Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gay movie of grace, discipline and beauty
Five Dances is the beautiful story of a naive but very gifted 18-year-old dancer named Chip. He came to New York from his troubled home in Kansas for a summer dance workshop and managed to stay on into the new year, when the story takes place.

The movie begins as he joins four older dancers (two each, male and female) rehearsing for an upcoming performance. He...
Published 16 months ago by J. Martin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If you don't like modern dance ...
Interesting glad I saw it but not sure what I really thought.the dancers were good though.ii am pleased I bought it though won't be watching again any time soon.
Published 13 months ago by Iain macdonald


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, interesting, 16 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
..Excellent ,interesting, sad ,the life of a boy who wishes to start a new life and turn a page .The dancer finds love in the end ,and seems happy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Movie, 21 Jan. 2014
By 
Robert Thompson "abobby46" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Sensational movie and so natural. The acting was so good and kept my attention. Well done look forward to the next offering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars understated beauty, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
This film has a lilting rhythm and beautiful poise. I think it will be most appreciated by dance enthusiasts although anyone who enjoys the understated and doesn't need everything to be fast and given to them like a slap in the face should like this. It felt very real, but overall I just loved the dancing!

I've given the film 5 stars because of the content however my copy from Amazon wasn't the best quality and had lines across it at different times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you don't like modern dance ..., 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting glad I saw it but not sure what I really thought.the dancers were good though.ii am pleased I bought it though won't be watching again any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable from more than one aspect, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
This is a gay-themed film set against a modern ballet rehearsal(using real-life ballet dancers). As such it could better suit those looking for a gay theme although I see it a pure enjoyment on a number of levels. Reading a separate article by the director, he mentioned how he developed the story line and script as he was filming. The script is minimal but that does not hamper how we can imagine aspects of the characters, especially the two pivotal males. It allows I think nuances of interpretation e.g loneliness, lack of self-esteem, dysfunctional family life etc, however this in no way diminishes the enjoyment of the film - individual viewers may interpret these 'nuances' their own way. It's almost as if we observe everyday conversations between the characters as incidental events. The film's 'frame' is (modern) ballet and it is hard not to be in awe of the sheer skill, technique and quite frankly beauty of each dancer's performance. The story line is spread across 5 components of a dance performance that all are rehearsing for. I see this film as being an 'interlude' almost in the character's lives. I love this film. I've watched it quite a few times now and still enjoy the superb dancing - apart from the gentle romantic thread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very fast delivery ..., 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
I am so happy with this purchase ... was afraid that it was coming from the UK ... but I got it quickly. Very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow was it a surprise, 23 Mar. 2015
By 
Bill Jr (CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Did not know what this was about. Wow was it a surprise. I really did like it and would recommend it to anyone who likes a good story. Has great dancing in it too. I guess that is because of the title. Will not be disappointed if you were to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Not just five dances but there is a story too. Brilliant performances by a very talented cast and brilliant dancing. Cannot recommend this film enough. If you love dance, you will love this film and you get a storyline too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dance and its creative process through another perspective, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
For those who like dance and its creative process, this film is an asset to have. The gay factor is just another good facet here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Handsome young men and some nice danceing, but not much plot, 15 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Well its was ok, but not more than that. Handsome young men and some nice danceing, but not much plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Dances [DVD]
Five Dances [DVD] by Alan Brown (DVD - 2013)
£4.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews