Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gay movie of grace, discipline and beauty
Five Dances is the beautiful story of a naive but very gifted 18-year-old dancer named Chip. He came to New York from his troubled home in Kansas for a summer dance workshop and managed to stay on into the new year, when the story takes place.

The movie begins as he joins four older dancers (two each, male and female) rehearsing for an upcoming performance. He...
Published 5 months ago by J. Martin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If you don't like modern dance ...
Interesting glad I saw it but not sure what I really thought.the dancers were good though.ii am pleased I bought it though won't be watching again any time soon.
Published 2 months ago by Iain macdonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gay movie of grace, discipline and beauty, 12 Mar 2014
By 
J. Martin (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Five Dances is the beautiful story of a naive but very gifted 18-year-old dancer named Chip. He came to New York from his troubled home in Kansas for a summer dance workshop and managed to stay on into the new year, when the story takes place.

The movie begins as he joins four older dancers (two each, male and female) rehearsing for an upcoming performance. He slowly gets past his social awkwardness and begins to develop relationships with the others - especially with Katie, who becomes like an older sister to him, and later with Theo.

His opening up is the key theme of the movie, which takes place almost entirely in the studio as the dancers rehearse. It has no other cast but the five dancers. (All of them are professional dancers, not actors, but they do both jobs brilliantly in this movie.)

The movie itself is like a dance, gracefully and deliberately paced and choreographed, the characters weaving in and out of each other's lives as they do in the dance they're rehearsing. Anyone who hates classical modern dance, or who hates slow character development with very little irrelevant action or drama, will not enjoy this movie.

However, it does not require any particular knowledge of or interest in dance. Indifference to dance should not be a handicap, but the viewer must be able to watch dancers without irritation.

And it definitely is a gay movie. It's a sort of coming-out story - really more an opening-out story, because Chip is coming out of his shell as a person even more than as a gay man. It's also a sexy and tender and gratifying love story.

Although it has those conventional gay-movie elements, the grace and discipline of dance permeate everything and make this an entirely original and unique - and unusually beautiful - gay movie. Alan Brown's earlier movie Private Romeo (also highly original) was my favorite gay movie for a long time, but Five Dances is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Movie, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Joseph E. Hyland (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this movie at a queer movie festival and I loved it. Besides a good story and good acting, the dancing was amazing. To say that the dancers were talented would be a gross understatement. I highly recommend this movie, not just for those viewers who like gay-themed movies but also if you like talented performers at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegiac movie, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Petrus (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Five Dances (DVD)
An exquisitely elegiac movie. The dancing is breathtaking and uplifting, truly moving at times. A feel good movie that is genuine, authentic, the sort of movie that rarely come around into one's life. All the dancer/actors give of their best. A mood piece that leaves a warm glow in the heart. A joy to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Emotional and memorable", 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
To be able to enjoy this film I think you should like ballet, in this case contemporary expressive dancing, as dancing dominates the film. The pace is quite slow, the music lovely and the dancing very easy to appreciate. Ryan Steele (Chip) is no doubt a very talented dancer and quite a good actor, too.
At the beginning of the film Chip is very quiet, shy and not very social. But he changes in many ways when he falls in love with his male dancing-partner Theo. This transition is beautifully and emotionally depicted It is a memorable and emotional film to watch again and again. I highly recommend it.
Finally I would like to recommend "Private Romeo" which is absolutely fantastic. It is also a film directed by Alan Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing with five stars, 3 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Almost documentary look into the world of dancing. In the spotlight is a very talented 18 year old, inexperienced in life and in love, troubled with complex family relationship. Other 4 dancers/actors have their own little dramas that are also very interesting. Film has a slow build up, not much dialogue and, of course, a lot of dancing. It is a beautiful ode to one of the most difficult job/sport there is, and cleverly directed with five dances that are the spine of the story.
For me movie really shines when it is dealing with an electric romance/dance between two leading male actors. The love making scene is poetic, very engaging choreography. And after small amount of misunderstanding and insecurities, we are rewarded with a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New York Love Story, 16 April 2014
By 
D. S. Thomson (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Alan Brown has created a gentle love story in five dance sequences. Drawing excellent performances from Kimiye Corwin, Ryan Steele and Australian actor/dancer Reed Luplau, Brown tells the story of a young man's pilgrimage to New York to become a dancer. He sacrifices his connexion with his overly demanding mother and commits himself to his dancing. On the way he falls in love with another dancer. The plot is very simple and the structure largely linear but the overall effect is of the beauty of dance and the importance of finding a loving relationship. It is beautifully filmed but the soundtrack volume is rather low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Movie, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Robert Thompson "abobby46" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Sensational movie and so natural. The acting was so good and kept my attention. Well done look forward to the next offering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars understated beauty, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
This film has a lilting rhythm and beautiful poise. I think it will be most appreciated by dance enthusiasts although anyone who enjoys the understated and doesn't need everything to be fast and given to them like a slap in the face should like this. It felt very real, but overall I just loved the dancing!

I've given the film 5 stars because of the content however my copy from Amazon wasn't the best quality and had lines across it at different times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you don't like modern dance ..., 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting glad I saw it but not sure what I really thought.the dancers were good though.ii am pleased I bought it though won't be watching again any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable from more than one aspect, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Dances [DVD] (DVD)
This is a gay-themed film set against a modern ballet rehearsal(using real-life ballet dancers). As such it could better suit those looking for a gay theme although I see it a pure enjoyment on a number of levels. Reading a separate article by the director, he mentioned how he developed the story line and script as he was filming. The script is minimal but that does not hamper how we can imagine aspects of the characters, especially the two pivotal males. It allows I think nuances of interpretation e.g loneliness, lack of self-esteem, dysfunctional family life etc, however this in no way diminishes the enjoyment of the film - individual viewers may interpret these 'nuances' their own way. It's almost as if we observe everyday conversations between the characters as incidental events. The film's 'frame' is (modern) ballet and it is hard not to be in awe of the sheer skill, technique and quite frankly beauty of each dancer's performance. The story line is spread across 5 components of a dance performance that all are rehearsing for. I see this film as being an 'interlude' almost in the character's lives. I love this film. I've watched it quite a few times now and still enjoy the superb dancing - apart from the gentle romantic thread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Dances [DVD]
Five Dances [DVD] by Alan Brown (DVD - 2013)
5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews