Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get in some cold beers before you start
When I finished this book, I felt as if I had just been to Spain.
The writer obviously knows it very well, -not the tourist, holiday Spain so much as the 'real'place.
The cover of the book drew me in to start with. It places you into the story from the very beginning, in the high, hot, arid hills above the town, where a body has been found.
I found the...
Published 14 months ago by Caroline

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought this to read whilst holidaying in Spain
The book made me laugh. The characters are stereotypical of Spanish police more interested in food and drink, and English ex-pats.

Gives an insight in to the problems arising from the economic situation affecting English people who were left high and dry by the property collapse.

Not an in-depth plot.
Published 4 months ago by Christine Gregson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get in some cold beers before you start, 3 Aug 2013
By 
Caroline (Roxburghshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
When I finished this book, I felt as if I had just been to Spain.
The writer obviously knows it very well, -not the tourist, holiday Spain so much as the 'real'place.
The cover of the book drew me in to start with. It places you into the story from the very beginning, in the high, hot, arid hills above the town, where a body has been found.
I found the characters well drawn and believable. Inspector Moreno is a man who loves his food and drink, but whose surface indolence conceals an intelligence and understanding of his country and the people in it. The ex-pat community
is well described without indulging in stereotypes, and I did wonder if the writer might have put a bit of himself in the character of Rick?
He is investigating a death, and initially conceals what he thinks is the man's obvious identity. Because he has to work partly within the British Community and his English is not fluent, he enlists the help of the owner of a local bar, (Rick) a Briton who has immersed himself in his adopted country. They work well together, and I hope this is the first of several books featuring them. Their investigation takes them into the world of failed property dealings, migrant workers, and people trafficking. Few people are what they initially seem to be. I'm not going to give away the plot, but the ending wasn't predictable.
The food in particular plays a big part in the book. (when I had to stop reading to make a meal, I just had to make a Spanish-type omelette) So does the landscape. Yet the writing style flows on and I never once got irritated by extraneous description, or excessive dialogue, which often happens in a debut novel. In fact it was a delight to read a straight-to-kindle novel which had been well proof-read and edited from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Estupendo!, 24 Sep 2013
By 
KittyNice (Berchules, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
This is a really great first novel. I thoroughly enjoyed the descriptions of the Spanish countryside, customs and food, and found the glimpse into expat life in Spain both eye-opening and very entertaining. Detective Moreno is a highly believable, deeply flawed yet likeable character. His devil-may-care attitude adds a fun dimension to the story, as he blunders through his investigations misleading, offending and confusing everyone around him. The plot twists and turns throughout the book and the surprise ending doesn't disappoint. Part crime fiction, part travelogue with great characters and acerbic wit, Pasodoble is a jolly good read and comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping story with evocative subtexts of food and travel, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Adrian Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
It is obvious that Martin Cross has researched his subjects well, describing them in a quirky, sometimes floridesque way. I am sure he has some link with Las Alpujarras, Spain and he obviously loves his food, as those joint passions seem to be the selvedges that contain the threads of crime, sex and intrigue between their broadloom width.
This is not a run of the mill crime novel written by some bored expat on the patio of his Hacienda while sipping cheap plonk and listening to Radio 4 online. Cross has created a book which reads as from an accomplished writer, with a pacey, well told story and a surprising ending to what could so easily have been an unoriginal crime pulp novel.
It's hard to take a well worn theme and produce something that is indeed novel, but with Pasadoble, Cross has pulled it off at what appears to be his first attempt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read that makes you hungry for more..., 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
It's rare that I'll finish reading a book in just a couple of sittings but that's exactly what happened with this one. Genuinely hard to put down, it maintains its pace with believable, likeable characters. I wolfed this book down like a tramp eating chips, or perhaps some other mouth-watering, deliciously-described dish. I'm left wanting more Inspector Moreno and can also see myself booking a holiday in Alpujarra before too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing setting for a detective novel with a difference, 18 Sep 2013
By 
E J Miller (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
First of all, I live in Las Alpujarras, in one of the villages mentioned in Martin Cross's excellent detective novel, so I know whereof I speak. I loved the book's cover, which realistically portrays the action at the beginning of the story.

The plot is intriguing, with twist and double twist that keep the reader engrossed right to the end. The main character, Moreno, is probably the laziest, greediest and most endearing policeman I've come across in many years of reading detective novels. Even the sex scenes, while most realistic given the man involved, have a comedic element about them that will strike a chord with many middle-aged men who may have dreams about the opposite sex only to find the reality does not quite live up to expectations. But, hey, any sex is better than none, or so Moreno might surmise.

The mixture of the local Spanish population and police, Northern European (particularly British) ex-pats - many with something to hide, dodgy Romanian builders and people traffickers all add to a rich Spanish paella of characters that offer a banquet of different flavours and colours, much like the dishes described in the novel as Moreno moves from bar to restaurant, sampling Spanish beers, wines, tapas and meals with a relentless fortitude that would defeat most epicureans.

Las Alpujarras play a major part in this story, with the area beautifully described in all its scenic glory, but without ignoring its sometimes seedy underbelly.

The only criticism I have of the book is that maybe the author's personal views of the ex-pat community (many of which I share) seemed to creep into the story from time to time, leaving a slightly sour taste.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the book and look forward to Moreno's next case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Miss (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
A really enjoyable read, head and shoulders above a lot of self published books available for Kindle. Some great characters, a good plot and a superb sense of place. (Think of a portly, food obsessed Rebus finding himself in Driving Over Lemons country.) Looking forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
I have read quite a few 'we moved to Spain' books recently and so I was very pleasantly surprised when this turned out to be written from a Spaniard's point of view. It must be the air in Scotland! Author Alexander McCaul Smith captured the essence of Botswana in his books and Martin Cross has done the same in Pasodoble. His hero reminds me of Commisario Montalbano with less energy and more inclination to get out of doing any work whatsoever. I found the descriptions of all the enormous amount of food he consumed during the book a little too detailed, but I enjoyed the gentle humour and the real insight into the characters - his stereotypes are accurately described. As a resident in Spain, I really appreciated the descriptions of every day life, and for the first time, tried to look at the British invasion from the other side of the fence. I had assumed that this was the second book, as I was puzzled as to what had caused the problem with Moreno's partner, maybe I missed it, but went to buy the book. I will look out for more by this author, I believe his next book is due out around Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spanish Montalbano!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - get lost in the beautiful Alpujarras and the characters you might find there - love the description of the cold almond soup in the scorching heat of the summer being like 'air-conditioning for the soul'. Looking forward to the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spanish "Rebus"?, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
Great debut by Martin Cross. I've never been to Spain but Pasodoble conjures up a vivid world of eccentric ex-pats, rule-bending cops, and unhinged gangsters. The hero is a flawed but likeable detective who likes his food, drives far too fast, and is as interested in the local ladies as he is in his work. Hopefully we will see more of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of a culture...with a spot of crime, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasodoble (Kindle Edition)
Unpredictable crime novel, evocative of Spanish culture and food references that make you wish you had a Spanish mother. The descriptions of the hot and sometimes harsh landscape gives you a thirst and the main characters describe cultural differences, traditions and acceptance whilst at once feeling pride for the country they call home. The investigation is centred around immoral activity (as you would expect) but the intrigue is around the interaction and combined moral justice which prevails amongst the native Spaniards and the ex-pat community...those that have morals that is. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pasodoble
Pasodoble by Martin Cross
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews