Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2006
The plot of the story is not particularly original. It is a typical riches-to-rags-to-riches story. However, this is more than made up for by the resourceful and likeable central character.
She is a strong young girl [she's 16 when the story starts], who suddenly finds that her family has lost everything in the great Depression. Her father has committed suicide, and her mother spends her time either bewailing her fate, or plotting and scheming. And if things aren't bad enough, an old family 'friend' is starting to put the moves in on our heroine. And she can't stand the guy!
So, instead of waitng around for others to plan her life, she takes matters into her own hands, changes her name, and heads off to start a new life as a housemaid. Her willingness to work hard soon earns her the respect of the other servants, the attention of the family she is working for.
When circumstances force her to suddenly leave her job, she finds shelter with an impoverished but kind family. She soon earns the respect of the working class people with whom she is now living, and not just her life, but theirs is also changed for the better.
Meantime, her selfish mother, and our dastardly villain, are set on hunting her down, and let's just say that they are not conerned for her welfare! And one of the sons of the family for whom she previously worked is also looking for her - for quite different reasons.
The Depression-era setting is also well-envoked, and we get a good idea of how both rich and poor lived at that time.
A good read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Really enjoyed this book as it was so realistic in times gone by.
The book was long & went through many stages & was very gripping with a good ending which wasn't leaving you wondering what happened.
Recommended for anyone who likes a book about early 1900's when the mixing of classes was not accepted.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
When I first started this book I wasn't to sure about it, as I like book is where the characters have a hard life then the main character got going Euganie, or Jenny as she became to be known by, really got going, she is amazing, she went from being rich,to wearing rags, but, but she didn't' t let her life get her down, she went from strength to strength, then she finds out what her real family is really like!
Beryl Matthews has an amazing talent, I can't was to read her next book, which again, I'll have a problem putting down

Janet Davies
Falmouth Cornwall
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
really a very good read. a great author. hooked onto her books.
have now got collection of her books.
would recomend
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Was very soon taken in with this story,was enthralled reading,such cruelty Jenny's family put her through but they got their comeuppance and she deserved every happiness with her husband and his family!Keep up the good work Beryl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
couldn't put this down,i little far fetched but a good story,i had never read any off Beryl's books before now I am reading another one and will start to collect more of her books,well worth a read really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
I loved this book about a much maligned girl but who became very strong. It was certainly unputdownable and I could not wait to get to the end of the book to see what happens.
Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
What a lovely story..Jen is a lovely person who helped everyone she could...I love beryl Matthews she is a fantastic author who never fails to impress me ......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
A really good book and I enjoyed every minute of reading this and loosing myself in the story would recommend to everyone to read this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
This is a most enjoyable read as all of Beryl Matthews books are! She is a wonderful author and gets you hooked right from the start!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.