Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOUR HOUSE KILLED MY DOG
This is a good simple ghost story that the teens can watch. The film starts out with a seance in 1973. It then abruptly switches to the present where a "scientific seance experiment" is going to be performed. The crew wires up their heads in order to intensify the energy field for the entity to pass through. Things don't go that well for Patrick (Tom Felton, Draco from...
Published 17 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD FUN SCARY MOVIE.."
If you like a good fun scary movie then this is probably worth checking out, there are better out there but its fun and has some genuine scares etc., the story basically follows a group of friends who believe in spirits and ghost etc. and open a rift between dimensions of sorts and let a demon through and it haunts them as it tries to be part of our world, its sort of an...
Published 12 months ago by S. Drury


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD FUN SCARY MOVIE..", 14 Oct 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Apparition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you like a good fun scary movie then this is probably worth checking out, there are better out there but its fun and has some genuine scares etc., the story basically follows a group of friends who believe in spirits and ghost etc. and open a rift between dimensions of sorts and let a demon through and it haunts them as it tries to be part of our world, its sort of an original concept, the best and spookiest part of the movie is probably the very end scene, the only major downer for this is the run time its only 1hr 13mins long which until the credits roll, its worth checking out if your easily spooked or if your a fan of Ashley Greene from the twilight movies as she is major eye candy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real shame, could have been good.., 24 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: The Apparition [DVD] (DVD)
Nice try, but...

Fast paced film with a good idea. Unfortunately it is a let down. Am currently watching the end credits to this.

Fast paced isn't always the best. I don't feel any empathy towards to characters, I couldn't give a darn if they lived or died. It didn't give you chance to get to know them.. A lot happened throughout the film but it completely lacked any form of tension. I have seen more atmospheric and chilling Disney films. They hit too hard with too much action in an attempt to make this film scary but they tried waayyy too hard and the reverse happened.

Film was very predictable, my friend and I were able to pre guess every "scary" moment.

Acting was very poor. Unconvincing. I am sorry but they dismissed too much and then didn't seem too bothered initially. Also, would anyone stay alone if something that is supposed to be terrifying started happening? Personally, I would not.

The trailer is 100x better than the movie, as is the plot on the reverse of the dvd. Watch the trailer and read the plot, but not the movie.

I am an avid horror movie fan with over 500 horror movies, I have seen well over 1000 horror movies. This is ranking in the bottom 50. Nice concept, nice idea but could have been a lot better, it's a real shame. It really is a shame because we had high hopes for this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOUR HOUSE KILLED MY DOG, 18 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Apparition (Region 2) (DVD)
This is a good simple ghost story that the teens can watch. The film starts out with a seance in 1973. It then abruptly switches to the present where a "scientific seance experiment" is going to be performed. The crew wires up their heads in order to intensify the energy field for the entity to pass through. Things don't go that well for Patrick (Tom Felton, Draco from "Harry Potter") and his crew as something has happened.

The film jumps again to Ben (Sebastian Stan) who was part of the experiment and Kelly (Ashley Greene, Alice from "Twilight" ) one of the world's worse house sitters. Their house number is "2812" which flashes for a moment. It adds up to 13, although we really don't need a premonition of things to come. Like a good ghost story the odd events in the home build up slow until they reach a boiling point at which time my cat jumps on me.

I enjoyed the build up. I also liked the way they integrated the "found footage" into the film and didn't rely strictly on it. Thank you Todd Lincoln. Ashley Kelly, who was allowed to act in "Twilight" gives us a good performance in this one in spite of Sebastian Stan being unconvincing in his part. As the lead actor in this film, his character was written rather shallow, which was the downfall of the film. I didn't like the repeated narration near the end of the film and the ending needed to be tweaked.

Makes for a decent film for the sleepover, especially if they are sleeping outside in a tent.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Ashley Greene in bra, panties and a shoulder up shower scene. Minor swearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Only watch if you have absolutely nothing else in the world to do, 1 Oct 2014
you can tell the director clearly tried to build up the suspense and there is one scene that was done quite well, you know it when you see it. However the ending was a disappointment, but you could tell it was going to be by how low impact the film generally was. This film will leave you feeling empty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Good But Sometimes Predictable, 27 April 2014
I did enjoy watching this film but found myself guessing the next scene and was sometimes right. It has some very good bits that have you wondering. The end scene was not what I was expecting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for this formula., 27 Feb 2014
There are so many films like this out there, they range from terrible to scary as hell. This one comes towards the positive end of the spectrum. It has it's moments, builds the tension well, though the ending leaves the film a little lacking. The acting isn't bad, and there are plenty of scares in there. I would recommend this to horror genre fans, though only on the basis that it's not anywhere near as bad as it could've been. There was obviously some thought put into this, as simple as the storyline was, and they should get the kudos for that. Especially considering the amount of rubbish that has saturated this genre in the last few years. At least it's not yet another 'found footage' film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok sums it up, 12 Feb 2014
By 
L. Lowe "lisajb" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apparition [DVD] (DVD)
I like a good suspenseful horror and this wasn't it

What I liked
The acting was and the characters do generally draw you in
It has a reasonable storyline despite being predictable
It was entertaining

What I didn't like
It was predictable most of the way through
The special effects were pretty cheap and none of them really grabs you
Shocks and scares were lacking in this
It feels like a whole lot of horrors you have watched before pieced together into a new film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Nailbiting, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this movie rather difficult to follow, especially as much was filmed at a very low light which almost blacks out the screen. I was quite good but not as I expected it, certainly not very frightening, more tension making than anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pulse 4, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Apparition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is what happens when a movie is a clone of a clone. A few years back a wave of Asian horror produced a spate of Hollywood remakes. The first Hollywood version of Pulse was decent with two poor sequels in pursuit. With the law of diminishing returns in force The Apparition arrives. Clocking in at 80 minutes with a miniscule cast it's a cheap looking version of Pulse with the "entities" this time having been drawn from another dimension initially at a séance gone wrong. Found footage is also thrown in to the mix.

There are a couple of decent scary moments but The Apparition is wholly unoriginal and when the special effects budget is eventually displayed the entities just look and act like their forebearers from Pulse.
Add in the downbeat apocalyptic ending for the perfect copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Horror by the numbers, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Apparition [DVD] (DVD)
It's been about two hours since I watched `The Apparition' and I'm severely struggling to remember what it was about. Ghosts, I seen to remember. There are ghosts. They haunt a young couple. Spooky stuff happens. Only it doesn't - not really. There isn't enough spooky stuff here to fill a trailer for a children's Halloween fair, let alone an hour and twenty minutes of a full length feature film.

Apparently, if you find out about this history of the film, you'll learn that it was made and then sat on the studio's shelf for a couple of years before it was released. That says it all really - even the studio seemed to know it was a bit of a turkey and didn't know when the best time to try and make their money back was.

Ashley Greene of Twilight fame does her best in the lead, but the script is just too tired and weak to offer anything you haven't seen before. If you've ever seen a horror film made post the U.S. version of `The Ring,' then you have effectively seen this film - only better. In fact, if you have ever seen a horror film then you should just watch it again, rather than waste your time with this one.

It's not awful (despite the clichéd dialogue from the equally-cliched British nerd), but it's just simply nothing new enough to be memorable and worth any horror fan's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Apparition [DVD]
The Apparition [DVD] by Todd Lincoln (DVD - 2013)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews