sherburn Road....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things have changed for football professionals, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bald Facts: The David Armstrong Biography (Kindle Edition)
A very candid tale of a professional footballer in an era just prior to the advent of the really big money being currently paid. A combination of injury, personal issues and missed opportunities that have had a profound effect on a very, very, good footballer of the 70's and 80's.
Had David been a player 10 or 20 years later his would have been a very different story, even so his story is devoid of any bitterness and envy, a true professional in every sense.
A lot of the modern "superstars" of football would do well to read this book and understand the fine line between stardom and the unemployment list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the North East, 16 Sep 2013
A great down to earth read. One cannot help thinking David was born in the wrong era. I am sure if he were starting out today as a consistent team player life would have been very different for him and his family. There were many surprises in the book with reference to the game of football and especially the money involved. If you are a football fan or from the North East I would recommend this book as there are lots of references to the region and will evoke lots of memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, honest, just like David, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bald Facts: The David Armstrong Biography (Kindle Edition)
David Armstrong's biography is told straight as it was lived, with honesty.
Thoroughly enjoyed it. I am a fan and saw most of David's games at the Dell at the Archers Road end in the family centre with my wife and son.
The game described in the book where the Saints beat Man Utd 3 -2 and him scoring the winner with the last kick of the game was something that I remember clearly to this day.
Well done on you David and well done in writing a no holds barred book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT PLAYER-DAVID ARMSTRONG! BORO-SAINTS-ENGLAND., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
AS SOMEONE WHO SAW HIS FIRST AND LAST GAME,AND MANY IN BETWEEN,BEFORE I DID THE REVERSE OF DAVID AND MOVED FROM THE SOUTH COAST TO THE NORTH-EAST IN 1988. THE BALD FACTS PUTS A NICE FRAME AROUND A PERIOD IN WHICH THOSE LUCKY ENOUGH TO SEE THIS GREAT PLAYER (AMONG SO MANY OTHERS) WHICH GAVE A SMALL-TOWN CLUB AND ITS FOLLOWERS DREAMS AND A STYLE OF FOOTBALL THAT WILL LIVE IN OUR HEARTS UNTIL DEATH. IN 1982 SAINTS PLAYED GLASGOW RANGERS IN A TESTIMONIAL,SAT IN THE WEST STAND I HAD A GREAT VIEW AS DAVID WITH BACK TO GOAL ON THE EDGE OF THE AREA,TOOK A HIGH BALL ON HIS CHEST AND IN ONE MOVEMENT VOLLEYED ACROSS THE RANGERS KEEPER INTO THE FAR CORNER! IT WAS AS GOOD AS DAVID PLATT AT THE WORLD CUP OR BERKAMP,AND THE FACT IS FOR A PLAYER OF HIS CLASS AT HIS PEAK IT WAS NOT FOR THE FIRST TIME,OUR NATIONAL TEAMS LOSS. ITS PLAIN TO SEE LAWRIE MCMENEMY IN THIS BOOK HAD HIS WORK CUT OUT BY PLAYERS AND NOT ALWAYS THE BIGGEST STARS,WHOSE EGO'S GOT IN THE WAY OF THE BIGGEST PRIZES!!!!THE BIT ABOUT BALL CHANNON OR KEEGAN BEING FIRST ON THE BUS PROVED TO ME, THAT A PINT DOES NOT FIT IN A HALF-PINT! ONE OR TWO WRONG FACTS..THE FA CUP FINALIST OF 1984,WOULD OF BEEN WATFORD ,NOT MAN UTD,AND IT WAS 3 POINTS FOR A WIN IN DIVISION 1.UNLIKE DAVID WHO THOUGHT LIVERPOOL WOULD ALWAYS WIN THE LEAGUE IN 84,I FEEL BY 3 POINTS SAINTS BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT IN HISTORY, WAS THE LACK OF CONVICTION IN CROSSING THE FINISH LINE!!! ITS FUNNY TO THINK HOW MIDDLESBROUGH OF THE 1970S MIRROR SAINTS OF THE 80S,AND AS DAVID CHOOSES HIS ALL-TIME TEAM,I THINK IF BOTH CLUBS SWAPPED MANAGERS BORO WOULD BE A HUGE CLUB TODAY.FOR HAVING LIVED IN BOTH AREAS,JACK CHARLTON LIKE THE MUCH MALIGNED CHRIS NICHOLL WERE FROM THE SAME PEA POD FOR A LITTLE CLUB FOR WHICH ONCE UPON TIME THE BIGGEST CIRCUS AROUND PAID A VISIT.AS DAVID POINTS OUT IN CHAPTER 10 LAWRIE'S UNREWARDED VISION,BEFORE AND AFTER HIS COMING, SOUTHAMPTON ARE A PROVINCIAL CLUB,WITH NO GREAT PRETENSIONS,AND THEY SHOULD BE ASHAMED FOR IGNORING HIS INCREDIBLE ACHIEVEMENTS! THE BALD FACTS IS A GREAT BOOK,AND THE CHARLIE BROWN LOOKALIKE SHOULD FEEL VERY PROUD HE MADE A LOT OF PEOPLE VERY HAPPY! CHEERS DAVID ARMSTRONG. FROM AMAZON U.K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Baldy, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Bald Facts: The David Armstrong Biography (Kindle Edition)
Good account of the middle of the road footballer. Ended his career in a sad way. Should have got more caps for England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true tale from the heart, makes compelling reading., 30 Aug 2013
By 
vtec_hunni (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bald Facts: The David Armstrong Biography (Kindle Edition)
Being lucky enough to know David Armstrong personally I decided to buy his book to learn more of his past.

This is a hard-hitting at times book which is written superbly. This book is certainly from his heart and considering I am not even a football fan as such was a compelling read and is certainly worthy of a place on every bookshelf. It has made me realise that being a ''Celebrity'' is certainly not everything it is cracked up to be and everyone has troubles. It has made me look at things in a different light now.

This book has a whole range of emotions in it, one moment laughing to feeling his anger myself, To making me tried the following day at work after staying up to read it as I couldn't put it down.

A highly skilled footballer who was overlooked in his career and a perfect gentleman, This book gives a great and honest insight into what it was like when footballers were real men who played through injuries and dirt across their faces!

One last thing on the off chance Mr Armstrong himself reads this review. HOW WAS LIVING IN THAT RED MERCEDES?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and riveting reading, 25 Aug 2013
Excellent biography from much loved and overlooked player who was worshipped on the field but struggled off it. These stories will disappear now footballers are so overpaid, David's problem was he was born two or three decades early. I would highly recommend this book to any football fan not just saints or borough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winning gift, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great suprise to my Southampton supporting boyfriend, and his family! Again glad to be able to find it at Amazon after seeing a piece on it in the local news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Jonathan Baker (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bald Facts: The David Armstrong Biography (Kindle Edition)
Remember David Armstrong from his Boro days. Never knew he had so many medical problems since he retired. Appreciated the honest opinions expressed on the big names he came across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa1baf9c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews