Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much maligned but not that bad really!
When it came out, and ever since, it seems that the film Tank Girl has been universally slated. I feel that this is somewhat harsh. Certainly, if you compare the film with the comics that inspired it (which I have read by the way) then you can definately see a difference between the original and Lori Petty's Tank Girl. Therefore, for a real Tank Girl comic fan there...
Published on 8 Jan 2001 by Mr. Andrew Garrett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She'll be fun to break...
Tank Girl and her friends are the only remaining citizens living in the wasteland that is Earth.

All the remaining water is controlled by Water and Power, the mega corporation/government that runs the territory.

While incarcerated at W + P, Tank Girl and her new friend Jet Girl break out and steal... a tank and a jet.

After meeting some...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much maligned but not that bad really!, 8 Jan 2001
By 
Mr. Andrew Garrett (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tank Girl [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
When it came out, and ever since, it seems that the film Tank Girl has been universally slated. I feel that this is somewhat harsh. Certainly, if you compare the film with the comics that inspired it (which I have read by the way) then you can definately see a difference between the original and Lori Petty's Tank Girl. Therefore, for a real Tank Girl comic fan there will be disappointment. However, as a film in it's own right, Tank Girl is not half bad. It is set in a post apocalyptic future (this is the only similarity with Mad Max as mentioned in a previous review), however, if you compare every film set in this environment with Mad Max (a fantastic film I must admit) then you might as well compare every sci-fi space movie with Star Wars. Lori Petty acts out Tank Girl with tongue very firmly in cheek and puts in an energetic and lively performance. My favourite moment is the song and dance routine at the Water and Power showgirl club - very funny.
This film does not set out to be something which requires immense brainpower to take in, it's just there to provide enjoyment. This is a film that you do not have to think about, it's bright, fun, has stunning visuals, a great soundtrack and all in all something to chill out in front of.
If you don't take things to seriously and just want a fun action film to watch then Tank Girl might just appeal to you. I know that many out there hated this film but I really enjoyed it and think that Lori Petty is absolutely awesome.
Tank Girl; try it, you might like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Immersive, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tank Girl [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I haven't read the related comics.
Nevertheless, this film did manage to suspend my disbelief, and immerse me
in a lunatic post-apocalyptic Earth, where a Punk girl, her nurdy sidekick,
and a bunch of New Age devotees who are... mutated kangaroos
demolish a corporate-fascist establishment.
The soundtrack is terrific, and the animation sequences enhance the film.
The image-as watched on a 46" LCD screen-is sharp, and the colors vibrant.
Too bad there isn't any extras on the DVD.
I have the forlorn hope that it will be released on Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tank Girl [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Brought me flashbacks of my teenage years! Not the best ever comic book adaptation, but certainly one with lots of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She'll be fun to break..., 12 Mar 2014
This review is from: Tank Girl [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Tank Girl and her friends are the only remaining citizens living in the wasteland that is Earth.

All the remaining water is controlled by Water and Power, the mega corporation/government that runs the territory.

While incarcerated at W + P, Tank Girl and her new friend Jet Girl break out and steal... a tank and a jet.

After meeting some mutant kangaroo/humans, and rescuing her little girl (adopted by her friends), the kangaroos and the girls turn on Water and Power.....

It seemed like a good idea at the time, i'm sure someone said soon after the figures came in. I was all for this movie, I thought the comic was far out, and the inclusion of Petty and Macdowell were good choices.

The overall product, feels a lot like the Van Damme movie Cyborg, with a little bit of Howard the Duck thrown in for good measure.

To some people this is very bad, to others, it;s a sign of something quirky, something that draws you back, no matter how many times you have seen the film.

I saw it at the cinema, thought it was awful, brought the VHS and thought it was awful. I've just seen it again, knowing that the film was awful, and I've enjoyed it a lot more.

The story is poor, and the inclusion of the comic being shown every couple of minutes grates rather than endears, but there is value to it.

The rippers look good, and Macdowell is hamming it up more than he ever did in Star Trek: Generations. And Petty really puts in a good performance as the titular character.

There's no doubt i'll see this again in about seven years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tank Girl [DVD] [1995], 3 Nov 2013
By 
Gp Russ "Russty" (essex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tank Girl [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Tank Girl [DVD] [1995] a realy silly /funny film a bit near the mark ( but not over ot ..lil )
well worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 3 Oct 2002
This review is from: Tank Girl [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is a fun film that SHOULD NOT be taken seriously, by any stretch of the imagination!
True it isn't 100% like the comic, but then again, which film is ever 100% like the comic or book???
The soundtrack is cool and easy to sing along to! The costumes are wicked (Tank Girl is great to dress up as for a Fancy Dress party as my best friend Jeni will testify to!!)and the story is weird and wonderful!
A must for anyones DVD collection as it is a great fun film!
Watch and prepare to laugh your head off throughout!
Top flick (from one who has over 200 videos/DVD's!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A bit of fun', 13 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tank Girl [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
This film is brilliant! It has everything from action to a song and dance routine (Cole Porter to be exact)
Ok, So if you're looking for a complex plot then don't bother. But if you're looking for a bit of fun then this is up you're street. Petty handles her in-your-face heroine brilliantly and MacDowell appropriately hams up the evil genius role. As far as comic book adaptations go, it could be better, and Tank Girl's character has been greatly toned down for the screen, but the short comic interludes between scenes more than makes up for it, as does the slick ending animation. And I also have to say this film has THE BEST soundtrack Ever, Ranging from the Bjork track playing in the nightclub to Ice T's 'Big Gun'.
So in short. Buy this. Then go and buy the Soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is fantastic and a good laugh!, 14 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tank Girl [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
This movie has stuck in my mind for a long time and it still remains one of my favourite top five films. I was never a Tank Girl comic fan (not a comic fan at all) so I was able to judge this film with a complete lack of prejudice. Colourful, imaginative, inventful, devoid of adulthood. And the feminist bit DID work.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 28 Nov 2009
This review is from: Tank Girl [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Absolutely classic film. Lori Petty is amazing as the off the wall Tank Girl and a very young Naomi Watts looks ace as Jet.
This film has been a favourite of mine since it came out when I was in my teens and I was a little aprehensive that it may be somewhat dated by now but was pleasantly surprised that it is just as good today as it was back then. Brutal performance by Malcolm McDowell and Ice T is as surly as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tank Girl [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tank Girl [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import]
Tank Girl [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import] by Don Harvey (Blu-ray - 2013)
Used & New from: 11.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews