Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More a Tragedy than a Comedy
Although there are some funny scenes in this film by Woody Allen, it is really more a tragedy than a comedy. Over a long career, Allen's work reflects great insights into the psychology
of very conflicted people, especially women, as portrayed by Diane Keaton, Mia Farrow, and now in this movie, by Cate Blanchett as Jasmine and Sally Hawkins as Jasmine's sister,...
Published 12 months ago by Lewisham Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'CATE BLANCHETT' HAS HAD AND WILL, HAVE BETTER ROLES'
Jasmine' (Cate Blanchett) has lived the high-life, however the government has
caught up with her husbands 'Hal's (Alec Baldwin) dubious dealings.
Now down on her luck and penniless she turns to her estranged sister 'Ginger'
for help.
Having lost her plush life style she struggles with the realities she now finds herself
in,
'Ginger' lives in...
Published 17 months ago by rbmusicman/and/movie-fan'


‹ Previous | 17 8 928 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Jasmine will leave you anything but, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A sweet, quietly hopeful film about the dangers of loving the wrong person and the descent of a rich, well to do, socialite into destitution and madness. Cate's performance is the performance of her career, the neurosis and social anxiety she conveys seem as convincing as the as ever pitch perfect acting of Baldwin, Fans of Louis CK will think that he seems underused however its just nice to see that Woody Allen has noticed him. Excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As a family we enjoyed it. It is a moving down-to-earth story.
Cate Blanchett really deserved her award.
Wondserful performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and elegant, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This almost lives up to the hype. Well scripted, acted and shot, it is not too light but no hardship to watch. Couple of bits are too glib to be credible but don't let that spoil your enjoyment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For some reason my xanax has not kicked in yet!, 22 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Woody Allen in 2013 has not changed his style of writing or directing but he has changed one important ingredient and whatever that is its working superbly in blue jasmine. Maybe it's Cate Blanchett or maybe not who knows how he has managed to stay with the times but he has and i think that shows what good a writer and directer he really is. The best scene is near the end when Jasmine talks quite openly about her nervous breakdown to her sister Ginger two son's and the last frame of the film with Cate Blanchett looking a bit rough is a beautiful moment in film history. This is the best woody Allen movie for at least 20 years and will be remembered as one of his finest works. I've slipped in a quote from the character Jasmine as it's got Woody Allen written all over it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woody at his best, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
but not so funny as Sleeper. This film stroked all Woody's finest touchstones - New York, San Francisco, wealth and blue collar. We loved it and Cate totally deserves her Oscar for her fascinating portrayal of a fallen lady that lunched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been more, 9 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Blue Jasmine (DVD)
Typical Woody Allen fare, part humorous drama, part social study, is elevated from average to good by a strong cast and a sublime central performance from the formidable Cate Blanchett. The film is perfectly fine, but leaves you feeling there should have been more impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I usually love Woody's films and although I thought Cate B's performance ..., 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually love Woody's films and although I thought Cate B's performance was great I felt rather disturbed at the end of the film. I know Woody does angst but this left me wishing I hadn't seen it! Maybe I just wasn't in the mood to watch something so unsettling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars An ok film., 1 Jan. 2015
By 
E. Sloan (south east) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Jasmine (Blu-ray)
It wasn't as good as I was hoping, but good performances from all. Just wasn't.... I'm not sure. Just wasn't feeling this film. Good idea and I can see what the film was doing and portraying and it felt lonely and sad, but just not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Film, 2 Nov. 2014
By 
Jack Downey (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Despite this being about someone going through a nervous breakdown, it is incredibly funny in parts. A beautifully crafted story with excellent character development. Cate Blanchett won an Oscar for her part and it is easy to see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film - about self-delusion, fantasy and lies, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Gary "garyth" (Leamington, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Jasmine had been fabulously rich. She was the New York wife of a swindling Bernie Madoff-type financier. When her husband was caught, tried and put away, Jasmine was suddenly left with no money.

Her solution to her new circumstances is to go to live with her nice, working class sister in San Francisco. The story is woven around Jasmine's attempts to dig herself out of her straitened circumstances. It's built around the relationships she makes, or doesn't make, with men in this process and the way that her fragility leads her into ever-increasing dishonesty, self-delusion, fantasy and wilfulness. As with most Woody Allen films, the narrative hinges around two or three principal relationships - here, Jasmine and her ex-husband; Jasmine and her sister (and the sister's succession of blue-collar partners of whom Jasmine disapproves); Jasmine and the new boyfriend; ... and all the permutations in-between.

It's not the kind of frantic, laugh-a-minute film typical of Woody Allen, though there are three or four laugh-out-loud lines. The appeal of the film lies in the story as it unfolds through flashbacks of Jasmine's glittering 'old life' alongside the disaster of her present life as it unwinds.

Jasmine can't quite get used to the idea that the one-time easy superiority which she once possessed by virtue of her husband's money has evaporated and she tries to regain her position with lies and bluster. Strangely, I wanted her to succeed and I think this must be a tribute to Cate Blanchett's performance. The tale is told so well by Blanchett that you almost understand her delusional thinking and her selfish, lying waywardness.

This is one of Woody Allen's best films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 928 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013]
Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] by Woody Allen (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews