Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Tommy
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2005
I bought this album when it came out and am still listening to it now. It shows the band in familiar jangly guitar mode but the production is nice and raw, and it also highlights that the Weddoes could come up with some excellent tunes and lyrics. For me this album and "George Best" are both great examples of late 80's indie.The intro to "Living and Learning" still puts a shiver down my spine now whenever I hear it.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
I think it's about time all the negative comments on these Wedding Present reissues were redressed. I receieved my copy of Tommy and played it for the first time today. Firstly, the packaging is absolutely fine. I genuinely have no idea why people are so angry with this. It just seems normal packaging to me, nothing unusual, no significant chance of any damage occuring when the CDs are removed/replaced. Perhaps there has been a redesign since the first set of pressings (?). In any case, I'm baffled as to why people are up in arms about it. As for the music, this is a wonderful, comprehensive collection which just sounds tremendous. It really is the definitive document of Wedding Present history and in terms of content, research and thoroughness will never be bettered I'm sure, so for those of us who are moved, exhilarated, full of joy for this highly underrated band, then grab these reissues with both hands - they are ridiculously lovely things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
I remember well when I first bought this album...the distinctive sound of the Wedding Present! Dave Gedge, the singer, always used to joke that they were the Smiths fans second favourite band. This is an understandable sentiment and Gedge always manages to express relationships and situations in a heartfelt and honest way. Alongside this the band have a distinctive sound. Yes there are the jangly guitars but these songs are often muscular too - just don't go expecting twee indie music here - you won't get it. Go Out and Get Em Boy veers from arpeggio opening to chiming chords to a rather optimistic sounding verse..and this is just the start. I think one of the strengths of the Wedding Present is their absolute lack of pretension and their reflection on everyday life - often injected with wry humour. Yes the band grow ever tighter with each record they released but the tunes here still stand on their own merits. Personal favourite is Never Said declaring, "I walked behind you for more than an hour, I don't even think that I know this part of town....." - in the context of the song this is a sweet lovelorn sentiment set to a fast paced guitar workout. I don't listen to Tommy that much now - Bizarro probably is my favourite Wedding Present album but Tommy is worth checking out. It has some gems on it. Its unpolished and perhaps all the better for that.....
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
I'm a big Wedding Present fan, so I was always going to like this almost comprehensive package, with lyrics, pictures, narrative, live versions, DVD versions and interviews as well as the original Tommy. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Not as good as Tommy by The Who but still good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
These releases have been recked by the dreadful sleeve packaging. Designed by half witted Monkeys in plush London studios better suited to deliver road sweeping. Each sleeve is carefully designed to scratch the surface of the CD rendering it useless In around six months flat. I am so frustrated at the continued design issues of these type of release programmes. Edsel should wake up. I have ordered all of the Wedding Present releases and will be sending them all promptly back. I cannot be bothered to keep sending them back until I can find a set not ruined by the idiot packaging Edsel passed to house all of the sets. It was the same with Aztec Camera and EBTG. What the hell are they playing at. Not one disc of my set is not trashed by the abrasive action of the book like design. I respectfully request that anybody who buys the set to also check their discs. Yes they will be ruined as well. You might like to pay £12.00 for discs that resemble at least ten years of heavy duty wear on a factory floor. I myself like to look after my collection so I can at least be playing the disc with no errors next year. Go on send them back. Edsel and their like will not learn the lesson of good practical sleeve design until you do. They rely on our hard earned money to make a living and lovers of music deserve better for their money. What is the point of still purchasing music on CD if this kind of useless rubbish is what you get. I will stick to my old vinyl copies for now. Thanks Edsel.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.97
£5.99
£8.18
£19.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.