Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT LITTLE BOOK
Interesting reading just great to annoy friends with little known facts. I would recomend this book as an essential companion to Dodger.
Published 8 months ago by A. J. Day

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations don't work on Kindle.
It's very informative, but most of the illustrations do not reproduce well on my Kindle, I did manage to see some on my Macbook, via kindle for mac, but can't get them back now, so I don't know what I did. Saving reading the text for flight home.
Published 2 months ago by Newly old Geezer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT LITTLE BOOK, 16 Dec 2013
By 
A. J. Day "Jonaya" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting reading just great to annoy friends with little known facts. I would recomend this book as an essential companion to Dodger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for a Pratchett fan, 15 Dec 2013
By 
R Parker "Cat Lover" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought to keep my daughter's collection of Pratchett up to date. She was delighted and liked the 'take' on London that Pratchett has imagined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Smoke through historian's eyes, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good sideways look at the whims and history of every day Londoners (as were) with lots of very entertaining (proper) history thrown in for good measure. You have to cast your mind into the mood to fully appreciate it though. May be not to everyone's taste as we do not all relate to London. Would be very interesting if someone could get hold of stories, anecdotes and history of other cities around the British Isles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A closer look at Dodger's London, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Anne Hillis (Florida, USA and Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dodger is a pleasant book about sewers in Victorian London, with many leisurely strolls among the flotsam and jetsam that made fortunes for some lucky fellows.
This pretty little picture book collects Punch cartoons and remarks by folks who drifted in and out of the first book. Sort of a vade mecum, if your Way-Back machine is in good nick.
If you enjoyed Dodger, you want this book. It is less obsessed with Poo; Sir Terry appears to have got it out of his system. Gesundheit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T.P at his best, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dodgers guide is a must have for any T.P fan. Although not a Discworld book the humour was at it's best. Lots of interesting facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, a good read, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was an excellent book, an interesting read, a must for all Terry Pratchett fans. Some unusual facts included in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dodger!, 22 Nov 2013
By 
KatyScott "Katy Scott" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dodger Dodger was a non-discworld book published in 2012.
The story is set "broadly in the first quarter of Queen Victoria's reign", which would be in the years between 1837 and 1853.

For fictional purposes Mr Pratchett had to "tweak" history a little to include Sir Robert Peel.

This is a superb guide to the world of Dodger and that time. Exceptionally well researched.

Katy Scott
==========
Author of [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book - but a hard core Pratchett fan bought it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really loved this book, 11 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really loved this book, hope there will be a follow up. Tales of Dodger in the sewers of London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, but somehow it was just a SHADE less convincing than most of TP's other books. I was never QUITE unaware that I was reading fiction as I am with all (all? - yes, all) his other novels. Although why he has never been in contention for a Booker prize is beyond me there is certainly enough intellectual content to make the average reader sit up and take notice, maybe it is presented in a form too diverting and too accessible for the highbrow critic. In which case I feel the critic should revise his idea. Cary Grant once said that comedy actors rarely got Oscars because critics thought that if you didn't take your hands out of your pockets you were not trying hard enough. Just because the writer is skilled enough not to show the effort put into a novel does not mean it is not there - it means that the creative skill is such that one is not aware of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dodger's Guide to London
Dodger's Guide to London by Terry Pratchett
6.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews