Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable and well-written debut novel, 17 Sep 2013
By 
I. Fergus (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Paperback)
This is a meticulously researched and well-written novel which works on a number of levels, yet maintains a cohesive flow from start to finish. The main plot centres on modern British troops finding themselves having to survive in Roman Britain. Although this could seem extremely far-fetched, it actually reads very realistically, due in part to tight plotting and the author's historical knowledge. Characterisation is strong and I would defy any reader not to identify with the main character.

As noted earlier, this is a novel that operates on a number of levels. Like an earlier reviewer, I am not going to detail these - it would detract from the pleasure of reading the book yourself. There are a couple of twists that you really won't see coming!

This novel raises a number of big issues relevant to today's society, but is a page turner nonetheless and I enjoyed it very much. I do hope there's going to be a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to read this book, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Paperback)
This is an intriguing book. You never quite know where you are (all 4 dimensions included) and for anyone interested in history, time travel, computer games and lots more then give it a go. As well as exploring lots of difficult territory it is a real page turner. I read the whole book in a couple of days and my daughter is now reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Novel With Some Great Ideas, 13 May 2014
By 
Franglais (South-West England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Kindle Edition)
I would like to congratulate the author on trying something different. I enjoyed the story and I feel that most of his ideas worked.

There were a few spelling mistakes, (practise and discreet were both spelt incorrectly, for example). There was also the very occasional punctuation error and usage of hyphens in words, where none were warranted; however, on the whole, it was fairly well-written.

I enjoyed the characters, although I feel that a few of them could have been fleshed out more than they were.

I would certainly be interested in reading a sequel, should one be written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars waiting for book 2, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this because of the layers of story that keep you interested all the way through. Getting to the end was disappointing and quite a surprise. Can't wait until the follow up. Who should read this book? Anyone who likes good literature and who doesn't mind stretching the genres around a little
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good plot, good read, 6 April 2014
By 
Helen Hollick "H." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Kindle Edition)
A good plot, a good read, and very well written but there is a bit of head-hopping and a few minor errors - easily put right by a quick proof-read - a skilful re-edit would transform this book from a good read into an outstanding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterful feat, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Paperback)
Time travel books have always irritated me but not this time. David Jenkins has pulled off a masterful feat with his compelling account of British soldiers - vets from the war in Afghanistan, now mysteriously lost in Scotland near Hadrians Wall on a training exercise.
A freakish time incident plunges them back 2000 years into the Roman occupation of Britain. What fascinates is the author's meticulous attempts to re-create the socio-cultural conditions including our modern soldiers' stunned perceptions of the awesome beauty of the pre industrial geographical landscape.
These soldiers are of course also suddenly on the receiving end of the ancient world's greatest imperial war machine. But this canny political point merges with a further ultra modern ultra techno dimension introduced by the author raising questions about whether this is a time travel story at all. The mystery deepens taking the reader by surprise...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read quite different from what I've read in past., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Kindle Edition)
four stars because no book is perfect,gets it's hooks in you early on and winds you in.

history and time travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cracking Read, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Peter Hart (East Finchley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Paperback)
A book that aims to keep the reader off-balance could be an annoying or unsettling read, but David Jenkins has managed to entertain and intrigue in equal measure, whilst step-by-step dragging you into his complex layered narrative. The early exposure of my own latent sexism due my erroneous assumption on the sex of the lead character was a great 'in' joke by the author. The opening story of the time-travelling soldiers thrown back to survive in Roman Britain was interesting enough, but the addition of the influence of modern computer 'gamers' on the lead characters was fascinating. A cracking read and I look forward to the publication of the next instalment....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Kindle Edition)
This is a very entertaining book - lots of unexpected twists and surprises that I won't spoil by mentioning, and fascinating information on the way. Read it and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: Pax Britannica (Paperback)
It is such a great book, easy to read and very well written, I highly recommend it to everyone, well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pax Britannica
Pax Britannica by David Jenkins
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews